We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Centrally located, great beds, excellent service, big rooms. The bathrooms are spacious. As for the rooms with view in the opera The entrance may disappoint you but everything else not.
Breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    314
    74
    37
    22
See reviews for
232
642
105
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot and generally stay at pretty nice properties, so I'm relatively hard to impress, but wow, Bristol blew me away! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, I was upgraded into a gigantic suite complete with 2.5 baths, a view of the opera house, enough room to do cartwheels in either the hallways, living room, or bedroom (if I knew how), and fresh roses. The food was top notch, location perfect. Really nothing but superlatives to be said.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear 'Ojako', thank you very much for your kind review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A perfect service wonderfull rooms and you feel like going back to the times of the austrian emperor Franz Joseph . Very good food and service . Only to enjoy.The only missing to pure luxury is a SPA . When i this fantastic city I will sleep here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henryschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear 'henryschoice'

Thank you very much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our property. I understand that you really enjoyed your stay. With regards to your comment about the Spa it is correct; we do not offer these facilities within our premises. We however do arrange in room Spa treatments with some very good masseurs. A historic (and listed) building like the Bristol has certain limitations to its space which does not allow us to build a kind of spa that we would require in order to meet our overall very high standards and guests expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I really enjoyed the junior suite on the top floor, it isn't too spacious but the view is unbeatable from the terrace, though depending on your luck, the view might be directly facing the opera or the Ring. Either way is beautiful, if you get options, check out all of them before choosing. The service is discreet and charming, with also quite some actually Austrian staff, which is a nice extra compared to some other hotels in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear 'derringo'

thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback very much. Thank you for your positive comments about our property and our associates. I am glad that you enjoyed your Junior Suite on the 6th floor - the view up there is really special. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid-February. I could not have been happier with our stay. The location was central to his work and to my touring. Our room was large and comfortable, with a nice view of the Opera. We ate just a few times for breakfast in their restaurant, and it was fine. This is not an inexpensive hotel, but you are in Vienna and right at the Opera.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeeinVAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 'LeeinVAUSA'

thank you very much for your feedback provided on Trip Advisor. We do value our guests comments about their stay very much. From your comments I understand that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel very much. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I give this hotel 5 stars, nothing less. Great location. Across the street from the Opera house, in front of the underground and tram public transportation. On the main shopping street. If you are looking for sophisticated luxurious decor then this is the right place. The room was fabulous, upholstered walls, separate WC and bathroom finished in marble floor to ceiling, separate seating area. Extra towels and amenities. The shower actually had a lot of pressure. In the evening they would leave chocolate at bedside. Every day we received water bottles, two apples and grapes are left for us to enjoy. The attention to detail is excellent. The wifi always worked (this is a major item since many hotels in my travels have difficulty with it) and I had no issues with the speed. The front desk staff were always exceptional. Finally a doorman that has patience, gives directions and reviews. The hotel has only one key per room that is on a very heavy brass tube. They want you to leave the key at the front desk when departing daily. I found this very refreshing not having to worry about the room keys whilst touring Vienna. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear 'Tourist Traveler59'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property! We appreciate our guest feedback very much! Thanks again for your patronage it would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel Bristol is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location. My room was a classic room and was perfect for my stay on a business trip. The bathroom was very spacious and the amenities including bottled water, fruit, and a chocolate on the pillow were much appreciated and were restocked each day. The Internet worked well and I found the staff very helpful for directions, recommendations, and mailing letters.
I have only two things of note for other potential travelers to this hotel. First, my classic room had one window that looked into a small concrete courtyard. Because the view was essentially into other rooms, I did not keep my curtains open. For me, this was fine because I was in meetings offsite most of the day, however, if you are expecting a nice view on your vacation, I suggest you make sure you know what room you are booking and pay extra for the view if that is important to you. Second, during my stay (early October 2012) there was construction noise from lower floors (as has been mentioned in other reviews) and it started relatively early (between 7 and 8am). Because I was already getting ready for meetings, this was not a problem for me and it appears from management responses to other reviews that the construction has since ceased, however, it may be something to ask about before you book if you desire to sleep in.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear 'thewilsonwanderings'

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We do very much value the feedback of our guests and we appreciate your overall very good feedback about our property. With regards to the room views allow me to add: the vast majority of rooms are facing the outside of the hotel. It is correct that some rooms face the private patio of the hotel - which is very quiet and it is preferred by those guests who prefer to have a very quiet room. With regards to the construction you are absolutely right - it has ceased and we offer now completely new rooms and suites on the Mezzanine level. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,685 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
863 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,139 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,127 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing