We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the essence of Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“the essence of Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Hotel Bristol, a magnificent nineteenth century hotel facing the even more magnificent Vienna State Opera is the perfect hotel in terms of location, comfort of rooms, service, delicious and varied breakfasts, lounge areas and that magical something extra.

we stayed at this hotel recently over a two week period when we made Vienna our European base attending an opera cycle of four operas called 'The Ring.' Over this period we had three stays in the hotel from on to four nights and checked out in between. In this way we experienced three different rooms.

The hotel is in the best position in Vienna, within a short walk of all the best attractions in Vienna, which radiate from the hotel. The palace is a little north, the Belvedere a little south east, the Museum district a little south west and so on. No able bodied tourist would require transport! It's position next to the opera house also places it in the most salubrious area of the famous Vienna Ring.

The recently refurbished lounge extends to a sunny outdoors area and can be used for meals and the buffet breakfast is served in this beautiful grand dining room. The foyer and corridors are full of antiques and paintings reflecting the splendour of Vienna.

Each of our rooms was configured differently, but all were glamorous, spacious, beautifully appointed ( for example each had its own dressing and hanging room) and the bathrooms all marble. Everything in the rooms worked perfectly and was of superior quality, even including the bed linens. We felt pampered and relaxed in all the rooms.

The service was faultless; nothing was too much trouble, and because we were coming and going bits and pieces of luggage were stored at the hotel between stays and appeared magically in our rooms. I also enjoy a full turn down service with the world's finest chocolates!

The breakfast is splendid, with one's choice of freshly prepared eggs a highlight. There are differences between French breakfasts, Australian breakfasts, Italian breakfasts German breakfasts and Viennese... so some of the controversy about the quality/quantity probably relates to national expectations. German breakfasts are huge even in modest hotels, so criticism may relate to national expectations. We had breakfast at various times and never found food to be reduced in quality or quantity.

But the most memorable part of the Bristol hotel which separates it from many other quality hotels is certainly the concierge service, led by Mr Dieter Ludewig. This is really straight out of the recent movie " Grand Budapest Hotel." The team can find anything for guests, make impossible reservations, find the best seats in the house,and give advice that can save alot of time and money.Knowing that we had this tremendous help at hand transformed our stay into a sublime experience and is really priceless.The Bristol is an extremely respected hotel in world hospitality circles and deserves to be. We cannot wait for a reason to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear 'jennifer s'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. I really thank you for your very detailed description of your stay and for sharing your impressions. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed the various types of rooms as well as our breakfast in the new Grand Dining room. Furthermore it is of course a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the services provided by our Concierge Team. I am sure that your comments make Dieter and the Team very proud. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back to the Hotel Bristol in the near future! Thanks again for taking the time to give your feedback and your patronage. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    302
    70
    36
    17
See reviews for
211
582
95
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is old world elegance par extraordinaire. The rooms are totally charming and absolutely everyone who works there bends over backwards to make one feel welcome and special. It is very expensive but if one wants to splurge on a hotel, this would be the one. It is located across from the Opera House and very well located to good public transportation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Opera House side if you want to open your windows and listen to the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 'Lesley S'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Thank you for your great comments about the style of our Hotel and our associates. I would like to thank you for your great recommendation! We hope to welcome you back soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay here. The front desk kindly accommodated our early arrival and upgraded us to a suite with a balcony facing the state opera. (SPG Gold). Was surprised to se another review criticizing the breakfast - we thought the breakfast buffet was very good. Nice old-world charm, Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Base_shifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear 'Base_Shifter'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. Thank you also for your positive comments on our breakfast - we would be delighted to welcome you soon again to the Hotel Bristol.
Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The breakfast at the Bristol is something, what I would like to forget, since the service has been extremely bad and the staff not only unfriendly, but really rude.
The buffet was only refilled after the guests asked several times and comments from the staff, such as "Don't eat so much" made the stay very unpleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DieterGamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear 'DieterGamper'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate the feedback of our guests.
First I would like to apologize to you for the inconvenience you experienced. It is absolutely not our standard that our guests have to remind our staff to refill the buffet. We do have a system in place that ensures timely replenishment; hence the Situation you experienced must have been really an unusual one. In addition to that I was very concerned to read that you seemed to have received a very inappropriate answer from a member of my staff. I would be really interested in learning more about this and therefore please feel free to reach out to me directly at Gerald.Krischek@starwoodhotels.com. It goes without saying that we do not tolerate such behavior. I hope to hear from you and thank you again for taking the time to give your feedback. Best regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Regretfully, I have to report that the Hotel Bristol in Vienna was slightly disappointing, and I'm sorry to say so because all the potential for a great hotel was there, and I really wanted it to live up to it. Our accommodation was an Opera Suite with adjoining room facing the Vienna State Opera. It was full of old world charm and luxury and included in the welcome amenities was a bottle of cuvee, which was very appreciated on a rather hot Vienna afternoon. Most of my issues with the hotel had to do with the service. While the front desk was very welcoming and efficient at check in, that didn't always hold true. We were exhausted on our arrival and wanted to order a snack from room service. I repeatedly dialed both the guest services and room service lines, only to get a rapid busy signal over and over and over again. I finally had to make a trip down to the front desk to report the problem and ask if we could please get through somehow. The other issue was that one of the very large windows facing right onto the State Opera House had obviously NOT been cleaned. The rest of the windows were in good condition, but this window was covered with smudges etc. At first I thought that maybe it was a logistical problem in terms of getting access to it for cleaning. However, we had a wrap around balcony, and it was obvious that access would be quite easy. The next morning I called housekeeping and asked that it be properly cleaned. When we returned later in the day, it was clean. But, when you're paying the rate that you do in a "luxury" hotel, one should not have to make that kind of request. It should be de rigeur. Otherwise, the location of the hotel is terrific, and there's a nice bar and restaurant. We used their laundry services, and that was efficient also. So, while my issues didn't diminish our enjoyment of Vienna and the hotel in general, I just found it surprising that everything was completely "up to snuff" at an establishment that purports to be one of the best in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctexan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear *nyctexan2*

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. The feedback of our guests is very valuable to us. While I understand that some aspects of your stay were according your expectations some aspects were not. I regret to read that you had difficulties in getting through to room service. This of course should not have happened and is not according to our standards. I will look into this matter in detail with our F&B Manager and look for alternative solutions in order to assure that such a problem will not re-occur. Also I was concerned to read that one window in your Suite was not cleaned. I can assure you that we do frequently clean all our windows - also this issue will be addressed appropriately with our housekeeping department. I would like to thank you again for your open feedback – it is a great opportunity for us to learn from it and to improve. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards, Gerald Krischek – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was recommended by Bradshaw in his guide 100 years ago and we were following his tour around Austria so it seemed rude not to stay here.

It did not disappoint. The hotel takes you back to day when there were hotels of great style. This looked like one of them and for the most part it felt like one of them. It was priced appropriately for a capital city centre hotel....dearish.

Our room had no view at all but was a good size with a nice bathroom with the best shower I have ever had anywhere in the world, bar none.....except it was in a bath and it leaked on the floor.....but superb shower!!! And a huge bed, the biggest we have ever had. So two records in one room for us. Average a/c . Very helpful concierge. Great location. Do not eat breakfast outside. We did the first day and the garbage truck parked right by us and emptied the bins!!!!! Real style eh???

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a view you may get one.....right onto the busy and noisy main street so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchtravelled065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear 'Muchtravelled065'

Thank you for your Review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property this June. Thank you for commenting on the room and the features that you liked. I regret that you did not enjoy your breakfast outside on the terrace in the morning. Kindly note that the street in front of the terrace is a pedestrian street and any delivery or supplies for the hotel need to arrive before 11.00 a.m. I can however assure you that the terrace is usually a very enjoyable place were guests can enjoy their lunch or dinner. We do open in the mornings already as guests like to enjoy the early morning sun and deliveries usually arrive very early in the morning. We are however going to monitor this situation in order to see how we could improve the situation. Thank you again for your feedback and your patronage. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Hotel Bristol exemplifies the Imperial elegance of Vienna. The location is within minutes walking distance to the Hofburg, Albertina Museum, St Stephens Cathedral and all the main sights of Vienna. Our room, a suite on the mezzanine level was spacious and well appointed with a powder room, full bath with double vanity, separate tub and shower, parlor and bedroom. The bedroom was on the small side but had plenty of storage space. It was very quiet despite our room looking over a main boulevard due to the triple windows which kept out the noise. The bar was comfortable and warm and the batman quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erich802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 'Eric H'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that you stayed on the Mezzanine in one of our newly renovated Suites. It is great to read that you enjoyed your Bristol experience. Thank you again for sharing your Feedback - Please visit us soon again. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#28 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing