We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis budget Wien Messe
Ranked #157 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
1 review
“Very poor breakfast”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed there during our city break. Hotel looks nice, room was very simple. But breakfast was very poor, really small selection of food was served. Metro station is in walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef_Zufka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    711
    330
    72
    33
See reviews for
237
621
214
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

It's not an amazing place to stay, but it's cheap and attended our needs.
It is pretty close to a subway station and easy to get downtown.
The room was big, but simple. Although there was a table in the room, there was only one chair (at all in the room).
Don't forget to take your own soap and shampoo to your stay (none was provided).
Wi-Fi signal strength was from Poor to non-existent.
The staff acted as if annoyed by our presence, or sometimes ignored the guests completely.
As expected on ETAP hotels, breakfast was not included.

Overall, it was simple and suited our needs, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroBoschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Assistant Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Customer,

thank you for taking the time to reply to our questionnaire following your stay at Etap Hotel Wien Messe.

Etap Hotel establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon at one of our hotels.

Sincerely,
Julia Schmid
Assistant Manager

Etap Hotel Wien Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 2, 2012

It was a wonderful experience from Check in to Check out. All the staffs manning the reception at all times were friendly and helpful. Used the Internet service at the Reception area. It was fast. The Breakfast was very good too. It had choices of Cereals, Breads, Croissant, jam & honey. Boiled Eggs, Turkey Ham, Cheeses, etc. Coffee & Juices as well. Overall it is a value for money proposition.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Custumer,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ETAP Hotel Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Etap Hotel establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.
I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Dieter Lugstein & the Etap Wien Messe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Finding the ETAP Hotel Wien Messe was incredibly easy. It's located just 2.5 blocks north of the Prater station in Wien on Lassallestrasse. Prater is one of the main stations and you can access both the S and U Bahn from here.

The hotel lobby is small, but clean and easy to find off the street. There are two computers with internet access as well as a small seating area and a tv. If you go up a short flight of stairs you are at the breakfast area which offered a small but good selection of breads, yogurt, cereal, fruit, cheese, bologna, spreads as well as juice and a fancy coffee machine where you can select from 8 different options.

Rooms at the ETAP are basic, but clean. There is a bed, a small tv, a couple of small stools, a washstand, a shower and a toilet room. The shower had great pressure and plenty of hot water (and a color changing shower head). My room faced the rear of the building and was quiet as long as the construction site wasn't up and running (work starts at 7am). Lighting was great with overhead lighting as well as an under the trim lighting which was great for just laying around. The window also tips open slightly to allow some fresh air in the room. I tend to be warm so it was great to be able to open the window even a little.

There are some con's to this hotel, however. There is no dresser or wardrobe in the room so it's difficult to unpack anything. Additionally there is no real chair to sit in so the only option is to sit on the bed. Speaking of the bed, it's pretty firm. After the first night I was starting to get a little achey by morning. Also, make sure that you bring your own alarm since there isn't one in the room nor is there a phone to get a wake up call.

That being said, I would definitely return here if ever I am in Vienna again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brwgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have had a great experience using this hotel. It is clean, easy to go to, and no noisy. The stuff was most helpful. Claudia practically saved my day when she offered to help during my small crisis. I will definitely come back if I visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WCC293913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h7098, Manager at ibis budget Wien Messe, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Custumer,

we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ETAP Hotel Wien Messe. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Etap Hotel establishments are dedicated to offering you the best possible service for your stays, and your opinion is very important to us.
I will share your comments with Claudia. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Dieter Lugstein & the Etap Wien Messe Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
#142 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#103 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
magdas HOTEL
magdas HOTEL
#61 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Wien Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Wien Messe

Property: ibis budget Wien Messe
Address: Lassallestrasse 7a, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Wien Messe 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etap Hotel Wien Messe - the smart choice for both business and leisure travellers! Our modern, comfortable room can accommodate up to 2 people ond 1 child, with a shower, toilet, and flat-screen TV, all at an affordable price. And in the morning, help yourself to our all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR and Hotel.de so you can book your ibis budget Wien Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing