We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow Vienna at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow Vienna at its finest”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What can you say about this fantastic property? An amazing building in an ideal location with top notch service. While some may say this property is a little dated, the counter point is how modern can you make a historic building without it losing its charm? I say the Bristol has found the right balance. If classic isn't your style, then stay at Le Meridien which is also a fine property. For me, this is hands down one of best hotels I have ever stayed at and should I ever be so lucky to find Vienna again, I would make it a point to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: For SPG members, take the breakfast as your amenity. Amongst the best included breakfasts I have ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Shaunr52, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your feedback. It greatly helps us to maintain and improve our levels of service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    304
    72
    36
    19
See reviews for
216
602
97
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here on business last December and January. It's in the grand hotel tradition and compares favourably with similar 5 star hotels throughout Europe.The staff are friendly even the Doormen (which is not always so). Certainly friendlier than the nearby Imperial Hotel. In that regard it's worth noting that most of these hotels are now part of large international chains so forget the romantic notion of the old style family run hotel with the proprietor waiting to greet you! I had a problem with the online booking site and when I rang the hotel's Vienna number for reservations assstance I was put through to a call centre in Texas!! Eventually a delightful lady, a Front Desk manager, with an impossibly long name sorted me out with skill and consideration. I booked a junior suite on the top floor with a balcony with a view of the splendid State Opera House. These are essentially attic rooms with consequently low ceilings. Perfectly fine but a room on one of the other floors may have been preferable and indeed the charming lady who took my reserevation did offer me one of these. With hindsight maybe I should have accepted. The hotel is in a perfect central location. The common ares are fine. I had an excellent snack lunch in the lounge one day. There is a great Edwardian style bar off the lounge which gets busy in the evenings but be warned it allows smoking. Breakfast was very expensive and disappointing. I only went once. The room is for a grand hotel surprisingly soulless. The eggs benedict were peculiarly tasteless. The china coffee pot was chipped on the spout with the result the coffee went all over the place; when I pointed this out to the waiter he told me not to worry about the mess!! The staff were pleasant and helpful. I went very early so there were more staff than guests. As an experiment on the following mornings I went to the nearby Cafe Schwarzenburg (turn left at front door and it's about 100 metres along the Ring) and to the surprise of the waiter there I had a breakfast as similar as was possible to the one I would have had at the Bristol. Completely different: pleasant atmosphere, tasty food, excellent coffee and all for about half the price.

Room Tip: Unless you really want the balcony with views of the State Opera House I would avoid the top floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir, thank you for your comments posted on Trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain and improve our levels of service. While I understand that you had overall a pleasant stay at our property I understand that you did not appreciate the breakfast - since last December we have applied several changes to our buffet and also we have completely renovated our banquet areas which you had breakfast at. The experience will therefore be another one if you decide to come back. Of course it is not reflective of our high standards to have a chipped tea pot - this is something that we will investigate and put strong emphasis on to ensure that this will not happen again. Thank you again for your comments and your patronage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back soon again. Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

An excellent hotel with fabulous service. We stayed here for five nights and found the location to be excellent, the staff and concierge to be friendly and knowledgable and the service to be impeccable. Every recommendation of the concierge related to restaurants and coffee houses was exactly what we were looking for and all those places were exactly as explained to us by the concierge.

As part of Starwoods Luxury Collection we had high expectations and we were not disappointed. The rooms were very spacious and quite comfortable. The entrance was secure. The only unfortunate thing during our visit was that the Corso restaurant was under renovations and we were unable to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the State Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurls55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on this web site. We appreciate your feedback. From your comments I understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your comment about the Restaurant being closed kindly note that it is open - actually it was open - but not available on one particular evening due to a very large function - which might be the night you are referring to. Thank you for your patronage and please visit us soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

You can't beat the location of the Bristol and it offers ample opportunities to relish in the old world charm. However, what truly distinguishes the Bristol is its outstanding service. Every employee we encountered was professional, service-oriented, and courteous including the receptionist, the waiters, the maids, the concierge, and the room service. To a tee, our needs were anticipated or solved promptly.

We are both platinum with Starwood and the Bristol gave us a fantastic upgrade. Our room was quiet, spacious, and had a lovely view of the Opera House. Also, the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We do value our esteemed SPG Platinum members very much and are pleased to hear that you appreciated the recognition given. Thank you for your patronage and please visit us soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone visting Vienna, it's location is convenient for all the attractions. The staff are very courteous and pleasant and make every effort to make your stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. My room was on the 3rd floor non-smoking and very elegant, stylish with furnishings to match the old world charm. Very clean and tidy bathroom and toiletries replenished every day, excellent shower. I slept well every night with no disturbance from external noise. Free WiFi in the business suite on the fifth floor, didn't have to wait long to use the machines. Didn't use the restaurant or other facilities in the hotel as this was a business trip but had a very good night's sleep each night. Complimentary water and fruit available each day.

Room Tip: Room was no smoking on the 3rd floor at the (right) side of the hotel. In the month of September th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madame, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we would like to thank you for your patronage! Please visit us soon again. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm pretty detail focused when I do trip planning (sort of did it professionally). I reserved this hotel with points after reading a few trip advisor reviews and didn't do much more. Of course, I didn't realize till we go there I had scored a room at the Bristol....(lots of points but needed to use them). It's on the Ring across from the opera. In other words, the target of exactly where you want to be in Vienna. It's a beautiful historic hotel that's a cross roads of tourists (upscale) from all over the world. It's been beautifully preserved, including it's quirks. The service was outstanding, the breakfasts white table cloth....they actually fetched pumpkin seed oil for a gentleman's morning breaskfast salad as if it were the most natural thing in the world. The conceirge was especially wonderful. If you can get it, stay here, if not, or if you'd like a more quiet place, there a few places down the street. Either way, this is the best area in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumper1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is with pleasure to read your feedback and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Vienna was a wonderful first stop on our recent European getaway. This old world hotel was very clean, the location was superb (close to all the interesting attractions), and the staff were all friendly and highly accommodating. We found the room stylish, charming, and quiet, and we slept well in the comfortable bed. The bathrooms had all necessary accommodations. Water pressure in the shower was ok. Only complaint, as mentioned by a previous reviewer, was an annoying overpriced charge for an internet connection. We also felt that the concierge did not put enough thought into recommended restaurants, considering we let him know that we were willing to travel further away from the hotel for a sophisticated dining experience. Otherwise, the room was fairly priced, and we feel that most travellers will leave this hotel highly satisfied with their experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Sir / Madame,

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We will review your comments thoroughly and will refer to them when making changes to our current policies i.e. the internet charges. Furthermore we will speak with our concierge team to review the list of recommended restaurant to ensure that it is meeting the high expectations of all our guests. Again, I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing