We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you have an hour or so to spare”

Sigmund Freud Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.50*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #73 of 564 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Freud's former home contains numerous documents and photographs from throughout the famous psychologist's life.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good if you have an hour or so to spare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited the Freud museum as I had studied psychology at school and found his work really interesting. Firstly, the price of the museum was top notch! Only €5.50 which included an audio guide, which provided a lot of interesting information. There were some displays in every room but the audio guide definitely helped. It wasn't the biggest museum or the best we've been to but we still found it very interesting and would recommend it to those who had some time to kill in Vienna, especially with the excellent price!

Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    268
    191
    70
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bingen, Washington
1 review
“----”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

An awfull old and inopportune presentation!!! The presenation seem to be stucked in the 1960s. The system of the audioguide and the printed guides is so confusing and you get lost all the time even if the museum is so small.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hildegard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is definitely an "in spot" to visit for those involved in behavioral science. The history as reflected in the pictures and apartment/office mileau bring you back in time (if you already know anything about Freud). I purchased a poster of Freud's couch for a psychiatrist co-worker of mine (the original is not on site so the picture is a very eye-opening comparison with today's therapy setings) and had it framed. It was not recognized by anyone I showed it to except the recipient who just loved it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pavlonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The Freud museum is out of the path of the big museum area of Vienna. The museum is authentic and includes items from Freud's original artifacts, his history and works. The audiogiise helps a lot to understand for someone ignorant as me who didn't know all the details of his life.

The museum is not long to visit but requires going a bit out of the main touristic areas.

Of note is a good restaurant just down the street called rebhuhn.

Helpful?
2 Thank summoner82
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a great museum: well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

As a former psychology major in college it was a thrill to visit Freud's office, see his desk, chair, hat, briefcase, waiting room as well as see lots of pictures and his original books that he wrote. It was a little hard to get to but we asked people on the street and they helped us find it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank acfan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sigmund Freud Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sigmund Freud Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing