We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand but small (rooms)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #70 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
LA, CA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Grand but small (rooms)”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. The lobby of the hotel had the feel of European luxury of old and was very comfortable. The location was great; across from the Stadtpark and the underground station and near many restaurants. Karntner Street was about a ten minute walk from the hotel. Service was great, the concierge was very helpful and the breakfast brunch was wonderful. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was comfortable and modern. Due to the time change I was awake most of the night and I did not hear any guest or street noise. The only issue was that the room and bathroom were small. We would stay there again but not for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    720
    234
    68
    35
See reviews for
269
752
96
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had spent five nights in this hotel. The first experience was not so good because the porter seemed to hide away and we had to take our lugguage through several steps. It would be tiresome for us to do so after hours of travel. They had prepared the warm welcome in the room before we checked in as I was the Ambassador Club member. Although the view was fine but I simply did not like the room. The Duty Manager cleverly prepared more than one room for us to choose and we chose the first new room immediately.

When we checked out for the first time, the Assistant manager greeted us with a friendly gesture. Her memory was so good that she recognized me immediately when she came across us in the lift. She asked me whether everything was fine, she made a generous offer to us swiftly after we shared with her our views. Unfortunately, I just could not remember her name and we really owed her a favour.

The service of concerige was very good with helpful attitude. The quality of the buffet breakfast was good with many varieties. Although the location of the hotel was not so near to the centre of attractions, the genuine concern of the senior management towards the guests really made the stay almost perfect.

Room Tip: Room at 9th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pros:
- location: 30 meters froma main underground station
- staff: really friendly and helpful
- common facilities: good restaurant, excellent breakfast and bar area

Cons:
- rooms are really small
- rooms are also quite old, some things not working properly...

Overall it was not a bad experience, but not the usual hi end target of Intercontinental Hotels. At this rate, you find tons of better hotels in Vienna.
Not good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dino o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear dino o,

Thank you for your candid review.

First the positive: I am very pleased that you rated our staff, location and the Food & Beverage experience highly. Our friendly and helpful staff are certainly our biggest asset.

I did of course note, that you felt that your room was small. I am indeed concerned that you found some things not to be working. I hope that we were able to address the issues immediately.

Despite your not so favorable overall score, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the InterContinental Vienna at some point.

Best regads,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip. Check in staff were efficient, room was ok, service in the lounge over lunch was very slow and I found little that distinguishes the hotel overall. During my stay there were several large groups, so sleeping at night was a challenge as they were on holiday and I was on business. I picked up quite a lot of noise from the adjacent room late at night. Also found it difficult to adjust the air conditioner down to make the room cooler. The hotel location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear knowthegoodstuff,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very sorry that you were disturbed by some of the groups in house. These groups were actually cruise ship passengers who had been "stranded" in Vienna due to the severe floodings and the very high water levels on the River Danube.

Thank you for mentioning our Front Desk staff and the excellent location of the hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came to Vienna for my birthday, mainly to see Carmen at the Wiener Staatsoper.
The hotel isn't the prettiest building in Vienna (it is, I guess, the standard Intercontinental model), but on arrival it had a nice ambience and the staff were very friendly.
We had booked a room with a King bed, and were disappointed on checking in to our room to find that it had twin beds pushed together - which moved apart easily.
We mentioned this to reception and they immediately changed us to a room with a King bed.
The Friday of our trip was my birthday, and they first surprised us by sending flowers to the room, and then surprised us even more by putting a birthday card, cake and champagne in our room for when we returned.
The friendliness and thoughtfulness of the whole team at the Intercontinental really made this trip an extra special one and one that we won't forget. The food in the hotel was very good. The Opera was amazing.
We would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel is ideally located 5 min walk from the city centre, staff very friendly and professional. I can truly recommend this hotel, lovely traditional Austria feel. We will be back for sure! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Adding access to the Club Lounge is a great deal and worth paying the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located beside a nice park, the metro station and within 5 minutes walking distance you are in the city center of Vienna. Everything in the hotel is typical for a good business hotel, including the fact that it is not possible to open a window (which I really hate). The staff is friendly - at the latest when they realize that you are a platin member.

The price for the rooms is really ok but everything else (breakfast, room service, etc.) is unbelievable expensive.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor room - the view is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Marlies M,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

For security reasons, the windows in our rooms come with a lock and can only be tilted by our guests. Guests wishing to have the window opened fully, can do so by calling the Front Desk.

For guests wishing to include our wonderful breakfast in their room rate, we do offer vrey competitive "Advance Saver with Breakfast" packages. Perhaps you would like to consider this option for future stays.

Thank you again for staying with us, hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#81 of 360 in Vienna
2,883 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
1,760 reviews
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 360 in Vienna
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#34 of 360 in Vienna
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#51 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing