We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Opera House

State Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.88*
and up
Vienna State Opera House Mozart Concert in Historical Costumes
Ranked #8 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vienna's internationally renowned opera offers nearly 300 performances each year.
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The buliding is beautiful and the performance was wonderful - a magic evening!

If you are going to Vienna, the city of music, an evening at the opera should be included. However, learn from our experience - by tickets in advance! This can be done on the internet. If not, you may end up buying from a black market vendor on the outside - and paying through the nose .. We ended up paying 60 Euros for a 12 euro seat ...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snehvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,893
    1,319
    325
    65
    54
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fascinating and well presented tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went on the tour of the opera house which was really interesting, even for people who don't have an interest in opera. The guide even managed to show us back stage, which was fascinating as sets were being dismantled. We queued up at 1.30 for the 2pm tour and easily got tickets, which were only 6.90 euro. We thought it was a very well presented tour by a knowledgeable guide who pointed out many interesting features and even allowed time for questions. It was well worth visiting, especially if you do not intend to attend the actual opera.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“AMAZING (& ?4 Standing tickets!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved the opera here - a great tip is to get standing tickets. One lines up from approximately 5.30 for them. Views are excellent and price to see some amazing shows just incredible. We loved it so much on the first night we went that we decided to go back the next night!!

Helpful?
1 Thank SweetToothTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was the most beautiful opera house I have ever been to. Renovated and perfectly clean, the pleasure of watching the performance was as pleasurable was walking around and appreciating the architecture. Even the bar was perfectly illuminated and in harmony with the place. The whole experience just became one of my favorite memories...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank andreacarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Rosenkavalier' in the city it was written for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Opera building is stunning- worth a visit in its own right. The production was generally good- a bit 'busy' at times which distracted from the main action occasionally, but overall an amazing experience with excellent performances from the three principals.

Only criticism to management - it was very cold the night we were there, and the doors were kept closed until 16.30, despite the fact there were several clearly freezing members of the public outside. My husband came home with bronchitis!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Optimist72_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Opera House also viewed

 

Been to State Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing