We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite an Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #73 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pros:
- location: 30 meters froma main underground station
- staff: really friendly and helpful
- common facilities: good restaurant, excellent breakfast and bar area

Cons:
- rooms are really small
- rooms are also quite old, some things not working properly...

Overall it was not a bad experience, but not the usual hi end target of Intercontinental Hotels. At this rate, you find tons of better hotels in Vienna.
Not good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dino o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear dino o,

Thank you for your candid review.

First the positive: I am very pleased that you rated our staff, location and the Food & Beverage experience highly. Our friendly and helpful staff are certainly our biggest asset.

I did of course note, that you felt that your room was small. I am indeed concerned that you found some things not to be working. I hope that we were able to address the issues immediately.

Despite your not so favorable overall score, I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the InterContinental Vienna at some point.

Best regads,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,004 - 1,010 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed here for three nights on a business trip. Check in staff were efficient, room was ok, service in the lounge over lunch was very slow and I found little that distinguishes the hotel overall. During my stay there were several large groups, so sleeping at night was a challenge as they were on holiday and I was on business. I picked up quite a lot of noise from the adjacent room late at night. Also found it difficult to adjust the air conditioner down to make the room cooler. The hotel location is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear knowthegoodstuff,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very sorry that you were disturbed by some of the groups in house. These groups were actually cruise ship passengers who had been "stranded" in Vienna due to the severe floodings and the very high water levels on the River Danube.

Thank you for mentioning our Front Desk staff and the excellent location of the hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came to Vienna for my birthday, mainly to see Carmen at the Wiener Staatsoper.
The hotel isn't the prettiest building in Vienna (it is, I guess, the standard Intercontinental model), but on arrival it had a nice ambience and the staff were very friendly.
We had booked a room with a King bed, and were disappointed on checking in to our room to find that it had twin beds pushed together - which moved apart easily.
We mentioned this to reception and they immediately changed us to a room with a King bed.
The Friday of our trip was my birthday, and they first surprised us by sending flowers to the room, and then surprised us even more by putting a birthday card, cake and champagne in our room for when we returned.
The friendliness and thoughtfulness of the whole team at the Intercontinental really made this trip an extra special one and one that we won't forget. The food in the hotel was very good. The Opera was amazing.
We would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel is ideally located 5 min walk from the city centre, staff very friendly and professional. I can truly recommend this hotel, lovely traditional Austria feel. We will be back for sure! Many thanks.

Room Tip: Adding access to the Club Lounge is a great deal and worth paying the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelaKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is located beside a nice park, the metro station and within 5 minutes walking distance you are in the city center of Vienna. Everything in the hotel is typical for a good business hotel, including the fact that it is not possible to open a window (which I really hate). The staff is friendly - at the latest when they realize that you are a platin member.

The price for the rooms is really ok but everything else (breakfast, room service, etc.) is unbelievable expensive.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor room - the view is really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlies M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Marlies M,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

For security reasons, the windows in our rooms come with a lock and can only be tilted by our guests. Guests wishing to have the window opened fully, can do so by calling the Front Desk.

For guests wishing to include our wonderful breakfast in their room rate, we do offer vrey competitive "Advance Saver with Breakfast" packages. Perhaps you would like to consider this option for future stays.

Thank you again for staying with us, hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have just spent five nights at what must be one of Intercontinental's best hotels in every respect. It is hard for Intercontinental to exceed their usual high standard, but here in Vienna they have definitely done that. In spite of the rather unattractive outside appearance, the interior, both in the public areas, the club lounge and the bedrooms, are really well maintained and comfortable. We stayed in a delightful double aspect junior suite with good views over the city and a large bathroom with a large window; so nice to have daylight in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was extremely clean with plenty of storage for clothes and luggage. The club lounge was excellent, serving soup and salads at lunchtime in addition to the usual breakfast and cocktail drinks and nibbles. There was a different selection of tasty snacks every day, which were replenished as needed. The reception and club lounge staff are both very efficient and welcoming and do a great job; the concierge service is exceptional which certainly ensured we made the most of our stay in Vienna. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The staff of this hotel were brilliant. Extremely helpful, very english friendly as well. Very classy and clean. Met all of my expectations. Other than expensive internet this hotel has everything you need.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimLongValleyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#46 of 359 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#61 of 359 in Vienna
1,913 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#66 of 359 in Vienna
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Hilton Vienna
Hilton Vienna
#109 of 359 in Vienna
3,373 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#58 of 359 in Vienna
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $140 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing