We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a really big museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kunsthistorisches Museum

Kunsthistorisches Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.95*
and up
Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna and Imperial Treasury of Vienna
Ranked #3 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Experience one of the world's foremost museums! Let yourself be enchanted by works spanning five millennia, from Ancient Egypt to the modern era. Experience unique major works by Dürer, Raphael, Titian and Velázquez as well as the world's largest collection of Bruegel paintings, all in a magnificent setting. The Kunstkammer Vienna, featuring the famous Saliera by Benvenuto Cellini, is a veritable universe of art and beauty guaranteed to transform any visit into an unforgettable experience. Included in the ticket are the collections at the Neue Burg on the opposite side of Vienna's Ringstrasse. Here you will see the instruments used by the great composers and be transported back to chivalrous times when knights held sway and tourneys and hunting shaped courtly life.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a really big museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

this outstanding museum houses big collections of egyptian,greek and roman antiquities, unique objects in the Kunstkammer( like Cellini's "la saliera") and a huge collection of paintings by Raphael, Tiziano,Caravaggio,Rebrandt among others!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stavgeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,050
    1,212
    189
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic building and collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went to see the Dutch old masters. The curating is very well done. The lighting is great and there is plenty of space and seating. A very enjoyable experience.
Top tip: make sure you have your lunch or coffee before you go in.
Go and look at the cafe - it's octagonal under a wonderful rotunda - but I wouldn't bother eating there. The queueing (and queue-jumping!) was awful and the waiters were rude (a one-legged customer on crutches queued for over 30 minutes and was clearly uncomfortable. He was ignored, without even the offer of a seat whilst he was waiting - pretty shabby).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good but tiring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a very good museum but we had to wait for a long time in the rain because of the long queue tourists made.After so much time it occurred to people in charge to open more ticket desks and finally we could get in but we already were so tired. If on a rainy day it is so crowded I cannot imagine the shiny ones.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Femme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“NOT TO BE MISSED!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all from outside- the building is gorgeous.
Then the entrance & the staircase- amazing.
Then comes the collection: Rubens, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Bruegel, Van Dyke, Duerer, Cranach, Titian, Tintoretto, Veronese- wonderful.
Well it's not the Louvre, but it's big- be sure to take a map or even better: do your homework so you know where to go according to your interests.
Which is exactly what I did: we spent there half a day, saw 1.5 floors & left only because of feet ache. I wish we could come once more, but time was limited & Vienna has so much to offer.
Under any circumstances don't miss the Kunstkammer, which is reopened since 1.3.13

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We only were able to see a small part of the museum but were impressed by the artifacts there. One really needs a couple of days (at least) to see everything. I am only giving it 4 stars because I felt the lighting was poor in some areas. But overall, this attraction is well worth your time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCTiger75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunsthistorisches Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kunsthistorisches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing