We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old time feeling right in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #19 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It feels like staying in a roaring 20s luxury hotel with some modern touches like a flat screen TV. The hotel feels über classy right when you walk in. It's got a restaurant, bar, and spa on site (none of which we used). The room was quite large with nice touches like artwork and furniture.

The location is also good being on the main circle and walkable to several key areas. There's good places to eat and drink nearby. This is the type of hotel you want to stay in if you want to feel like you're living in European luxury.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nonrevver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear 'nonrevver'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and location of our hotel - Hotel Bristol is one of Vienna's most prestigious and historic hotels and you are right the 1920’s were an important era for the hotel - we have a lot of original Art Deco decoration throughout the building originating from that time! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Bristol is a good choice when visiting Vienna: great location, friendly service, nice rooms, stylish and feels like a 5 star establishment. The only two negatives - firstly the room was pretty stuffy and changing the aircon seemed to have little effect (we opened the window in the end) and whilst they now have free in-room wifi the signal strength in our room was very weak and the signal was dropped altogether pretty regularly which made browsing. But you can sit in the lobby if you need to, where the coverage is fine. The staff were all very good and seemed pleased to help if you had a request - my wife's knee swelled up (recent ski accident) and they swiftly brought up some ice, neatly sealed in plastic bags, for example. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear 'TheRainIn',

thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our services. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. On the other hand I regret that you did not enjoy the decoration of your guest room. Kindly note that we have different styles of rooms on property - also newly decorated rooms in a more contemporary style.
With regards to our WIFI - it is correct that it is free for our guests - we are constantly working on improving signal strengths throughout the building. We just recently upgraded the entire system - hence improvements are constantly being introduced. Thank you for commenting on our staff. We put a strong emphasis on our service. Thanks again for your patronage! It will be a pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was staying at the hotel on business, so didn't choose it myself. Too stuffy for me as I usually prefer modern hotels. No separate shower in the bathroom - shower curtains are not high on my list. The bed was comfortable, but the traffic noise from the Ringstrasse kept me awake until 1am and then woke me up at 6 - not great. Surely you can insulate the Windows?
Reception staff when I arrived was friendly but barely spoke German.
If you like old-school décor this will be for you - but ask for a room away from the road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurumba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear 'Kurumba77'

Thank you for your comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback very much as it helps us to improve and maintain our service levels. With regards to your comments about noise I have to admit that I am a bit surprised as we do have soundproofing in all our rooms. It is however true that the absolute quiet side of the hotel is the side to the 'Mahlerstrasse' and the rooms facing the inner court yard. We also have a large number of rooms with separate shower stalls. If you let us know your preferences ahead of your arrival we will be able to assign a room to you that is tailored to your personal needs. Thank you again for your honest feedback. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wy wife, son and I just had a wonderful time in Vienna. The welcome we received in Bristol hotel and the magnificent treatment we benefited from transformed our little getaway in a memorable weekend. All personnel have been really helpful and we are looking forward to coming back to hotel Bristol. The concierge managed to find a baby-sitter at th elast minute, so we could enjoy Vienna's nightlife.
I am a Starwood platinum member, and the manager ensured we had a great Suite: the fully renovated Bristol Suites, with modern and tasty furniture, putting a nice colour to this Art Deco building.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear 'remy p',

thank you very much for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to read that you had a memorable experience at the Hotel Bristol. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our new Bristol Suites! It will be a great pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel Bristol soon! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is just perfect, none of the hotel will be better than this. You will got the opera view around 7pm very beautiful.
Wall down 10 min you will get shopping centre, and the most beautiful church in town. The front staff is very nice and helpful. The only problem is with breakfast. The training staff is worst. They dont know what they are doing. They even ignore you. The room decoration is beautiful. You wont regret when you stay in this hotel

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Louis_vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bristol for 2 days, went travelling and then returned to the Bristol again a few days later for another night. The hotel is next to the Opera. We loved the location. We could walk to many of the things we wanted to see. Initially the hotel has the feel of a boutique hotel because the lobby is small. But the rooms are not! They are large and elegant (chandelier in the room), with a beautiful marble bathroom. A disappointing fact is that the beds are very hard which is not to my liking. Our room overlooked the square in front of the Opera House. Breakfast was included with our rate and was very good. We ate dinner there twice and it was beyond superb. Service, taste, food presentation were outstanding. This review would not be complete without a comment on the elevator. The elevator has 2 leather seats in it. We immediately took out our camera so we could capture the moment.

Room Tip: We liked the location of our rooms which looked out towards the Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royalty0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear 'Royalty0606'

Thank you for your review which you posted on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very important to us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed in particular our location as well as the service and the food on property at our Restaurant. With regards to the bed allow me to add that we offer also soft tops to be put on top of the mattress which will make the bed softer if a guest would like that. It would be our pleasure to provide you with that service during your next stay. Again, thank you for your feedback! We hope to have the pleasure and honor to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is really wonderful, right across the street from the State Opera House. In terms of facilities, Bristol probably isn't the best hotel we have stayed. And the hotel staffs were polite enough, but we wouldn't say super friendly. Still, there are some nice things about Bristol worth Mentioning. We throughly enjoyed the free cocktail reception the hotel had kindly arranged for its guests on Christmas Eve, and afterwards being invited to join the Christmas carols by hotel management was also quite fun. We particularly loved the fresh and abundant buffet breakfast at the hotel. What a fantastic way to start our Christmas Day in Vienna!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DaveandLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 358 in Vienna
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,765 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 358 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $270 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing