We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disaster !!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burgtheater

Burgtheater
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.59*
and up
Skip the line: Guided tour Schönbrunn Palace and Vienna Historical City Tour
Ranked #79 of 556 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tolmin, Slovenia
Level Contributor
569 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Disaster !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We wanted to see this magnificent building so we tried to join the guided tour on December 24th. We were waiting in front of the main entrance, but noone opened the door. After some minutes of waiting we realised that there will be no tour that day. I have checked once again on their web page, but there was no warning about cancelling the tour due to the Christmas.

Ok, we tried once again next day and - success !! That's what we thought, because the tour soon turned to a disaster. The lady who guided the tour asked us to sit and then started to talk for about an hour (the whole tour should last only 50 minutes). She was also talking only in german with no english summary. When we warned her that we were there already one hour and we had not seen anyting yet, she just apologised and continued in the same way. Her apology were the only english words I heard from her. After an hour she finally allowed us to see other rooms, stairs etc. The whole tour lasted two hours instead of 50 minutes as it should last. While we had other plans for that day, our plans were ruined.

My summary:
Burgteater (building) - SPLENDID
Guided tour (the lady) - DISASTER

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soccca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,585 reviews
2,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,932 helpful votes
“A nice building, nothing more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a really nice building near Rathausplatz.
It provides some nice photo-ops from the outside.
We did not bother to take a tour inside as we already visited the more impressive opera building, and no English tours were available at the time.
Still, worth a short visit if you are in the Rathausplatz area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
“Tours are not in English!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We asked the staff when they offered English speaking tours. We were told that the English tours were at 3:00. We returned at 3:00 and again asked for the English speaking tour. They assured us it was, took our money and the tour guide only spoke German. Save your money and go to the State Opera Theater.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank soontoberetired8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geisenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must-see in Vienna for theater fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Whenever I am in Vienna, I always make an effort to see a production at the Burgtheater or one of its sister theaters. Everything I have seen there has been OK to good, and ticket prices are extremely reasonable, especially when compared to ticket prices in English-speaking countries. If you join their mailing list, you will also receive an invitation to attend your choice of a couple of shows around your birthday for free.

I have also gone on the tour a few times and have been highly impressed. I don't know why people are expecting any English to be spoken on tours explicitly billed as being in *German,* especially when they are at a famous German-language theater in a country where German is the primary language spoken! I have been on both the German-language tour and the English-language tour (with a visiting friend who does not speak any German... and we were both impressed by the tour). The tour discusses the history of the theater before viewing the Kaiser's private entrance (including a mural by Klimt - there is a separate tour on the artwork in the theater alone that lasts a bit more than an hour) and checking out the theater itself, including the backstage area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yomintyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing building but tour was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an amazingly ornate and beautiful building, one of Vienna's top theatres. We chose to go on tour having been warned it was German speaking only, and auditorium was closed for rehearsals. Big mistake! We did get to see 2 incredible staircases and galleried area, but not even a glimpse inside. The English handout barely covered what you were looking at and the German guide spoke forever without any attempt to explain anything in English (even though she seemed quite capable). Shame - guess we should have heeded the warnings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgtheater also viewed

 

Been to Burgtheater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing