We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Wiener Staatsoper
from $57.02
More Info
from $114.04
More Info
from $30.79
More Info
Reviews (7,632)
Filter reviews
7,632 results
Traveler rating
5,171
1,803
455
106
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,171
1,803
455
106
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house standing room tickets guided tour standing area la traviata great opera beautiful building vienna opera don giovanni state opera big screen behind the scenes dress code different languages magic flute box office selling tickets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 7,632 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2019

This is a beautiful building, we attended the ballet which was modern ballet and not to our taste.
The older man selling tickets was the most miserable person we came across in Vienna, on the night of the performance as said previously most staff were surly though the man in the cloakroom was cheery

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jet2ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We did three things:
1. Saw the building from outside, at day time and night. Beautiful building. Train station is right next to it
2. Saw an Opera. A great feeling.The seat is small and not very comfortable. Great experience
3. Guided tour: This is chaotic. Lots of people, so multiple guides will be talking. Hard to listen. Our guide was not a happy, in fact yelled at one of the person when he asked he can't listen. Not a good way to go around.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank JayN172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019 via mobile

When passing the Opera, I found out that they were providing free public viewing of its ballet program.

By the side of the building, there was a huge screen and seats set up directly facing the screen.

The quality of visions and sound were great for a free event.

So many time I wanted to attend one of their programs so I was pleased to do so by chance.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank NYLON_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

This world famous building is a landmark in central Vienna and cannot be missed. We didn't get to do the guided tour but took lots of photos of this impressive architecture nevertheless. Very busy area with traffic and pedestrians and tourists. Beware of dodgy salespersons trying to sell supposedly cheap opera/ musical performances to tourists. Apart from that this iconic building can be seen and enjoyed across the street above ground level at the entrance to the Albertina.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank moonlotus18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

One of the most famous opera house’s in the world. That being said, it’s really an amazing building. Don’t miss on the inside. Whether you want to attend a performance or just marvel at the architecture and history of this amazing opera house, it is definitely worth a visit. Absolutely not to be missed.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank miguel_varela_costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews