We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #19 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Genuine luxury”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Hotel Bristol, Vienna (hereafter HBV) is a unique hotel in that it retains its old world charm whilst still being a comfortable place to stay. It is not over-pretentious both in terms of its interior designs or its service levels like many other old hotels in Vienna. One could call this hotel to be a bit ‘rough around the edges’ but that plays a part in making this a unique place that we thoroughly enjoyed. I would highly recommend this hotel for those who wish to experience the old world charm without being in an overly grandiose environment.

The check-in was great. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist whilst our bags were taken care of by the doorman. As platinum members of SPG we were given a spacious room with a private balcony overlooking the Ringstrasse. I spent a lot of time on this balcony – Vienna is a beautiful city and there was nowhere better to absorb its colors than from a private balcony of an old, luxurious hotel. If you can afford it, I would highly recommend for you to book these rooms – they are worth every EUR! The rest of the room was also immaculate with the only bummer being the bathroom. It was of good size with good natural lighting but suffered from very weak water pressure and a drainage problem on the bathtub. We did get this serviced on the 2nd day but we still found it mediocre at best. I would feel much more at ease to return to HBV if I had assurance that this is fixed. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are adorned with oil paintings and fresh plants. With the bathroom issue fixed, the room would have been perfect.

Perhaps the only other oddity we felt was that the bathroom amenities were Bvlgari as it says on their website (http://www.starwoodhotels.com/luxury/property/rooms/room_class_detail.html?propertyID=89&roomClassId=1004081648) – perhaps it’s because we were upgraded for free? The amenities that were available were still of high quality so we didn’t mind so much, but perhaps something should done to avoid confusions for future guests that expect it.

The only gripe I had with the check-in process was when I witnessed that many other guests were being escorted up to their rooms. We were given the keys to make our own way to our room, which we did not mind, but seeing other guests being escorted with a personal guide to where the business center/fitness center/restaurants etc are were, we were left to feel a bit “second-class”.

The concierge was helpful although a bit stiff, as was the doorman who I did not see smile once. In contrast, the receptionists were very bright and friendly, including the FO manager who I had the pleasure to meet on my way out. Perhaps making this friendliness consistent throughout all staff at HBV would help the guests’ experience. On the overall however, the service was fine and we have no complaints.

The location of the hotel cannot be beaten. It is three minute walk away from the Karlsplatz station (U-Bahn) which will take you to Schonbrunn palace and has two 24 hr Kebab stands right in front of its doors. Tram stops are nearby as well. You can walk to Stephansdom in 10 minutes and to Naschmarkt in 15 minutes. It is also directly opposite the Staatsoper. When you arrive at the hotel gates to see it literally being across the street from the Opera House, you understand why so many musical celebrities have stayed at the HBV since hundreds of years ago.

In summary, HBV is a hotel that is a prime location with a taste of old world Viennese luxury & comfort. You will not find the flawless efficiency & standardized friendliness you find in the likes of W.Astoria or St.Regis but what you will get is a genuine friendliness that does not go over-board. Oh, and I cannot forget those balconies – standing out under the Viennese stars looking out into the sparkling city of Mozart is worth a million dollars!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jaejaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    304
    72
    36
    19
See reviews for
217
603
97
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
385 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed for several days during a meeting. The decor are period and nicely re-done excepts for the ground floor restaurant which seemed out of keeping with the rest.
There are many glowing reports here. What to add:
Concierge was quite truly fantastic - mention a place, he/she pulls are card out with the address and provides optional directions on U bahn, tram, bus, taxi or walk with an offer to call ahead and reserve on short notice. The staff remembered my name every time I returned through the lobby. On one day. I woke with a cold and given jetlag etc decided to rest in bed, the domestic staff came and in and offered a doctor (declined), quickly cleaned the room and then returned with a trolley that held various cold remedies, inhalations and extra water - all at no charge - impressive.
Gripes: the ground floor restaurant used for the breakfast buffet did not flow so well even though staff were good and food excellent. The elevators were slow but the stairs worth the walk.

I did do a brief gym session (picture) - there is no pool but an arrangement to go swimming at a health club can be made at a cost.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Dear reviewer,
thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Bristol and for taking the time to comment on your stay. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were overall satisfied with our staff and the level of service offered.
Best regards from Vienna,
Riccardo Giacometti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Bristol for our 20th anniversary last April. Old world charm in a great location. The room was a throw back to the 30's and the hallway was larger than most hotel rooms in NYC. The location was great, and the price was very competitive. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend for couples looking for a classic European experience in a romantic setting.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpartans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Our priceline bid led us to Bristol and to an amazing value. The hotel is situated in a very nice strategic area, the OperRing, making possible to walk to many places and making easy to reach other areas by tram or ubahn. The room had a classic charming decor and was quite comfortable. Loved the amount of space for clothes and luggage, and the long room corridor before reaching the dormitory. The large marble bathroom was fantastic, with a big tub, great shower and very good cosmetics. The service lacks the five star quality, and although they were nice enough to give us a room with a view to the Opera and fruits after an email telling them it was a special occasion, they could not provide our check in only one hour before their usual check in time. The heavy key thing is a little boring, because although you can drop it in your way out, you'll wait for it when you come back, and I once had to hear some unpolite ladies from a large group that was checking in rudely complaing because, since they would take forever to check in with just two desk guys helping them, I have kindly interrupted them just to have my keys. Although ugly faces can't scare me, I could have lived the day without having to remember them....

Room Tip: Just ask nicely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear reviewer,

thank you very much for your very kind comment on tripadvisor. We are more than pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and had a pleasant time in Vienna.

We really hope to be able to welcome you again!

With best regards from Vienna,

Riccardo Giacometti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook,Il
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed in the Bristol for four nights in the middle of cold snowy December 2010. We stayed in a very reasonably priced suite that was elegantly appointed with a comfortable bed, a beautiful large bathroom and amazing amounts of space and storage room. Despite the sometimes bleak windy and snowy outlook outside,we always felt warm, safe, and well looked after at all times. From the moment we entered the hotel to check in, to the time we checked out, our stay was permeated with an atmosphere of elegance and service that is rare these days, even in some of the other so-called 'Grand Hotels' of Europe. All members of staff from the General Manager other lower in the organisation were very helpful and courteous at all times, giving personal attention even at time of stress when there were parties of foreign diplomats staying in the hotel. At no time did we ever feel as though we were 'mere guests'. The location of the hotel is superb for walking around the center of the city and visiting cultural centers, which we did numerous time despite the weather, always knowing that we had a warm and welcoming 'home' to return to. I wholeheartedly recommend the Bristol to anyone visiting Vienna. We are looking forward with delight to an occasion when we we can return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrHNorthbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our staff and the level of service offered.

Dear reviewer, it would be an honour to welcome you back to the Hotel Brstol in the not to distant future.

Until then I remain,

with best regards

Riccardo Giacometti
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is one of the great hotels in Vienna, with an excellent location on the Ringstrasse opposite the Opera House, which is very close to all the main sights. Everything about the place is classy, including a very good concierge service and decent in-house restaurant, Korso. It is expensive though - perhaps to be expected - and it takes one or two liberties (Eur 9 an hour for internet access and automatically blocking your credit card with 150% of the room cost). So if you want a quality hotel and don't mind paying for it, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels. I am a fair but discriminating consumer who is willing to spend extra $$ for excellent service but hates pompous, fake luxury.
About a month ago I stayed 3 nights with my son at the Hotel Bristol In Vienna and we had a deluxe room facing (sort of) the Staatsoper.
I have to say that - I thought I'd never would write this - this may have been the best hotel I have ever stayed in. It combines old imperial Viennese charm with high-end service and understated luxury all around. It feels like having a time machine going back 100 years and entering the era of Emperor Franz-Joseph. You'd really expect to see him around when you enter this hotel. It is simply magnificent, but NOT megalomaniac.
The rooms have wonderful antiques and look and feel like being inside an imperial castle. The antiques are for real and not fake!
On the other hand, the gym is top-notch (a bit small) and located on the top floor with a grande view overlooking the Ring facing West which is particularly breathtaking at sunset.
This hotel is simply a gem, a hidden jewel, and I WILL return.

The only negative I have to say is that, like most other hotels, they charge an insane amount for internet. This is one hotel disease I'd like to eradicate...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hehdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riccardo_giacometti, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Furthermore we herewith like to inform you that the internet access is free of charge at our Business Center. We decided not to include this service in our room
rates, as we would have had to increase those, which again would penalize all guests not using the internet.
Please accept my apologies if we did not meet your expectations on these issues.

Dear Guest, it would be an honour to welcome you back to the Hotel Bristol and the beautiful city of Vienna in the not too distant future.

Until then I remain,

with best regards

Riccardo Giacometti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing