We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding hotel in the heart of Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An outstanding hotel in the heart of Vienna”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

In doing our research for where to stay in Vienna, we clearly identified the Hotel Bristol as one of the premier locations in the heart of the city, and were not in any way disappointed.

We didn't think it made sense to stay in something ultra-modern (of which there is a suprising amount) in Vienna. The Bristol exudes old world charm. That being said, the rooms were very spacious, and much well layed out that any other room of similar size in which we have stayed. They were also able to guarantee us adjoining rooms, which many other hotels in the city were not able to do.

Service is simply outstanding. The bellman took care of our car when signed in, and gave us some suggestions that saved us a lot of time with regards to its return. The concierge recommended excellent restaurants and sights for us and seemed to work day and night. The front desk staff recognized us by face after only a day and were very quick to get us room keys. The cleaning staff was very prompt and efficient.

The location is superb - you are right in the heart of old town Vienna and all the sights, restaurants, and shopping you would want to visit.

It is a pricey stay, but the city tends to be pricey on the whole for lodging (more than Prague, lots less than Paris or London). If I had one critique it would be that the breakfast buffet was too pricey for our tastes (about 30 euro per person) - cannot comment on the quality since we did not end up eating there.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leefarg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our property. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We put a lot of focus on our service and training of our associates. With regards to breakfast allow me to add that we do offer also cheaper a la carte options to choose from (you pay only what you order). The full buffet includes a large variety of hot and cold food that you can choose from which explains why it is perhaps percieved as more expensive then other options. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Bristol in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    315
    74
    37
    22
See reviews for
234
646
105
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very formal hotel with an outstanding staff to cater to your needs. Location was superb. Breakfast was so-so. Hotel is clean. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were mush. Would certainly stay here again if I'm back in Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your recent visit and for posting about your stay experience at our property. The feedback of our guests is very important to us as it helps us to improve and maintain our high levels of service. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed internally and addressed appropriately. We look forward to welcome you back in the future upon your next visit to Vienna! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENWICH VILLAGE NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Absolute attention to your every need. We had
a lovely room facing the Opera thanks to the inimitable Elizabeth.
The Hotel is central to all the important sites and in any event, getting around by public transportation is a breeze.
The only complaint we had (if you can call it that) is that the breakfast is very pricey; however, there are number of cafes very close by that have extensive breakfast menus at reasonable prices (Museum Cafe, Cafe Mozart, Cafe Sacher). There is also the Nash Market fairly close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback.
It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay. Regarding your comment to our breakfast buffet allow me to add that we do also offer the option to order breakfast a la carte which would mean that you pay only for what you order and not a full buffet. The buffet includes a large variety of hot and cold dishes - some prepared freshly in our kitchen which may explain why it is more expensive than just a small breakfast selection at a Café. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Rooms like rm 467 offer small balconies with good views not only of the city life, but live opera and ballet performances on the screen by the opera house. Better than watching TV with only one English speaking station (BBC). Good concierge service and receptionist Paula M is a not only pretty, but fun and knowledgeable as well. The large black haired bellman is not only handsome (especially when he wears his top hat), but easy to work with. Car valet is fast even if they say 20 minutes. Best pillow candies in Europe. Do the Fiaker Carriage tour ride for memorable views of the palace and good info on the other sights and buildings. A must do is the ferris wheel of course and maybe even the bumper cars. The ''Wiener Rathauskeller''Austrian dinner show is superb entertainment and the food is pretty good....get a table close to the stage. Cafe Mozart for breakfast; Kervansaray-Hummerbar (upstairs) is close by for gourmet seafood (expensive); and Beograd for non expensive local atmosphere with accordian player and fantastic food and service is only a 6 euro cab ride away for dinner! Haas cafe ''behind'' the Stephansdom Cathedral is also a fine experience for breakfast or lunch.....then tour the church with headphones and take the elevator for a stunning view of Vienna. Take the train ride at the Schoenbrunn Palace for easy access to the best venues. Hotel also has free computer room. As for the room decor; my wife made me take a picture of the curtains so she can make them for our bedroom. I'll be back;...... have those candies ready!

Room Tip: opera house views with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank herb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. From your comments I understand that you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your stay at our property. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future - and yes we will place some extra candy in your room. Kind regards,
Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Although roomy and bright, I found that the hotel rooms needs some renovations. i think Luxury hotels are trying to keep them formal and as traditional as they can be. I have now stayed at 2 Luxury Hotels for Starwood and they tend to have chandeliers and lots of window dressing to cover up the errors in window treatments but the rest of the room is very nice.

The breakfast was better than expected and service was very good but this hotel books alot of high end tour groups promising 5 star hotels so it gets very crowded when they all arrive, especially at breakfast. I don't want W hotels style either but if all Luxury hotels continue to look tired than they don't look luxurious either. You can hide alot when there's frou frou everywhere but the hotels that have clean lines cannot fake it. If they looked at the Hotel Sacher 2 blocks away they'd know, you don't have to embellish the rooms with paintings and yards and yards of fabric. I was impressed that the walls and the bed cover did match but they look worn out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. The feedback of our guests is extremely important to us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the service at our property. Regarding your comments related to the condition of your room I can assure you that we are constantly upgrading our rooms - soft refurbishments like carpet or fabric replacements are taking place on an on-going base. I regret that your room did from that respect not meet with your expectations. Your feedback if valuable is it helps us to improve our service and offerings. I can assure you that we have plans in place to further enhance our product in the future as we believe that a traditional hotel needs to develop further in order to remain attractive. I would be pleased to welcome you back in the future! Thank you again for your feedback. Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the perfect location, we were even able to watch the free opera on the screen from our balcony. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suit which was a cherry on top to the helpful staff. I would recommend this to everyone who visits Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your kind feedback posted on this web site. I appreciate your comments and I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is very well located, the rooms are very clean despite a little old fashion the concierge and people from reception are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Madame, Sir

thank you for your kind review posted on this web site! We appreciate your comments. Please come and visit us soon again! Best regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,141 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 361 in Vienna
1,131 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing