We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired and unfriendly breakfast staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel in general could be lovely and probably was 10 years ago. Now it is badly in need of a refurb.

My room could have been cleaner, bathroom fittings etc had dust and dirt around the edges, basically the room was not being cleaned as thoroughly as it should.

Staff at breakfast were cold and unhelpful and constantly trying to rush people. Coffee was served in flasks and tasted ghastly. The eggs tasted of chlorine.

The location is very good, and the bar staff were really good, so the hotel does have some redeeming factors, but overall it is a bit meh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Sirbalkansobranie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the hotel the night of June 10, 2014 on the way to the airport the next morning. The hotel was surprisingly high quality for the price. The room was updated, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was modern and spacious. There were three outdoor cafes and a restaurant as well as health club. We ate in the associated café Weissgerberstube in the walkway to the hotel and had an outstanding meal. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the Landstrasse Wien Mitte station where you can take S7 to the airport, U3 to the tourist attractions in the center of town, and U4 to the Schombrunn palace. You can also walk to most of the sites. It is a great "find" and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LucilleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear LucilleM,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Our Great Rail Journeys tour stayed here for 3 nights. I had a single room which was a decent size and the hotel was easily walkable from the Ringstrasse and also from its nearest Metro station. The breakfast buffet was good if confusing due to there being more than one dining area. TV channel selection was good. Because of its location above and around a shopping arcade, sleeping with the window open was not an option due to noise from the bar at the end of the passage and from people walking down and over the cobble stones. The rooms were airconditioned however but I find it difficult to sleep with airconditioning on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Branda F,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip advisor community. I am sorry that you were not able to sleep with open windows, altough the hotel is in a private side alley we cannot always avoid these external influences.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This boutique hotel is a hidden gem in Vienna, Austria. It's a little hard to find, but a wonder when you do. Each room is a different layout which makes it a unique stay - some are smaller than others, but comfortable in their own way. Breakfast was included which had a good variety. You will love this little gem of a hotel (when you finally find it).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peakbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Peakbee,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Unlike other Mercure hotels, this one actually has character. It's situated in an older building that clearly wasn't renovated, but the rooms (or at least my room) are a fantastic mixture of modern hotel amenities with period charm. I had a privilege room so there was a fluffy bathrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea provided, as well as a lovely sitting area in the room. My room also had a sitting area, which was perfect for eating breakfast in the morning. The room itself overlooked the cobble stone alleyway on which the hotel is situated. It was a holiday, so I was able to leave my windows open without much noise, but I can't comment on normal days. The room also had 3 or 4 huge windows that completely opened and let in some wonderful fresh air and light.

My major criticism about the room itself was the lack of water pressure in the shower. It had a wonderful bath tub that filled up quickly, but when it came to the shower, there was barely any water trickling out of the shower head.

Although this hotel is not located in the central tourist area, it is close to the train station where one can catch the train to/from the airport, as well as a shopping mall with a grocery store and some other amenities. And it's only about a 10-15 minute walk to city centre. For the price, I would definitely stay here again rather than somewhere more central.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLDEB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear JLDEB82,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. Please let me appologize for the inconveniance caused by the low water pressure.

I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel in a very good location. Our room was a good size and was very clean. Comfortable beds and tea/coffee facilities.

Breakfast was included in the price for us and it was a good spread. There was a hot and cold selection - great cheeses and bread.

Overall I was impressed and would stay in this hotel again.

Thank Ripley2603
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Ripley2603,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Outstanding little boutique hotel in a unique location on a pedestrian side street in the dead center of Vienna. Very easy access for the airport - take the City Airport Train to Landstrasse Mitte and then walk to the hotel. Very convenient to two U-BahnCard stations. We walked to the Musikverein for an evening concert in 29 mins. Outstanding location. Excellent staff and wonderful facility - this is a great place to stay on a tourist visit to Vienna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear BobFV1,

Thank you for sharing your positive impressions with the Trip advisor community. It is always nice to receive positive feedback. At Mercure we work very hard in order to provide outstanding service and it makes us proud that we were able to impress you. I will share your review with the team as it will serve as encouragement for the future.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#38 of 359 in Vienna
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#116 of 359 in Vienna
1,515 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#136 of 359 in Vienna
1,020 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 359 in Vienna
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $68 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing