We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #68 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2012. The room was great, plenty of space for luggage, to move around and be comfortable. Bathroom was large for a European hotel although the shower temperature did waver a bit.

The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating. We arrived late and the staff knew us by name and had late night restaurant recommendations ready for us. Breakfast every morning was great. Good selection and the best coffee I had the whole trip.

The location of this hotel could not be more perfect. You are half a block from the Opera house, a main walking (and shopping and eating) artery to the city center and a block from a metro and ringstrasse stop. It will only take you 10-15 minutes to get to most sites in central Vienna.

I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Vienna. Great rooms, great staff, great breakfast, great location all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZKathrynE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    280
    55
    10
    2
See reviews for
177
320
65
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Sweet little hotel in the heart of old Vienna - half a block away from the Opera House. Rooms smaller than they appear in the photos, but comfortable (small showers too). We found the staff to be helpful, especially in terms of giving directions (and you can buy tram tickets from them, which was a plus)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel is great. It's not fancy, but it's in a superb location. The rooms are spacious, they were comfortable, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast was fantastic, and it's a great deal for Vienna. It's not a romantic or luxurious spot, but it's great!

Room Tip: The room was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LANYC1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Although hard to find, this little hotel is very well located only a half block from the Opera House. We were two couples there for 3 days and found Pension Suzanne a good central location for the many things to see and do in Vienna. The staff were best described as "coldly courteous." They would do as you asked, but made it plain that dealing with guests was an interruption of their time. The rooms badly need modernizing. There was only one electrical outlet in our room and we needed power for a CPAP. We requested, twice, an extension cord and only got one when we explained we would have to find another hotel unless we had the cord. The bathroom was not dirty, but was worn out, with wallpaper peeling, rusty faucets, and a folding shower wall that would have fallen over with the slightest wrong touch.

The breakfast was not much, mostly just some ordinary pastries, dry cereal and yogurt.

We enjoyed Vienna and will try to find another place to stay when we are there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keepmovin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Pension Suzanne during a recent trip to Vienna. Our room was simple but very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was on the larger size. The hotel is centrally located and is just a few steps from the opera house. The staff was very friendly and interacted with the guests every morning during breakfast. Breakfast was served every morning and include a very good selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, cereal, breads, etc.

The only less than positive things about our stay here was that room was a little worn, but not badly so. Also, the lift was a bit small so getting two people plus luggage into it at one time was an adventure.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to anyone staying in Vienna on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_C_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pension Suzanne is a good value for the money. it is very centrally located, near the Opera, Albertina and Kaertnerstrasse. The room has a personal character, with pleasant decoration and confortable bed. The tasty breakfast and friendly hosts, make this pension a very good choice for spending a few nights in Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to discover a centrally located lodging in Vienna that was not prohibitively expensive, and we are very glad we stayed at Pension Suzanne. It is a block away from the opera house and well-situated for exploring the city on foot. It also provides easy access to public transportation.

The pension's street presence is subtle - no fancy door, no big sign. Inside, as others have said, the lobby is not on the ground floor and the elevator is old and slow. And, yes, you get three big keys. None of these are negatives for us.

We found the staff to be welcoming and friendly in a reserved, Austrian sort of way, and very helpful. Twice they provided assistance with train reservations, even making phone calls to confirm that our timetable was accurate. They gave us maps and suggestions on what to see and do.

The room was fairly large and had a fine bathroom. The tub was very welcome after traipsing around for many hours on marble floors and cold cobblestones. The room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. There was a certain amount of noise off the street at night, from young revelers of various nationalities.

Breakfast was a fairly standard European buffet affair. Not what you would get at Hotel Sacher, but it gave us a good start on the day and kept us until supper with only a light lunch. The food was fresh and there was plenty available.

We bought some bread, cheese, sausage and chocolate (and beer) at a nearby grocery for a late supper one night in the room. This proved to be surprisingly convenient and cheap.

We would be happy to return to Pension Suzanne.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EWT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#185 of 360 in Vienna
393 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#190 of 360 in Vienna
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#151 of 360 in Vienna
579 reviews
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 360 in Vienna
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing