We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexceptional, but not annoying” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #75 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kirchberg, Austria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unexceptional, but not annoying”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Even though the hotel is said to be refurbished shortly and people recommend, rather checking in at the Hilton next door, i was quite happy with my business stay. The bathroom was cosy as was the room with lovely bedding. all amenities one would expect are on offer. It is a 10minute brisk walk to the center of town, which is convenient.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Andrea R,
I was very delighted to read that you were able to relax and the enjoy the room although you were on a business trip. It is correct that we will be undergoing some construction in 2016, but I am quite sure that you will be feeling much more comfortable then and am looking forward to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    679
    227
    63
    35
See reviews for
256
707
89
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed 4 days on the club level which was nice to have breakfast, food and all day beverages. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We were upgraded to a very large room from AMEX CENTURION which had a wonderful view of Vienna. The food at the resturant was very good, I particulary enjoyed the 'Marchfeldspagel' seasonal white asparagus which was very delicious. Location was across the street to Stadpark Metro which was convenient. We had a very enjoyable stay at this elegant hotel.

Room Tip: recommend club level. It was nice to have access to the club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lulufalana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear lulufalana,
your feedback is very much appreciated. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your 4 days stay with us. The rooms on the Club level and especially the Club Lounge itself indeed do offer a beautiful view over Vienna. I have forwarded your wonderful compliments in regards to the 'Marchfeldspargel' to our Chef.
We are looking forward to your next visit.
With kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel, with all the amenities and services you'd expect from an intercontinental anywhere in the world. Our room overlooked the park, and the hotel is a short walk to many attractions, and right across the road from one of the metro stations. The breakfast buffet was great, as I've found in Intercontinental hotels around the world, they've got it down to a fine art and it'll set you up until dinner. The building could do with a bit of a refresh, but other than that was a good place to stay if you want a large 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear AEF_9,
thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. I am happy that you enjoyed our services, especially the breakfast buffet. The hotel itself will undergo a complete refurbishment in 2016, but I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in a not too distant future.
Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
707 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed her three days on the club level. There were some issues checking in due in part to some staff not understanding what an upgrade is. The food is good. The exercise and spa facilities are very good. The service was responsive. The location is a bit out of the way, but for that the parking is less.
The real problem is the slow internet. I had a video conference at 2AM, so no staff to ask, and the connection was abysmal. This when you can get high speed internet for free at cafes in Vienna.
If you come here on business be sure to plan around this one drawback.
I found the staff to be quite helpful, especially the general manager.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on the club floors with adjoining room. this is large enough to have a meeting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear applejuice12,
thank you very much for your valued feedback. I sincerely apologize for the lack of providing an appropriate Internet system, especially when needed for an important video conference. I can certainly understand your frustration, but am happy that you had the chance to meet our General Manager to get everything sorted.
We hope to welcome you again at the InterContinental Vienna.
With kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I would like to recommend the Intercontinental Hotel in Vienna as a great place to stay. My husband and I went to Vienna in December of 2013 for the Christmas season. The Intercontinental was so well located that we could walk to almost everything within 20 to 30 minutes. We also could reach the hotel from the rail station so we never had to hire a taxi. The hotel and the rooms were lovely. I especially appreciated the staff for going the extra mile for me.
The day that I left my watch fell off my arm in my room. Since my mother had purchased the watch it had great sentimental value for me. When I e-mailed the hotel, they said that they had found it and they would send it to the United States. I offered to pay for the postage but they sent the watch back without demanding any payment. The staff was wonderful to us. If you travel to Vienna, please consider the Intercontinental. You won’t regret your choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishTeacher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear SpanishTeacher2014,
thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Vienna has a wonderful touch during the festive season of Christmas. I was delighted to read that the watch arrived home safely and we were able to help. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna.
Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Intercontinental proved to be an excellent choice in every way.
It’s well located on the Ringstrasse, across from the Stadtpark Metro Station.
Just a short walk to many sites of interest to tourists.
The exterior is modern and unattractive, but inside, the Public spaces are elegant.
Check-in was swift and friendly. Note: They charge for WiFi, but if you join their
Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG) Rewards Club, you can get free WiFi in your room. . Joining is free, they’ve got signup sheets at the reception desk,

We have great things to say about the expertise and charm of the people at the Concierge Desk. They were very helpful. And the breakfast buffet was extraordinary. The breakfast room gets quite crowded at times, especially when tour groups are passing through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel that faces Stadtpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear justasteve,
thank you very much for your wonderful words. The hotel is indeed located very conveniently, so that all sights are reachable very easily. I have certainly forwarded your words of praise to our Concierge Team as well as your concern in regards to the breakfast area. We hope that you will have the possibility to return to Vienna soon.
With kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel, rooms and cleanliness and food are excellent. The service of the staff are probably the worst of any hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Having spent a lot of money in intercontinental hotels, the staff cannot be bothered, unhelpful and cannot speak the truth. Arriving after lunch, I was informed my room was being prepared, and to wait in the club lounge. No information on how to get there. After sometime and further inquiries, I was informed that in fact the people in my room, had late check out and the room would not be available, till around 1730. The porters were non existent and generally the club staff had little or no interest, except in obvious regular customers.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear btonboz,

thank you for sharing your experience with us. Although you find the Hotel, rooms, cleanliness and food excellent, I can certainly understand your disappointment that we were not able to provide an appropriate level of service at all times. Therefor I would like to forward my sincere apologies.

I am fully aware that the time cannot be turned back, but I hope that you will be able to visit our property again to show you that we have improved our service level.

Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#84 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#42 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing