We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT COULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH BETTER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #76 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

A weekend visit to this hotel was greatly looked forward to.
We were warmly greeted and assigned a room on Executive floor which to me was small by international standards.
The view from the Exec Lounge is wonderful and they provided very welcome canapes in the evening together with various drinks.
We choose each morning to have breakfast in the main restaurant where a very extensive array of food was delightfully presented.
Service from the waiters -in particular MOHAMED--was superb.
Sadly a WIRELESS system is still awaited in the hotel which at this time is a major disadvantage to many as only a limited wireless system is available in the lobby.
In the rooms a cable system is only available.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IRELANDSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear IRELANDSMAN,

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

It will be my pleasure to personally thank Mohamed for delivering such outstanding service.

Your comment on the lack of wireless service in the guest rooms was of course noted, I trust that by the time you return we will have rectified this issue.

Wishing you continued safe travels and hope to see you back in Vienna soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,058 - 1,064 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Centrally located, lovely room - great view over the park. Room service was really good (one of best salads I have had in a very long time) - staff friendly. However for the business travel it has one big weakness - Internet access. In short there is no WiFi in the rooms, access to the internet is solely via cable - if you have a nice Mac book Air then that means no internet access at all (they don't have adaptors). What internet access there is - wifi in public areas is patchy and weak - and very expensive at around 20 euros a day. A real shame, I liked this hotel but this was a showstopper for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear alanps,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Vienna.

I can certainly appreciate your comments regarding wifi internet access in our guest rooms, or the lack thereof. We are certainly aware of this shortcoming and are working on implementing a brand new, state-of-the-art system very soon.

In the meantime, we do offer guests who require wi-fi in their room the option of a router, which is of course complimentary.

On a positive note, I did note your favourable comments about all other aspects of the hotel, including the lovely room, great room service and of course, our wonderful location.

We do hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future, by which time we will be able to offer you wireless access throughout the hotel.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a welcome relief from the strains of travel! Gorgeous hotel, wonderful staff, elegant bar, and the best beds ever. Quiet, extremely comfortable room. Excellent location across from the Stadtpark (Municipial Park), yet close to main attractions and museums.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We 've been stayed with InterCon hotel arpund the world, this is one of original InterCon that have not been renovated , but still keep it fresh and nice, Good service as always. Location is great !!! Closed to tube station, Beethoven plats, ice skate ring ..etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. We were treated in a friendly, respectful way at all times. Our room was just perfect. We had the most minor of reservations over our breakfast and our comments were welcomed. Would definately stay again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatricSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and i just came back from our 4 days holidays in Vienna, and we stayed at InterContinental Wien.
From the time of check-in till the time of check-out everything was beyond perfect! The room was really clean, the staff was really polite and helpfull, the location..hummm, incredible just few steps from the major attractions and crossing street from the stadspark subway station that easily connect yout to the rest of the city..The Vienna cafe and Intermezzo bar was brilliant, excelent food, variety of drinks and staff really professional.
Housekeeping twice a day is wonderfull!! always have bad ready to reast!
We've visited almost all the major attractions in Vienna, and our favourite was Schonbrunn Palace & Gardens and Belvedere garden...
The concierge can easily help you with informations needed at anytime, we bought a subway ticket uppon arrival, and the machine gave us the weekly ticket for comming week, and the concierge team helped us with the information of where to go to change it right away!
Everything needed is around the hotel, so don't bother yourself with questions that you already have the answer!
The Shower --> the best water pressure we've ever had in a shower!! Can't forget!!
InterContinental Wien certainly is the place to stay in Vienna either for short or long stay. We are really looking forward for the next visit to Vienna and InterContinental will be our home out of home!!
Keep it up!!!

Room Tip: Choose the room with park view or ice skating ring view, they are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilhermeReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed 4 days in this hotel for business trip.Hotel is very beautiful,the staff is OK, my room was spacious, and bed was very comfortable. High speed internet is 25 euro/24hours, but not good enoygh for Skype. Best of all is location. Across from hotel is Stadt park with it's calming vegetation and fountains, and Ubahn station, and one station far CAT to the aerport.Hotels taxi is with fixed price 45 euros.All sightseeng locations are reachable by Ubahn, and even by foot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neurogoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#72 of 358 in Vienna
3,021 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,389 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Hilton Vienna
Hilton Vienna
#103 of 358 in Vienna
3,331 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#60 of 358 in Vienna
1,884 reviews
Kaisermühlen
Melia Vienna
Melia Vienna
#54 of 358 in Vienna
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
#57 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#64 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $136 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing