We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #74 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality first”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times due to business trip. The hotel is perfectly located, good connection to public transportation, lots of possibilities for after work events. Hospitality is amazing. I always feel warmly welcome here. Everybody is smiling and very polite. The room is really nice. Very well equipped to support my business trips (flat iron is priceless). Cannot stop choosing this hotel. Seems to be the best in town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    712
    233
    68
    35
See reviews for
265
745
94
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental as part of our Avalon Danube River Cruise from Budapest to Vienna. It is located right across the street from Stadt Park and the Kursalon where Vienna Concerts are held. It is an easy walk to St. Peter’s Church and the Vienna Opera House which also happens to be where the Hop On Hop Off Bus Tours starts. There is also a restaurant pub about a block away (Stadt Park Brau) which was good and reasonable. The hotel public areas are inviting and comfortable with the lobby bar bordering on luxurious. We ate breakfasts at the hotel buffet, which was included in our room rate, and it offered excellent and varied choices. In fact, I would go so far as to say, it was one of the finest breakfast buffets I have experienced, and everything we choose was very good. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed (robe and slippers, etc) and ours had a nice city view. The concierge was most helpful with information, recommendations and directions and there is an excellent business center available to print boarding passes, etc. Unfortunately, Wi Fi was costly.

While evening bar service was absolutely excellent, lunch or having pastry in the lobby during the day was so so slow as it was obviously understaffed. We had to go up to the counter as did other partrons to place food orders as no one seemed to be waiting on the tables. There also seemed to be chaos when a tour bus would arrive with all wanting to check in. You couldn’t move in the lobby due to all the luggage. Nonetheless enjoyed the hotel and our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The building itself seems ugly from outside. A very standard building, which does not suit to Vienna's beauty.
On the other hand, as soon as you go inside, your mind changes.
Very big lobby and bar with beautiful chandeliers.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was big, looking to the backyard. Room was clean with all necessary amenities.The main facade looks to Stadtpark across the street.
Access is very convenient with airport train. Either you walk from one end (train station) to the other (hotel) of the park about 10-15 minutes or take a metro only one station.
Center is 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
The air conditioning did not want to work for heat whatever I did. We had to turn it off to sleep comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I arrived in Vienna in February and immediately fell in Love. The Hotel was so well located and the building is beautiful, my room was not huge but every detail was perfect and the views were just breath taking. It snowed on the first night and when I awoke I looked out on a city of white dotted with colourful domes on surrounding buildings. There was so much to do, so much to experience and all on my doorstep.. the only problem was that I was so comfy in the hotel, with the service and welcome from the staff that I hated to go out the door. Go there if you deserve a treat, have a business meeting or just because you deserve something special in your life.

Room Tip: No idea really, but the staff are very helpfull. Ask them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56RubyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Like most Intercontinental hotels this hotel is in a central location it is clean and well appointed. The Lobby is quite a site to behold and staff are pleasant and keen to assist.The concierge service deserves a special mention. Well done for your knowledge and attitude. This hotel deserves a 5 star rating BUT any hotel that allows young children to run about without check creating noise and disturbance and especially one young boy being able to ride in the lobby on a Skegway beggars belief and I personally mark it down to 1 star. Sorry Mr Manager but you need to get a grip of this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adoks1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Adoks1941,

Thank you for your feedback pertaining to your recent stay with us.

Whilst I was very pleased to read all your positive comments about the staff and the hotel itself, I was certainly very disappointed to learn that your stay was marred by noisy children. We typically do have more children staying in the hotel during the summer, but this should definitely not have any impact on our other guests.

I did hear about this particular incident and was obviously very surprised to learn that someone would actually enter a hotel lobby via a side entrance on a Segway. It is my understanding, that our Duty Manager intervened immediately and that the parents were very apologetic. Nevertheless, this should not happen and I do apologize for the incident.

Given that you did rate all aspects of your stay highly, I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Intercontinental Vienna in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I spent a great vacation in Vienna with my family, and the InterContinental Vienna contributed a lot to the success of this visit. This Hotel has a wonderful location - easy access to every place I wanted to go to. Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. Room was nice and clean. It is undoubtedly one of the best hotels I have stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was very impressive.The grand lobby was beautiful, and the check in staff were friendly and efficient. The room was well appointed, clean and extremely comfortable.
The choices at breakfast were varied and presentation of all food was excellent. Despite the large numbers every morning, the food was regularly replenished by watchful staff.
We were easily able to walk from the centre of the city to the hotel, and it has a lovely park opposite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on at least the third floor with a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhappy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#79 of 360 in Vienna
2,852 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#77 of 360 in Vienna
1,730 reviews
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#26 of 360 in Vienna
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#35 of 360 in Vienna
1,188 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 360 in Vienna
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#52 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing