We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #75 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very pleased with my stay at the Intercontinental. Excellent and gracious service. Fine, attractive and clean accommodations. Excellent breakfast -- exceeds most other European hotels. Great location on the Ring. Across from the City Park. My rate was an excellent value compared to other hotels in Vienna and other large European cities. Save an hour for a tram tour around the Ring Road -- just 2.20E -- and appreciate this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear ChicagoTraveler08,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna. I have shared your wonderful comments with my colleagues.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Vienna.
Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The InterContinental has an impressive lobby and a great location. Stephansplatz is a 15-20 minute walk away as is the Vienna State Opera. If you don't want to walk, the train station is just across the street (stop: Stadtpark). The train station also makes it easy to visit Schonbrunn, the Belvedere Palace, or the Hauptbanhof.

Our room was comfortable and perfectly adequate in size but we did wish we had slightly firmer pillows.

What we loved most about the hotel however, was the buffet breakfast. Obviously, if all you need in the morning is a coffee and roll, paying for a buffet won't be worth it. But if you like to fill up in the morning before a long day of walking and sightseeing their buffet will not disappoint. There is definitely something for everyone! Along with the omelet bar, sausages, bread, rolls, and coffee, there was also a good variety of fresh fruit, gourmet cheeses, smoked salmon, cold cuts, and even rice and soup. It pretty much set the bar for all of the other hotel breakfasts we were to experience on our trip!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank crimsonclover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear crimsonclover9,

thank you very much for your valued feedback. The Hotel is indeed located very centrally, which makes it easy to explore the beautiful city.
Besides of the comfort of the room a good nights rest is very important as well. We do offer a "pillow menu" with various kinds of pillows. Please do not hesitate to ask for it the next time you are in Vienna.
We are very proud of our buffet breakfast, as it does not only attract our hotel guests but as well the Viennese itself.

I hope that you will have the opportunity to visit Vienna again.

Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our first room on the second floor facing to a roof was disappointing a bit, but we did not care too much at first, because we were staying there only for three nights, and wanted to spend our time outside the hotel. I realized just before I went to bed, that the window was locked, and it was not possible to open at all. For a person like me, who hates to use the air-conditioning was a kind of tragedy, I had to spend the whole night without fresh air in a massive concrete building, and I can say I was sweating all night and could not sleep well. In the morning I went straight to the reception, and when I mentioned the issue, the receptionist told me that they can open the window, and I just had to sign a form for that. Bit later a housekeeper knocked on the door, and tried to open the window, but apparently she could not find the keyhole, and promised us to come back. After thirty minutes waiting I went down to the reception again to ask what is going to happen know, the same receptionist contacted the housekeeping and it turned out that it is not possible to open the window at all in that room. The receptionist, who was a trainee talked with one of her colleagues and explained the situation in German - actulally it was not really professional to speak German in front a guest, who was speaking English, but she was just on training, so I could accept it - and the other receptionist quickly arranged a room on the 10th floor facing the City Park. The second room was extremely nice, bright, with a brilliant view to the park, and it was possible to open the window, I was the most thankful.

The hotel is well located, we bought travel passes and used the tube and the trams for a few times, but touristic area is in walking distance, and we love to walk and enjoy the architecture of the downtown.

We tried the restaurant of the hotel, it was rather empty, and the food was nothing special, but the bar is amongst the best for sure. Crystal chandelier, piano music, bartenders in white jackets, and the greatest long island ice tea of my life. A big thank you for that!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cobachka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaraPrijapratama, Quality Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Cobachka,
thank you for your detailed comments. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the window in the first room and the room change. However I was happy to read that you enjoyed the service in the bar and the "best Long Island Ice Tea". The Intermezzo Bar is indeed very famous amongst the local's as well.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Vienna.

Kind regards
Clara Prijapratama
Quality Manager/PA to the General Manager
Hotel InterContinental Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Wish I could say that this Intercontinental is better than average but I really can't.
Got a "Classic" corner room which was good in size and at a first glance looked fine. However, when scrutinizing things the room actually looked quite worn. Stained wall paper, so and so in terms of cleanliness (some places were really dusty), stained carpeting and furniture.
That does not live up to the Intercontinental usual standards I would say. To be honest the public areas felt a bit tired as well so maybe it's time for an overhaul.
Bed was really good though, big and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was very good as such but in terms of price it's ridiculously overpriced. 33 euro for breakfast! That's totally unacceptable really, I had 2-3 course dinners for less in central Vienna so charging that much for breakfast is just.. wrong!
Staff was always polite and friendly throughout the hotel.
Location of the hotel is really good, pretty much everything is within walking distance which was nice. Would I stay again at this hotel? Not to sure to be honest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear j_a70,

thank you very much for staying with us and of course thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding the cleanliness/ condition of your room. Of course this shouldn't happened and is not our standard

I did note your comment about our friendly staff and that you liked our breakfast buffet - thank you!
The location of the hotel is definitely an advantage and all important sights can be reached within a short time.
I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon

Best regards

Anthony Delaby
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Service level from front desk, Bell staffs to housekeeping were exceptionally good, great location and within walking distance from all major tourist sites.

Hotel is in pristine condition, from hallway, elevator to guest rooms. More importantly you can notice the high level of care and maintenance.

Room Tip: Walk everywhere when possible. try the Restaurant on lobby level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Pros: Location Next To Stadtpark, Bed Linens
Cons: Older Building, Smaller Rooms

This was a return stay for me at the Intercontinental Wien. The location adjacent to the Stadtpark is quite nice, as you can easily go for a walk in the park - a feeling quite similar to New York and other cities with a central park.

While the room was somewhat small, there was still ample space and the view of the park was worthwhile - a great sight when waking up in the morning. There was an iron and ironing board in the room, also a nice touch when travelling for business - at many hotels you have to request one to borrow. There was also a coffeemaker, safe, and mini-bar refrigerator.

The bed might be the highlight here - definitely nicer than many I have slept on in Europe, with a multitude of pillows and heavy blankets, and a very comfortable mattress.

The bathroom was small but adequate. Bath amenities were Agraria with a nice lemon herbal scent that was quite pleasant in the morning.

Breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of items - typical European fare such as meats, cheeses, yogurts, muesli, etc. as well as cooked items like omelettes and pancakes.

Overall, despite the external building appearance, it's a great place to stay, and will likely be my choice again when I am next in Vienna.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Overal a great hotel. Rooms, breakfast, staff. The location is definitely a cherry on top. Metro station is just right across the street "Stadpark" and the airport express line is only 10-15 mins walk away. Con: no swimming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocomelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#71 of 358 in Vienna
3,020 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,387 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Vienna
#104 of 358 in Vienna
3,329 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#60 of 358 in Vienna
1,881 reviews
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#54 of 358 in Vienna
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
#56 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $137 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing