We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #132 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 2 nights and the experience was excellent. It is not expensive the location is great and the service is very good. The bedroom we had was like a suite and it has excellent facilities and furniture. Excellent location (Opera- Naschmarkt - museums - city center – shopping Etc.). Very helpful staff- good breakfast -indoor garage- free WI-Fi (a little complicated to register..). Will definitely like to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    318
    96
    25
    19
See reviews for
172
216
58
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was in town for a conference and tried booking rooms too late. But public transportation is great in Vienna and I have always liked Mercure hotels and got this one for a reasonable price. The main draw is that the location is great - this is very near a subway stop, right across the street from the Secession and right around the corner from a great Farmer's market. This is great for tourists.

For someone here on business, not so great. You do have to travel to get anywhere , which I expected, but the extremely poor internet was unacceptable. When I arrived, there was a person from Spain complaining about it! Now that I'm using tripadvisor more, I see the internet has been a complaint before also.

Finally, if you want quiet, definitely do not get a street facing room. This was the only one available when I checked in and I couldn't believe the number of sirens there were when I was trying to take a nap immediately after arriving in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrainDoc90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences with the WIFI and we will find a solution with our provider. Please be assured, that an excellent treatment of our guests is first priority to us.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

When I was going to Vienna for the first time I decided to stick to hotel chains that I’m a member of and it turned to be one of Accor hotels. Not being familiar with the area central location looked as a best available option. Mercure Secession Wien isn’t really in the city centre but is 3-5 minutes from a subway station which makes it very convenient. Walking to the city won’t take long either – about 10 minutes or so.

Rooms were nicely decorated with that bit of chic of medieval times. Room that I’ve got was spacious with a massive spa in the bathroom that I enjoyed. All the required furniture plus a little extra like a coffee table, an ottoman, etc. The other think that I must note is a breakfast! The selection was one of the best I have ever seen – like half a dozen of different breads and another half a dozen of sugars (!) as well as yogurts, pate, spreads, jams and everything else that I can’t remember. Every single morning was really worth it knowing that you’ll be welcomed at the breakfast.

Hotel staff is very helpful and fluently speaks English, German, Italian and Russian (for those who are interested) and maybe other languages as well...

So I would definitely give it five stars and will return to that hotel on my next visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank immotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arriving by car from Prague, the access to the hotel was perfect. We spent 3 nights in the hotel and it met all of our requirements. The location was perfect as it was close to everything and just around the corner from the best markets we have seen, sampling bit and pieces from the vendors. Our room was excellent and the staff were polite and well equipped to suit our needs, offering assistance with directions. Hotel is within walking distance to shopping, museums and other attractions. Supermarket was close by. Breakfast was excellent and the service staff went well beyond our requirements. Parking was a little expensive around 19 euro per night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions about your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The best. 
I absolutely love this hotel. 
The hotel has all the ticks in the right boxes. Location excellent, room excellent, staff excellent, wifi excellent &  price reasonable. 
Hotel is within walking distance to the shopping street, museum, opera house. From the hotel, you turn left and Spar supermarket is just one traffic light away.  Walked a bit more, you will find the shopping street & museum. To the restaurants, turn right from the hotel. There is a row of restaurants to have a nice dinner.   
Room is extremely comfortable. There is a large bath tub, great for a good soak after a day of walking outside in the cold. Wifi works well & can have multiple devices to use the same password to log on. 
Took a taxi from hotel to Wien Meidling station, journey is only 10 mins & cost EUR 15.
It's just the prefect hotel to explore Vienna. Highly recommended. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimidichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe all your impressions about your stay in our hotel. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeht Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in this hotel. We were fortunate to stay on the 4th floor, back side of the building. Room was large and quiet. Noticed some rooms were not as private. Open the room door and the bed was right there. Over all, the hotel was well worth the visit. Hotel staff were pleasant, and accommodating. Breakfast was just average. There are several choices close to the hotel. Decor is a bit odd, between upgrading to modern and old style carpet and drapes. WIFI is a bust. Don't even count on it. However there is a computer (Mac) in the lobby that works fine and no charge for printing. Bar is small and really only for a night cap. As already noted, this is in a great location as long as you don't mind walking. Which we don't. Reasonable good value overall, but I would ask to check your room location/style first!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#99 of 360 in Vienna
406 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
Hotel Beethoven Vienna
#15 of 360 in Vienna
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Property: Mercure Secession Wien
Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#97 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing