We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent venue and occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of State Opera House

State Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.60*
and up
Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes
Ranked #7 of 561 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vienna's internationally renowned opera offers nearly 300 performances each year.
South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent venue and occasion”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was lucky enough to see an opera at the State Opera House recently - and was amazed by the magnificence of the building. Once inside, it is even more opulent, and offers an incredible opera-viewing experience. The boxes are small (7 or 8 seats in each), with individual "sub-title" readers for each seat, and even though the Opera House is enormous, the design ensures reasonable proximity and excellent acoustics. Close to public transport and easily accessible for visitors to Vienna.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank campsbaySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,965
    1,341
    325
    66
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Night at the opera”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to see Rossini's Cinderella. A beautiful space, good acoustics. Expensive, even on a high balcony, but worth it to see once. Good selection of eats during intermission, including apple strudel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valetta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An elegant evening”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in Vienna for the first time and attended the ballet, Manon, with a friend at the State Opera House. It is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated with elegant columns, mirrors, and paintings. I will definitely take a tour the next time I am there. We were pleased with our balcony seats though the couple in the row behind us were not. I suggest to anyone attending an event there to order seats int the front row as the views from the back rows are quite obstructed. The ballet performance was lively and animated and the orchestra exceptional. Overall it was the perfect way to spend an evening in Vienna--well worth the money!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our English speaking guide led us on an interesting tour of the Opera House. It was the last thing we did on our visit and I'm so glad we had time. The interiors are beautiful and the insight into what went on behind the scenes was fascinating. Next time we visit Vienna we'll be sure to get tickets.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchdaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You can save the time to visit the place unless you are interested in going to a night at the opera. The guided tours are not worth the time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Opera House also viewed

 

Been to State Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing