We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #14 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Sitting on the edge of 3 great neighbourhoods, this hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms were really great, and the really spectacular bit (aside from a gigantic christmas tree) was the service. The receptionists were extremely helpful and personal. They always remembered who we were, adding a familiar and intimate touch. I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabethlndn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „elizabethIndn“ and partner,

Thank you so much for your full score in your TripAdvisor posting. Your comments about the personalized service of our reception team members has been shared with them and will definitely further encourage them to look for those small details to delight our guests that make all the difference.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to London,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on a combined starwood award/cash plan.
Clearly a five star property with everything that this entails, but there are little things that need improvement.
Had booked and upgraded to a deluxe room (the highest category the starwood programme will allow you to book for points (+€€€ cash).
The room was palatial with 7m high ceilings with gold stucco and huge period oil paintings quite something.
The bathroom on the other hand was no more than what you get in any old marriott. Standard no frills with average amenities. Also the noise insulation towards the neighbouring suite was suboptimal (could hear most of what went on in there). And the A/C in this cold winter month was turned to heat-heat-heat. No cooling option in winter. Not the best for a good night's sleep especially as opening the window was not an option as the street outside is quite noisy.

However as I had booked a king room, but since they only had a twin they gracefully offered me a new room the next day. And upgraded me at no cost to a junior suite.
Now this room on the other hand had none of the drawbacks of the deluxe and everything the homepage describes. Huge marble bathroom with Bulgari amenities and separate shower and bathtub. And truely a lovely room with a very comfortable bed. However at a list price of 1119€/night (you got that right - for a junior suite!!) this better be impeccable. In this room everything worked beautifully (except movie/music system).

The staff in general is helpful and friendly - if somewhat formal.
One drawback is that the imperial cafe (where you enjoy breakfast) and also the maria theresa bar both were staffed with people who seemed permanently stressed. They always seemed as if they were in a hurry and although formal and polite, every order you gave them seemed as if it was an inconvenience. Very far from the service in the imperial restaurant which was truely welcoming and personal (see separate review).
So all in all a very unique 5 star experience in an amazing old building.
But as you can see at this price level there are details that need to be straightened out.

Room Tip: jr suite or above (if your wallet permits)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „nikolai69“ and partner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and impressions with us and other travelers via the TripAdvisor portal. It was good to note that our team did respond to your needs and offered you an upgrade to a higher room category.

The first room you had stayed in is one of only very few that are still to be converted to a dual 4-pipe heating/cooling system and I am happy to share with you that this renovation has been scheduled for the first quarter of 2013 and work will start right after the holiday season. Thereafter, cooling, as well as heating will be possible all year round and individually controllable in each room, just like in the majority of our rooms and suites already.

You are right to point out, that the list price of our Junior Suite is on the high end, keeping in mind that amazing old Palais structure and interior, that makes the Hotel Imperial such a unique proposition in Vienna. Just like you were able to enjoy this Junior Suite under special Starwood Preferred Guest conditions, so are many special offers and seasonal packages available to all travelers that will provide much better value than the “list price” rate you stated might indicate.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to Copenhagen,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're reading TripAdvisor, it's because you're looking for a hotel in Vienna. Everything all of the other reviews of the Imperial say -- "Excellent," "Great," Magnificent," "Wonderful," "Dream," "Superb," "Glamorous" -- don't even begin to touch how special a place this is. In every department -- service, location, rooms, food -- Hotel Imperial defines perfection. The bottom line: if you're looking for a place to stay in Vienna, go no further -- stay here!.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m12345Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „m12345Nyc“ and family,

Thank you for your passionate recommendation after your stay with us in November. A delight to hear that we were able to exceed the expectations of such a seasoned global explorer, as you clearly are.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to New York City,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have just had a delightful 2 night stay in a very charming penthouse suite with amazing views of the city.
Everything works so well here with a most professional service.
CAFE IMPERIAL was most impressive for breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRELANDSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „IRELANDSMAN“ and partner,

Top marks from a far travelled global explorer like you is a wonderful compliment. Thank you for your kind comments and review of your stay with us in November.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to Torremolinos,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just wonderful. Beautiful large room and spacious bathroom. Nothing about this hotel and our stay could have been better. Perfect location. Concierge was so helpful with excellent ballet tickets although he did reccomend a very touristy Viennese music concert which,as serious music lovers,we did not like.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „davidlyons“ and partner,

It was very rewarding to read your review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us in November this year. Thank you also for the honest feedback that one of our concierge’s recommendations did not truly meet your expectations. We will continue to strive to provide personalized services and recommendations for all our guests in the future.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013, that the snow chaos is not causing you too much trouble this winter and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to Montreal,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Its gratifying to see that the quality of the suites and the condition of the hotel remain stellar. It is a special hotel because it manages to strike the right balance between old world traditional and understated spectacular, clean and well-curated. It has all the Baroque Viennese Grandeur, as traditional as a Vienna Ball. But the style is to showcase and not drown in the opulence. The rooms and suites are all different and they are all special and none are "too much". Sometimes you get the fabulous suite with impossibly high ceilings but with a slightly small bathroom. (gorgeous bathrooms with marble and Bulgari but in the ineffible style of historic buildings, all aspects are unique) Or, you will get a perfectly proportioned suite in a cocoon of silk and Brocade with chandeliers. If you want the style dialed down a notch, there are the Maisonette suites that are more restrained. But, in every singe room, there will be a fabulous TV or two, excellent turn down with gratis water and chocolate. Oh, anytime you can have the most delicious Weiner Schnitzl in the world. Through room service! Hot delicious and on time. I can't wait to come back again

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, they'll help you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancemacabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „Dancemacabre“,

Your review of your stay with us in November highlighted several unique aspects and elements of our Hotel Imperial that are so dear to us. The individuality of our rooms and suites, the city palace or “Palais” style interior, as well as details of Viennese Traditions, such as our Wiener Schnitzel (breaded veal cutlets), a definite “must try”.

Thank you very much for your praises, as it is especially rewarding to hear that repeat guests and seasoned travelers like you are continuing to find a home away from home in our Hotel Imperial.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to Paris,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Upon entering the simply beautiful lobby of the Hotel Imperial Vienna, I felt as though I was definitely in another time and place. American hotels, no matter how luxurious, do not have the same "feel". However, we felt welcomed and comfortable.
Our accommodations were quite elegant and spacious, but with all of this elegance and spaciousness, and much to my chagrin, our suite had only one, quite small, bathroom, hardly large enough for three women! My daughter and granddaughter did not seem to mind as much as I, and did not want me to voice a complaint. I confess that I found the bathroom situation to be quite irritating and uncomfortable. Certainly the Hotel Imperial has suites with larger bathrooms!

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBS630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear „GBS630“, family and friends,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us last November. Your comments have been well received and we have taken note that the bathroom size in the room assigned to you did not meet with your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies that this caused you irritations and discomfort.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you, your entire family and your friends a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the future. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly for any future trips, so that we can ensure to assign a room with a larger bathroom to you and your family members.

Festive Greetings from Vienna to Baltimore, Maryland,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,830 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#28 of 359 in Vienna
1,213 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $342 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing