We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive and beautiful”

Central Cemetery (Zentralfriedhof)
Book In Advance
More Info
$439.91*
and up
Private Guided Tour of Musical Vienna
Ranked #19 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Europe's second largest cemetery marks the final resting place for over 2.5 million people, including Beethoven, Brahms, Schubert and Strauss.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Massive and beautiful”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I love exploring cemeteries and this one did not disappoint. I wish I would have had more time, as it is a very large cemetery. The composer's area (go through the 2nd gate and walk towards the church right down the middle, it will be on the left) is a nice tribute to the greats. Although Mozart is not buried there, he is included with a monument. Take the time to go outside of town and see this beautiful place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hannajomeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    364
    68
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena CA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Literally, it's the end of the line!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We love taking public transportation when in new places to see where we end up. The 71 tram (Zentrafriedhof) was our discovery. It ends at the Central Cemetery, which we knew nothing about. What a fantastic discovery, especially since we like visiting cemeteries! There are several well known deceased (Victor Frankle, Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, Strass ) among the estimated 3 million burials. It is a beautiful park-like, peaceful setting with impressive monuments, chapels, churches and even BUS STOPS to take you around. You can take the 71 and get off at Tor (gate) 2 explore the cemetery and end up at Tor 3 to pick up the tram to central Vienna. If you like cemeteries, this is a must. Not creepy at all. Don't be surprised to witness a funeral and burial, with over 25 daily taking place currently. read up on its history before you go to get the full impact of the cemetery. Plan on several hours if you want to visit specific graves, other wise an hour or two will do.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Must See for Music Lovers!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was well worth the trip on the tram for me, being a music lover. Beethoven's grave, Schubert, Brahms, Strauss and i also visited Falco's grave, the guy who did "Rock Me Amadeus". There is also a beautiful cathedral there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyTraveler324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Zentralfriedhof, or Central Cemetery, hosts more than 2 million graves, including those of Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms, and Strauss. There is a memorial to Mozart, which is misleading because his main grave stone is in St. Marx's Cemetery, but puts the thought of him in good company. If you're a music lover, it's a nice way to pay tribute or thank the composers who have given so much to the world. It's easy to find the composers' graves; just enter Tor 2 (Gate 2) and walk on the left hand side of the road straight toward the church. As you are about 3/4 of the way to the church, you'll see a small sign pointing left that notes the music section. There's also a sign at the entrance indicating the location, in case visuals are helpful. I also visited the baby section of the cemetery, which was poignant and overwhelming.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zemun, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Beuatuful”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The main reason we have visited Zentralfriedhof is Music area. Finding Zentralfriedhof is easy. You need to use tram line 71 which we have been waiting at Burgteatar. After only 20 minutes ride you are at the Tor 2 (Gate 2). Monuments are extremly large and somehof they demonstrate power of the families who are buried there.
Cemetery is large and you need whole day to dedicate to it. There is Buddhist, Muslim, Orthodox, Anatomy, Military, Jewish, Baby, Catholic section...
I could write about it whole day, but the best solution if you are in Vienna is to visit it...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MetalMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Cemetery (Zentralfriedhof) also viewed

 

Been to Central Cemetery (Zentralfriedhof)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing