We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, hotel is trying very hard.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #71 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good location, hotel is trying very hard.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Vienna InterContinental for 3 days. the best part about the hotel is location...it is across the street from an Underground (subway) station (which happens to be on the line to the Schonbrun Palace--no transfers needed), a pleasant park is across the street, the Vienna Concert Hall is just behind the hotel, and it is 4 blocks walking from the city center, ~ 15 minutes walking from St. Stephen's.

The staff tried to please--front desk, concierge, bell stand...

some misses that prevented a 5 star review--
one night, only 1 bath towel instead of 2 was provided (when called, towel was brought right away), asking the concierge for concert recommendations one day led to searching the internet... something I could have done.

the public spaces were very fine, the room furnishings more than comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John33290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    719
    234
    68
    35
See reviews for
269
752
96
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the glorious hotel. It's located across the street from a huge park containing, small eateries, a pedestrian and bike bath and absolutely wonder gardens.
On our first night we weren't happy with the restaurant service and mentioned it to the mgr. He provided us with complementery drinks and dessert. On our last night he provided a full course dinner which he served himself. How nice was that.
Back to the hotel, rooms were exquisite and the lobby included 2 bars and a restaurant. Music made this particularly grand space even more enjoyable. We highly recommend this posh place to lay your head. cavanbrady, De., USA

Room Tip: Try to find a room facing the Park! By the way I ran and or walked each AM and stopped at the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavanbrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nj
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This gem of a hotel is located within an easy walk of most of the attractions you'd want to visit.

The head concierge, Christian, is superb at recommending what to see and do. He also have most excellent recommendations of restaurants. He certainly goes the "extra mile" to see that his guests are taken care of.

The full breakfast is far more than enough to satisfy even the fussiest of eaters. The selection is huge, displayed attractively, and food is refreshed often.

It's unfortunate that the charge for an internet connection is quite high and there is no public area in the hotel where access if free. Nevertheless I still rate the hotel five stars because of the service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJWorldTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovinj, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, beginning of November, on occasion of our wedding anniversary. All staff was very friendly and efficient,starting from kind porters and front desk to highly professional concierge Andreas Schofbenker who made our stay memorable not only for his helpful tips about sights to be seen and restaurants reservations,but also by arranging special surprise, that we received in our room: complimentary Saher tart,flowers and champagne ,together with hand-written letter of congratulation by front desk manager Sandra Hosl, whom we also thank very much.Hotel itself is perfectly maintained,clean, elegant,very good breakfast and bar with really nice atmosphere.We shall certainly be back in the future.Best regards!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUNIA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I visited Vienna just end of October 2013, I went with my parents' friends. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. This hotel is located in very nice location, just opposite with The Stadt Park. The breakfast is very good. There are various kinds of food. The room is private and adequate with amenities. The staffs are well-trained, polite, and ready to help and service. I'm firstly impressed the decoration of lobby and fast services of staffs. During my stay, I visited the Schonbrunn Palace and lost my mobile phone. I went to the concierge of the hotel for help because I would leave tomorrow. I met Mr. Thomas Crampton. He helped me to contact with The Schonbrunn Palace and finally I got my phone back after I came back home. Thank you so much for your help. If I go to Vienna again, I won't hesistate to stay at Intercontinental Hotel. Hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siriwanrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights and it was amazing. We fell in love with vienna and with this hotel. The service was great, the staff was very friendly and the food excellent! It very close to downtown and you get every where very easily with the metro called rhe U-Bahn. Hope to visit there soon again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel boasts a wonderful location and an outstanding staff. The rooms are very nice, with great amenities. If you can get a rate where wifi and breakfast are included, so much the better. The restaurants are good, albeit pricey, but it is easy to eat nearby. The fitness center is adequate (although some newer machines and televisions on each machine would be welcome). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor (e.g., a concierge floor perhaps) and away from elevators if you pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3-fl-oz-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#81 of 360 in Vienna
2,879 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#73 of 360 in Vienna
1,755 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#112 of 360 in Vienna
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#35 of 360 in Vienna
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#51 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing