We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schonbrunn Palace

Schonbrunn Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.38*
and up
Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert
Ranked #2 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Cultural World Heritage Site of Schönbrunn Palace is Austria's most frequently visited tourist attraction. In the palace the residential and state rooms with their original furnishings and decorations convey an authentic impression of the imperial lifestyle. The park and gardens surrounding the palace make Schönbrunn in a unique synthesis of Baroque art as well as providing a convenient and highly popular recreational area for Vienna's population.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“gorgeous gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Enjoyed a guided tour through the palace..residence of the Hapsbergs .The exterior is a very impressive building. Inside lots of opulence as expected, some themed rooms such as the oriental room. The gardens are beautiful. If viewed from the balcony you can note the particular patterns of the different garden beds. Wonderful to have such a view from your bedroom window!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stewy2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,792
    6,735
    1,356
    211
    102
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Crowded, yet must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Schonbrunn and its gardens must be seen by anyone at least once in a lifetime. The museum is impressive, with extremely well preserved interiors and exteriors. You will have however to wait until entering in the museum, and this might be disturbing. You will have to allocate a lot of time to this attraction, since both the palace and the gardens are huge (if you go also to the zoo, you will probably have to reserve a whole day :D ) . I visited it in the end of the year, so I am pretty sure that the gardens are significantly more impressive during the summer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very interesting example of well-preserved history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

As part of a city-wide tour, we spend 1.5 hours at Schonbrunn, with a guide. My only regret is that more of this palace has not been preserved for viewing, with most of it having been converted to private apartments.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WineLoverOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gracious Living!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a vast palace and related grounds. There is a range of tours - we took the Grand Tour which took about an hour - we were supplied (free) with an Audio Guide which was very well done and provided just the right amount to information.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“To live like kings and queens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

If you want to see how the rich and noble once lived, the Schonbruun Palace is the place to go. We took the walking tour that covered the inside of the palace and the grounds. It was beautiful. We visited in October. Most of the outdoor gardens were finished blooming for the year. I would recommend going in spring or summer when the grounds would be in full bloom.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schonbrunn Palace also viewed

 

Been to Schonbrunn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing