We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a great location-wish they had better internet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Wien
Ranked #75 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location-wish they had better internet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel. It is located on a park so it is a bit quieter than other sites, but it is an easy walk into the main part of town. There is also access to an excellent UBahn system right across the street.
The check in and check out were flawless and my room was spacious and quiet. There was a wonderful breakfast which included cooked to order omelets, smoked salmon, and cheeses.
I can't speak for the quality of value of the restaurants, but the concierge directed us to wonderful restaurants in walking distance which were good values.
The one complaint I had related to the internet. In addition to being very expensive (15 Euros per day) it was so slow as to make it useless for all but the shortest Email messages. There was an even more expensive "fast" mode but I did not try it due to its cost (I believe 25 Euros per day). While I would prefer free internet. I do not mind paying something if the cost is reasonable and the service useful for sending documents-this was clearly not the case here. I am surprised that a hotel which prides itself on outstanding service would not be a better job with this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr._Bob_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Dr._Bob_4,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Especially your praise of our wonderful breakfast buffet will please our Chef and F&B team. The InterConti breakfast is actually considered to be amoung best in the city, if not the very!

I did note your comments about the speed of the internet, we are currently working to improve this service.

Wishing you safe onwards travels, hope to see you back in Vienna soon.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    679
    226
    63
    35
See reviews for
255
705
88
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The good: the location-right by stadt ark Metro stop, the breakfast- great choice and the bar-large and comfortable . Hotel and rooms were clean.
The bad: The internet, really inexcusable in this day and age not to have wireless in the room; as a MAC user i needed to get an adapter for my AIR to take the wired cable; then couldn't use my iPAD or phone and had to fork out 25 Euro per day for the pleasure....
When many 2 star hotels are providing wireless internet for free throughout Europe why cant these big hotels do the same. or is it just assumed it will be put on the clients expenses for reimbursement.
Check-in was criminally slow.
Finally bathroom was pretty tiny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CORKROSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear CORKROSS,

Thank you very much for your review, highlighting both the good aspects and the not so good ones.

I can certainly appreciate that wifi service is crucial for today's traveler, especially when using an iPad, which doesn't even allow for a wired service.
We are very much aware of this issue and are working very hard to improve this service. We expect to have a new state-of-the-art system up and running shortly.

I am sorry to read that your check-in was slow, I will certainly pass on your feedback to those concerned.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the InterContinental Vienna in the not too distant future, by which time we will be able to offer you a flawless internet service.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Relatively luxurious hotel, but the building is quite modern and ugly, contrasting with the many beautiful buildings of Vienna. Quite expensive. At that price, it is quite insulting that internet access if not included and very pricy. Great buffet breakfast, although it is not tylically included in the price of the room (20 Euros). We also stayed at another smaller hotel in Vienna (Rothensteiner) which was much cleaper (less than half the price) and that we enjoyed much more (and in which internet access was free...).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis-Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

An overall good and ugly hotel in a good location, but many small details on the wrong side: very expensive Internet, astronomic food prices, tiny bathrooms, tiny rooms, and they woke me up at 7 am claiming that the "system" shows I've checked out... and very expensive Internet access...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mircea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mircea13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.

I was indeed sorry to read that there were several small aspects of your stay that didn't go well. I can certainly appreciate that being woken up at 7 am in the morning because of an error is very frustrating. Please accept my apologies for this.

I would sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the InterContinental VIenna at some point. Perhaps you would like to try our Club Floor rooms and services for your next stay, our guests always rave about the Club Lounge.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO, AE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quiet but very good location. For music lovers there is a concert hall behind the hotel as well as one across the street in the park both have excellent shows. Also the State Opera House is only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and this is a central point for tours, tour buses and the start of the main pedestrian shopping street. St Stephens Cathedral is on this street and not to be missed, they started building this over 900 years ago and extremely ornate. The hotel has a beauty shop for the ladies and a small gift shop but the days we were there the gift shop was only open from 8AM until noon, kind of strange hours I thought. The club was small for the size of the hotel and very limited on the breakfast and snacks. The breakfast on the main floor was your typical breakfast buffet, not great but not bad either. Food service in the hotel as well as in the local cafes is not up to what Westerners are accustomed to, but that seems to be the way it is in this part of the world. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel, there are many local cafes and restaurants close by. The hotel rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable, just what you would expect at an Intercon.
Without saying while you are there you must visit the tourist spots (palaces, castles, churches and all that)
Overall our stay was enjoyable, did loose quite a bit of weight while we were there...all in the wallet, but then you should know Vienna is expensive before you go. Plus you don't go on vacation to save money, so enjoy yourself.
One thing you have to try is the Wasabi peanuts they have in the club and lounge. Liked them so much, we had to find out where they sold them and brought several kilos back with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the ugliest hotel in one of the most beautiful cities in the world and the problem does not end with its appearance but the reality is that the best thing that should happen to it is demolition.
It is better inside but not the least of its problems is that it is a conference and tour hotel with large influxes of people arriving and leaving in overwhelming numbers. On our last day we found ourselves attempting to eat breakfast (prepaid) behind 300 conference delegates and had to go elsewhere.
Its aircon does not work properly and although windows can be opened the noise is usually too great for sleeping. On the plus side staff are helpful and knowledgeable and concierges are great. Location is brilliant but this does not make up for its shortcomings
As other contributors have said its wifi and internet policies are unacceptable.
I have enjoyed staying at many good Intercontinetal hotels over the years and am disappointed to have to give this one such an unfavourable review.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Alastair N,

Thank you very much for your review, your feedback as a Senior Contributor is very valuable to us.

I was certainly disappointed to read that several aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Whilst we do cater to the individual traveller (business and leisure), we do also have group business. There is certainly no excuse that you were not able to enjoy breakfast at the hotel.

I was however pleased to learn that you rated our staff highly and that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent.

Seeing that you travelled all the way from Melbourne, I am not sure when you will be returning to Vienna. I would certainly hope that you would give us another try and that hopefully your next stay would be more pleasant.

Please feel free to contact me directly at any time.

Best regards,

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a business hotel with no Internet in rooms. Very expensive in lobby. No Internet. No internet. No Internet. No Internet.
Double bed is 2 twins pushed together...just the facts.
Great bar.
Good location.
Dinner restaurant is just chow.
Breakfast is 19€ if you pay at checkin, 29€ if impulse. No, thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinner1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thomaslegner, General Manager at InterContinental Wien, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Spinner1123,

As a Top Contributor, we certainly value your feedback.

Thank you for your high marks for the Intermezzo Bar and the location of the hotel.

Our breakfast is considered to be amoung the very best in town and at € 19 (if you pay upfront) it is actually excellent value.

You did comment that we have no Internet in the hotel. This is incorrect as we do offer high-speed Internet throughout the hotel. I believe you may have been referring to wireless, which we currently only offer in the public areas, but not in the guest rooms. We are in the processing of updating our services throughout the hotel.

Thank you once again for your feedback and safe onward travels.

Thomas Legner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hilton Vienna
#111 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#85 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#43 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wien

Property: InterContinental Wien
Address: Johannesgasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Landstraße
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#59 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the centre of Vienna, the deluxe hotel is the ideal starting point from which to explore this fascinating city. International atmosphere and Viennese tradition together with personalized service present the perfect harmony for a pleasant stay.459 guestrooms including 3 club floors and 49 suites boast every comfort of a de deluxe property. A restaurant, bar and café as well as 24-hour fitness centre and room service, garage, hair-dresser and souvenir shop round up the hotel’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wien Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Vienna
Intercontinental Hotel Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing