We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful palace even for Lady Gaga”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at the Imperial Hotel and stayed two nights from August 15 - 16. We have stayed at other luxury hotels around the globe but this one was unique in that it truly felt like a palace. It has so much history and many A-list celebrities, politicians and others have stayed at this hotel and continue to stay here. The rooms were nicely appointed and the bathroom was stocked with Bvlgari bath products. Each day, we had fresh fruits delivered to our room. The hotel also complimented us with champage for our anniversary which was a nice touch. To give a comparison, we have stayed at the Burj Al Arab which is a 6-star hotel but both are completely different with unparallel distinctions. The difference with this hotel is that it is historical and yes it looks a bit worn out but the beauty of this hotel and with all the history makes it worth the visit. The service was also excellent and Anita at the front desk was always so warm and welcoming with a smile. There is a museum at the back on the main floor and towards the left where the elevators are located, there is a hallway with pictures and the history of the hotel with the names of hundreds of visitors. On the day we checked out, Lady Gaga arrived at the hotel. In summary, this is a beautiful hotel and the service was wonderful. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv_vino_trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear “anita2000“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your exciting review of your stay with us in August this year. How rewarding to know that we were able to contribute a little special something and fond memories to your special anniversary trip. Thank you for all the compliments and positive feedback.

It fills my team with pride that we are able to call guests with a wide range of backgrounds our loyal and regular guests, spanning over all continents and many generations.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to Vancouver,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fantastic view from the room! Beautiful hotel and great location. Concierge was very helpful in getting tickets to the opera which was fantastic, definitely reccomend. Also, very helpful in recommending restaurants. Rooms were very spacious, classy elegant facility. Very happy overall.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vasiliki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear “Vasiliki A“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your extremely positive TripAdvisor posting of your stay with us in November 2011. It was very rewarding to read about your great experience at our Hotel Imperial.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is pretty impressive. We stayed here for 2 nights in early July. The staff is good, but the grand stairway and rooms were the most impressive. You truly feel like you are staying in a palace (I mean, I guess this is what it is like). The marble stairway with large portraits and chandeliers was beautiful, we walked up and down it a LOT. We are SPG Platinum so were upgraded to a 2 room suite which was very nice. The location of the hotel is great, but to be honest I was not overly impressed with the Imperial Torte. Musikverein is right next to the hotel and we saw a show there one night. It is also easy enough to walk to all of the sites in the city including Belvidere.

We have used points to stay at a number of great places in Europe and this one truly stood out for the Old World style and luxury. I hope I can stay there again some day!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear “Chris_Addy“ and partner,

Thank you very much for your very positive posting and review of your stay with us in July this year. It was very rewarding to read about your memorable experiences at our Hotel Imperial, although a little disappointing to note that the Imperial Torte did not tingle your taste buds. So there is no other chance but to come back and give us another opportunity to convince you of the Imperial Torte’s temptation.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and your entire family a wonderful start into 2013 and looking forward welcoming you back to Hotel Imperial once again in the near future.

New Year’s Greetings from festive Vienna to Boston, Massachusetts,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights in april 2012 .the service was excellent, our luggage got lost on the flight into vienna, hotel staff went out of their way to help us get it back as smootly as possible.
food was excellent in the restaurant,
bar staff were very friendly and attentive.
room was average to small - however very nicely done and clean.
It was walking distance 5-10 min from opera house.
history of the hotel is interesting

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank music-soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear „music-soul“ and partner,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with other travellers. It was rewarding to learn that the attention of my team members made your stay more enjoyable and memorable. Your compliments will encourage them to continue their journey towards excellence.

Have a wonderful summer ahead and sunny greetings from Vienna to Canada,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Luxury Vienna, that is what I would call this hotel. We stayed in the Hotel Imperial, Maisonette Suite, for 4 night in early July. The room was an amazing 2 story suite with a balcony overlooking the city. My two young kids (2 and 4) loved the extra space and the upstairs gave us a little reprieve. The hotel was well located on the loop with easy access to the tram and only a 5 minute walk to the opera house. The concierge was extremely helpful when looking for things to do and places to go. The history of the hotel speaks for itself and we definitely felt like we were experiencing the best of Vienna.

The hotel has an excellent breakfast that we took advantage of every day. Lots of meats and typical Austrian pastries. Then on the last day as we were getting our food none other than Arnold walked in and joined the room for breakfast. Not wanting to look like a crazy American we left him and the 10+ teenagers he was with enjoy their breakfast, but it was still pretty fun to see him back in his home country. Not an everyday thing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank II_Globe_Trotter_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear „II_Globe_Trotter_II“ and family,

Great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. Your description of our central and convenient location will definitely assist others to get a positive impression of one of our many assets. An additional big THANK YOU for the thumbs up on our breakfast buffet at the Café Imperial.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel Imperial in the not too distant future and best wishes for a most memorable summer ahead and sunny greetings from Vienna to California,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were most impressed by the treaments we received at the the Hotel Imperial. We felt we where at home. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasFunTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear „TexasFunTeam“ and partner,

Many thanks for your perfect marks on your recent experience at Hotel Imperial. We will continue to strive for excellence.

If your travels bring you back to Vienna, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly for any special requests or assistance. Warm wishes for a most rewarding summer ahead and sunny greetings from Vienna to Austin, Texas.

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is just as you would expect - over the top with Viennese design and a fair amount of attitude. Surprisingly, the "I am fancy" attitude comes more from the staff than the patrons who are spending the money to stay. The front desk people are nice...others not as great.

Note - nearly everyone who stays here/eats here is 55+ years old. Regardless of your wealth, you will not be treated the same if you are not "older" and dressed in a suit. I observed this many times throughout our stay.

DISAPPOINTMENTS:
As someone noted, the key is ridiculously heavy. We immediately disconnected it from the fob (which at any rate, never feels safe to be walking around town with a room key with the room number on it?)

The corners of the banquettes near the windows in the cafe are FILTHY dusty. For a famous cafe in the "top hotel in Vienna", this should never happen. Unfortunately, this is only place where breakfast is served, so there is no avoiding this.

The doormen (all) are the probably the worst I have ever come across in a hotel. They never acknowledged us - even after 4 days - never helped with an umbrella (rained every day) - never helped with the door - ever. They were usually chatting with each other or no where to be found (as was the case when we were departing and needed the keys to our car).

There was half eaten chocolate in our mini-bar, which I attached a note to on the first day so that we were not charge. Four days later, the same half eaten bar and note were still there.

Expect dinner suggestions to be nearby and touristy as was the case with both places we went on their recommendation. Neither were awful, but we found better places on our own.

POSITIVES:

ROOMS: The suites are well equipped with two large flat screen TVs, a VERY COMFORTABLE BED, large windows with automatic blinds and a good stereo. The bathrooms are quite small for this caliber hotel, however given the history, their size is as expected.

Fresh air from the large windows with a great view were distinct positives.

All in all, if you are only going to visit sights nearby, are 55+, or don't care about the attitudes of the service people, and want to experience Viennese history, this could be your place. Otherwise, you are bound to find better in this cosmopolitan city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baygirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klauchr, General Manager at Hotel Imperial Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Dear „baygirlSanFrancisco“ and partner,

Thank you very much for sharing your frank and critical feedback with us via the TripAdvisor site. It was disappointing for me to read that your experience was marred by a perceived indifference of several of our service colleagues. Please accept my sincere apologies for the adverse impression created by a few and rest assured that personal attention to our discerning guests’ needs is and will remain our key focus of attention. I have taken up your feedback with the team members concerned and will personally follow-up on the execution of our service promise.

Your positive highlight of our special Luxury Collection bedding is most appreciated and well noted.

Should your travels bring you back to our amazing city, do not hesitate to contact me directly for a chance to help facilitate and provide you with a truly memorable and enjoyable stay experience.

Sunny greetings to San Francisco and have a wonderful remainder to your summer,

Klaus Christandl, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 358 in Vienna
1,765 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 358 in Vienna
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range: $362 - $878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Imperial Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Splitty, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Imperial Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing