We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Schonbrunn Palace

Schonbrunn Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.56*
and up
Schonbrunn Palace Evening Concert
Ranked #2 of 564 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Cultural World Heritage Site of Schönbrunn Palace is Austria's most frequently visited tourist attraction. In the palace the residential and state rooms with their original furnishings and decorations convey an authentic impression of the imperial lifestyle. The park and gardens surrounding the palace make Schönbrunn in a unique synthesis of Baroque art as well as providing a convenient and highly popular recreational area for Vienna's population.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very well-preserved palace with recently restored rooms. You can choose various types of tours (guided or non-guided), but the tickets is quite expensive. Very nice park with lots of attractions also for children (the Labyrinth etc.).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenisaSmidova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,244
    6,931
    1,400
    218
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The palace is amazing. Is very well maintained and organized. But unfortunately photographing is not allowed inside the castle.
The gardens are very beautiful too.
A tip is to buy the entrance tickets at the machines located before the lines.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alinegab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Exquisite architecture and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travelled here as an option of a Scenic Tours Danube cruise in September. As we had been to Versailles two years earlier, we weren't certain that we wanted to take this option but we were very glad that we had. The palace itself was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed walking through the exquisite rooms and finding out more of the history which unfolded before us. Walking through the gardens was delightful. Be sure to take the opportunity to walk up the hill behind the palace and look down on the gardens. Another great place for photos is behind the fountains where you can frame the palace and the gardens. At the end of the tour we went to Cafe Residenz where we enjoyed delicious coffee and Viennese pastries with another couple in a lovely atmosphere....overall, an excellent morning!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sapphire5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Imposing, immense, dreamlike, wonderful gardens, amazing rooms. Those are the first few words that spring to mind when you first see the palace, the mountains in the distance, the huge gardens which you could lose yourself for hours, all covered in brilliant white snow. In my opinion quite possibly the best time to visit the Palace. Although, situated about 20 mins from the centre of Vienna the Schloss Schonbrunn is not to be missed. Opt for the Grand Tour around the palace, which takes about 1 hour, and although it does feel slightly like an airport border control before you enter into the palace it's well worth it when you walk around listening to the life of the Empress Maria Theresa and her family. My impression of the architecture, chandeliers, paintings will stay with me for a long time, and definitely worth a visit for anyone on a short break to Vienna. There is a lovely Cafe there too serving delicious cakes to give you energy to then walk around the splendour of the gardens. Fantastic photographic opportunities. Space for children to run around, couples to mooch about and friends to walk through the gardens. Don't miss a visit to this Palace!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awesome palace and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

the place takes you back in time with all the old paintings depicting the life of the Hapsburgs royal family. the place is kept its old world charm and well maintained. the gardens are not to be missed as its a huge place and amazing, you could just forget yourself there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vinitaboloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schonbrunn Palace also viewed

 

Been to Schonbrunn Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing