We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stadtpark - Haven for statues and monuments in Vienna.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stadtpark

Stadtpark
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.52*
and up
Vienna Old Town Evening Walking Tour with Optional Viennese Dinner
Ranked #41 of 564 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This bucolic city park, the highlight of which is a gilded statue of musician Johann Strauss in its center, was established in 1862.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
3,471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,782 helpful votes
“Stadtpark - Haven for statues and monuments in Vienna.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stadtpark is located on the bank of the Wein River, just east of the Ringstrasse. It was designed and opened in 1862 and is Vienna's first public park. It is easy walking distance from the historic city centre and worth checking out to see the many monuments, statues and busts that are within the park.

This is a nice green city park when visited during the warmer months. However, it was much less green and vibrant during our visit during the early month of March. This didn't deter from our enjoying the many statues, monuments, winding walking paths and green space, found at Stadtpark. Highlights for us are a bit predictable - the Monuments to Johann Strauss and Franz Schubert, but there are many others to see and enjoy at this park.

Overall, we quite enjoy Stadtpark. It is not a world class park but it surprisingly nice to visit and it is a place we usually try to include during our trips to Vienna.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    414
    101
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,678 reviews
2,259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,051 helpful votes
“Just ordinary.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This park is obviously overrated.
There's absolutely nothing special about it, other than it being a sort of a green lung in Vienna.
The water flow in the middle of the park is minimal, and looks more of a sewer than a creek or river.
It was actually a bit spooky to stroll in the park around dusk.
Feel free to skip it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental which is across the street. We walked to the park,stayed awhile on the benches to watch people and then walked to the shopping area where there are no cars allowed. It is a huge area for shopping and also historic buildings to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Stadtpark was located right outside my hotel (the Marriott) and thereby too close to pass by without some quick exploration. This quick look turned into a long stroll and a piece of Apfelstrudel in the Kurhaus cafe. The strudel was okay, but he view of the park was lovely, a peaceful oasis in a big city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Abroad
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Walk in the Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our group was staying at the Hilton Hotel very close to the Stadtpark, so on our second day, we decided to walk to the city centre via the park. What a lovely way to go! It's not a fantastic park compared to the grounds of some of the Palaces, but it is quiet and shady on a warm day and better than just walking on city footpaths! We found monuments to Strauss, Schubert and Lehar and that made us happy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank triciamack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadtpark also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Stadtpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing