We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of State Opera House

State Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.51*
and up
Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes
Ranked #7 of 564 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vienna's internationally renowned opera offers nearly 300 performances each year.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Saw a opera that was only in German, but the experience of being in the opera was worth it. Very nice decoration thought . A must think to do in Vienna.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPN65Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,976
    1,343
    325
    66
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, outside and inside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We took tour around the Opera House. Euro 6.50 for ticket. Tour was very informative and we had opportunity to see behind the stage and some rooms which are usually not open for the public. The interior of the Opera is really luxurious and worth seeing. The screen on the side of the Opera house is working now, so you can see life translations of the performances.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I would strongly recommend to visit this theater its simly great. The building itself is old and really beautiful as inside as outside. We were at opera "Der fliegende Hollander" and it was amazing. Really nice decorations very amusing voices and play of singers, real fire in the end. So i totaly loved it. State Opera House is really a must to go when in Vienna. I also liked that each place got it's own subtitles in german and english aswell so i enjoyed it very much.
There is also an option to watch the opera standing for small amount of money, not comfortable, but cheap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Magnificent opera house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well worth a visit for the grand style of the building and interior. Perhaps avoid our mistake and don't take cheapest option of seats where restricted view from the gallery detracted from the pleasure of the evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TitusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you do not want to fork out the money for opera tickets - be sure to take a tour of the opera house!
This may not sound exciting, but it was one of the highlights of our trip. You get to go on stage and backstage and even experience the stage view from an opera box!
Well worth a visit!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank therollingsteyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Opera House also viewed

 

Been to State Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing