We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel is located in a convenient location in Vienna. It is a few minutes away from main attractions (market, cathedrals, horse show place, etc). The lobby and most of hotel has an old school feel and is well maintained. Checking in was smooth and the concierge were resourceful (as expected).

Room was comfortable. We had complimentary water and welcome fruits (plums) and chocolates set on table for us. One drawback of room was that the TV was on the corner of the room and side of bed instead of being in front of bed. You would have to turn your head in order to watch TV. The showers had curtains, which for the most part are out of fashion (glass is trend and a more hygienic).

Breakfast was good and they served fresh orange juice, which is always a plus. Nothing different from normal expectations at a breakfast buffet.

Also, hotel is on the pricey side for what it has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Room was very small but quiet. I can say it was clean a part of these places under the bed. Towels and bed linen were in good order. Breakfast was easy but there is a lot to do with the menu. For that price which I paid is ok.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear “Tomasz K” and friends,

Thank you for posting your feedback of your recent stay with us, earlier this March, here at Hotel Imperial Vienna on the TripAdvisor community. Your compliments on the level of cleanliness and room amenities are well noted; however I was rather surprised about your disappointment with the breakfast menu on offer. We generally to get very good comments from our valued customers about our breakfast offering and hence it would be very helpful for us to learn more about where we have missed on your expectations in us. Kindly to take the time to elaborate on your breakfast menu comment by mailing your feedback to us directly on hotel.imperial@luxurycollection.com . Your help and assistance in giving us the opportunity to make further improvements would be much appreciated.

Imperial greetings from Vienna,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I had ordered breakfast from the Bristol Vienna multiple times before, as this is the only place that makes perfect eggs benedict in Vienna.
This time I decided to come with a friend and stay for a sit-down breakfast one morning, as I arrived too early the friendly staff at the front desk invited us to wait by the bar, once the breakfast room opened, we made our way to the free table, upon which the gentleman in charge of the restaurant blocked us asking if we were guests of the hotel and denied us the possibility of having breakfast there, with the words "You can sit down, but I won't serve, I choose who to serve here" (although we were welcomed by the front desk to the restaurant.
Upon asking to speak to a manager, a very unprofessional woman, with very little to say, by the name of Ms. Springwald, barely put together a sentence and just agreed with the gentleman in the restaurant.
Even if the breakfast would be reserved to hotel guests only (which hasn't been so far) the tone, and manner in which the staff acted was not only extremely unprofessional but also very rude, and not at all something one would expect and demand from such an establishment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mvarriale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear „mvarriale“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to our Cafe Imperial on Sunday, 9th March 2014. It was with great disappointment for me to learn that you felt unwelcome and not treated appropriately. Our Café Imperial does open its doors daily from 7:00am for breakfast and welcomes both our hotel guests, as well as external customers. As a matter of fact, everyone is very welcome at our Café, Opus restaurant and “1873 – HalleNsalon” Lounge Bar and only under very exceptional circumstances would we refuse to serve a customer, if through their presence, we would have to anticipate causing inconvenience or discomfort for our other valued guests.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Café Imperial for a renewed opportunity to delight and most certainly you are more than welcome to reach out to me personally to redress your recent experience at our hotel.

Yours sincerely, Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This splendid palace, now a first class hotel, transports one back to the glories of a glamorous imperial Vienna of the Hapsburg dynasty. This gem of a hostelry is really a beautifully preserved slice of history but with comfortable modern touches and first class service. The clefs d’or concierge in particular, proved helpful beyond measure, advising on places of interest, booking restaurants, museums and cultural events.

The breakfast room/café and restaurant are both appropriately excellent, as is the newly refurbished bar, which with its charming and very talented resident pianist, is the perfect place to begin and end ones evening with a cocktail or night-cap.

I feel more than happy to recommend this charming hotel to anyone and shall not hesitate to return when I next find myself in Vienna.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear “Philip B” and partner,

Your highly complimenting review on the TripAdvisor opinion portal was a great pleasure to read and receive. It reinforces that the recently completed first phase of our extensive revitalization process “hit the mark” with its intention to re-enforce and bring back elements of the former palace atmosphere. We are very excited to share with you that the final stage of the refurbishment of all public spaces will be completed in July this year and bring to life a much improved visibility of all food & beverage venues and ease of circulation between the different destinations within the hotel.

We would be very excited to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our historical icon in the not too distant future to share with you the completed ground floor. If my team or I can be of any assistance to you with your future trip arrangements, please do not hesitate to call on us for assistance ahead of your journey.

Wishing you a wonderful spring time in Shanghai! Imperial greetings from Vienna,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Imperial for 5 days and wished that we had extended our time there. The room was luxurious, featuring chandeliers, marble, and nicely appointed furniture. We had doors separating the living area from the bedroom. It was a former palace and all public areas were beautiful. The service was excellent The concierge was extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, reservations, directions, tickets, etc. It made our stay easy. We thoroughly enjoyed the Opus restaurant and ended up having dinner there twice during our stay. it was more than a dinner, it was an experience! The hotel is located near the Imperial Palace. It is within walking distance of many musuems and historical sites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayougal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear “bayougal57” and partner,

Your full marks on your review of your stay at Hotel Imperial were most rewarding and gratifying. Thank you for your compliments of my team members, particularly at the Concierge and our Opus Restaurant.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back once again in the not too distant future and wish you a re-energizing spring ahead.

Imperial greetings from Vienna to Lafayette, Louisiana,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is not simple an excellent hotel, but our stay was an experience. The hotel well kept the tradition and the royal atmosphere combined with just enough modern touch. The staff made us feel at home and even stayed only one night we were treated as special guests.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank AttilaUtazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at the Imperial last weekend and had amazing day, I booked on cash and points as I am a SPG Gold Member therefore i paid 10,000 points and €123 euros which was a bargain. The room was on the 4th floor 432. It had allot of light as it looked onto the ring, the bedroom was very clean and fit for a queen as was the bathroom. We had a deluxe bedroom with a seating area. shampoo ad shower gel were from the green deep company but we asked for more towels we also received a bucked load of Bvlgari shampoo and body lotion etc. I asked for more pillows and they responded hard or soft. Nice!!!! The bed was also very comfortable, i slept like a baby.
They have a fitness area which is small but useful on the 6th floor and a sauna. we ate in the beautiful Bar as the restaurant was full and food was really good, we paid extra breakfast which was expensive as you don't really get much and not so much healthy options besides fruit. breakfast was €41.00 pp.
The only downside was the wifi, it just didn't work and when we called down to ask they were aware of it and said it was been sorted out. i received 250 points back due to this.
In all i loved my stay at the Imperial and it enhanced our stay at the city. It had a different style of luxury and service. It is the grand dame of Vienna, it has been for 140 years and continue to do so.

It would of been nice that the hotel had a swimming pool and spa this would just enhance the hotel allot more but who knows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroboyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear “euroboyde” and partner,

Your detailed and exhaustive review of your stay with us in March filled us with pride and will motivate our team to try even harder to make each and every stay experience as rewarding as you have described yours. We will continue to seek out technical solutions to improve on the stability of our wifi connection and have taken your suggestion on board to extend the healthy breakfast options at our Champagne Buffet Breakfast at Café Imperial Wien.

Our pillow menu does not only provide our valued guests with a choice of 7 different pillows, they are also all available for sale to take home the same comfortable sleeping experience one might have had, whilst staying with us.

Hoping to be able to spoil you once again soon and hence do not hesitate to reach out to us for assistance prior to your next visit to Vienna.

Imperial greetings from sunny Vienna to Munich,

Klaus Christandl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,741 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#27 of 359 in Vienna
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,488 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $375 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing