We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Wien
Nearby Hotels
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Austria Classic Hotel Wien(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$214
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$307
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$227
$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$393
$341
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$152
$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Harmonie Vienna(Vienna)
$162
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveler rating
976
780
262
78
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
780
262
78
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeice rinkihg membercity parklobby bardirectly across the streetmetro stationdeluxe rooman upgradebeautiful cityper daybreakfast buffet isthe air conditioningcomfortable hotelcentral locationon footopera house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,055 - 1,060 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

From the outside the Intercontinental Vienna has to be one of the most disappointing buildings in the beautiful city of Vienna. It is huge, but unremarkable, a throwback to the new buidlings which went up in the 1960/70s. However, get inside and the interior is impressive with a a superb Viennese cafe and bar located to the left of reception. Chandeliers and high ceilings give an impression of space and class.
We stayed in a suite with Club lounge access, and if you are staying for a few days, this is a worthwhile investment. Staying on the 10th floor gives you magnificent 360 degree views across the city.
The location is perfect, next to an underground station and being in walking distance of the city centre.
We ate in the Mediterrano Restaurant, which although nearly empty, provided excellent service and food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

At our arrival, we entranced by the luxe lobby. The front desk staff and bellman were very gracious also. Our room was large with a large dressing area/closet adjoining the bathroom area, with a separate room for the commode.

We were at the end of the hallway which was not a problem since the elevators brought us to our room quickly.

The U-Bahn (subway) was directly across the street, which put the hotel in a perfect location for us since we do not rent a car when we go to European cities; using the trains and public transportation systems, which are all wonderful.

We did not have time to plan ahead, yet the Concierge was able to obtain tickets for the Spanish Riding School within a days' notice. (Note: Performances are only on Sturdays and Sundays.)

We loved Vienna and if were are lucky enough to return, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.. The room we had on the 3rd floor had 2 large windows that faced the Stadt Park and a castle where they stage opera dinners for groups and tourists.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Their suite is nice with spacious living room and large bathroom. The Club is very big and offers good snacks. The location is also nice and across from a train station. It is located next to an iceskating ring which only in operation in winter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Vienna is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. It's such a pity that the architects of the Intercontinental, and for that matter the nearby Hilton, didn't appreciate that. Both hotels stand out as ugly in comparison to their surrounds.
The location is excellent, being right above a Ubahn station and only about 6/7 minutes walk from Karntner Strasse and other city centre attractions Once the hotel inside there is a reasonable attempt to emulate the period style of the city with mahogany panelling and huge brass chandeliers.
My room was an executive room on one of the club floors. By modern standards the room was small and the bathroom positively tiny. In November 2012 I stayed in a suite in the Intercontinental Grand Stamford in Hong Kong. The shower alone was as big as the bathroom in Vienna!
The staff were very attentive and courteous. Certainly no complaints there. I did not use the restaurant however I did use the Club lounge which was pleasant enough. The breakfast in the lounge was good and the other daily refreshments ok. The free wines during happy hour were excellent, but that's Austrian taste for you.
I'll stay there again, mainly out of brand loyalty, but I won't get excited about it

Room Tip: Overlooking the park. As I write the Ice Rink on the other side of the building is out of use and being worked on.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear MDG424,

Thank you very much for your contribution and comments.

In a city with such stunning architecture, the 50s look of our hotel certainly does stick out a bit. But as you wrote, our beautiful lobby does make up for it.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed our lovely Club Floor, as well as the attentive and courteous service of our staff.

Thank you for your brand loyalty, we look forward to welcoming you back to the InterContinental Vienna in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the outside this looks like any high rise hotel, but the interior is amazing. The bar and lounge area have lovely tall ceilings and chandeliers, along with very comfy chairs. So you can spend all day and night chatting with friends or listening to the piano player. The hotel is right opposite the underground station, plus you can walk right into the centre of Vienna in just a few minutes. Breakfast is really nice. You can chose from a hot buffet, omelette station and continental meats, cheeses and breads. The rooms were spotless too. I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieYeardye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews