We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for Hobbits and Dwarfs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #92 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was in the hotel yesterday.
It started great. Girl from reception desk informed me that the hotel is overloaded and I will receive suite. But she didn’t inform me about the surprise in the suite…
I left my luggage and had gone for late dinner with friends. After comeback, I sent some e-mails and to the bathroom. I didn’t notice that baht is under pitched roof (see picture) and I hit my head on the ceiling. The impact was strong, I sat down. Till now I have headache and vertigo. Tomorrow I will go doctor…
The shower and bath are comfortable for persons till 165 cm. I have 190 cm and receptionist should notice that fact before offering me the room.
Moreover bath has been plugged, water didn’t drain off (see pictures).
The rest of the suite was comfortable and well equipped. I always afraid about pillows quality. Yesterday I slept well. Maybe because anesthesia in the bath.
When I check-out I said to the receptionist that would like to make a compliant.
She totally ignored me. No comment from my side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I hope you have recovered from the head injury.

As an International Hotel we welcome all guests, also Hobbits and Dwarfs are welcome, but they are not the only guests who have enjoyed their stay with us in the past.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The purpose of this journey was to see the CBSO perform at the Musikverein, and was booked through, and arranged by, the CBSO in conjunction with Travel for the Arts. This is unlikely, therefore, to be the cheapest way of acquiring a room at this hotel. We were not disappointed in any way, however, and did not feel we'd paid over the odds. We had a Privilege Room, which meant that we could use the minibar for free. More importantly, our room was clean, light and surprisingly large: the latter is demonstrated, and the previous quality helped, by there being three sizable windows. The room included: large double bed; writing desk and chair; settee, armchair and round table. Bathroom was of modest dimensions, with good sized bath/shower, wash basin and mirrors, but perfectly adequate, especially because the toilet was separate. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided, along with a daily bottle of sparkling water - the latter being appreciated, as there was no problem in keeping the room plenty warm enough. Pleasingly, if you tried to help the hotel to save the environment, the chambermaids actually left your towels for reuse!

How another reviewer could describe the breakfast as "OK" beggars belief, because it was spot on in terms of quantity, variety and quality. Because of our schedule and attempts at dieting, my wife and I had no problem in lasting from an early breakfast to late afternoon without eating, such was the fare available at breakfast. The service was friendly, attentive and efficient, so that even if only one person on the table requested it, a large pot of excellent coffee would soon appear or even await you. Check in and checkout was similarly hassle free.

The hotel's location is excellent too: it has its own restaurant, of course, but there are numerous
eateries of various ethnicity, cost and size round about, as well as a nearby market. Public transport, including the subway, is virtually on the doorstep: St Stephen's Cathedral is only 3 underground stops away. To be honest, however, we walked everywhere: to and from the Ringstrasse; the centre; Musikverein; Belvedere Palace, etc.

It should be pretty clear that my wife and I enjoyed this hotel: we want to return to Vienna, and when we do, we'll certainly give serious consideration to staying here again. We suggest you do, too.

Room Tip: Had a Privilege Room on 3rd Floor: very comfortable and quiet. Nothing view over breakfast room, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Anthony S,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed and positive review about your stay. It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest. It is a great pleasure to receive this kind of feedback, please be assured that I will share your comments with the team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Benjamin Kuhn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located, near airport train and city centre. Breakfast is very good. The hotel itself is quite OK but nothing extraordinary. The free guided tour was very good and the guide was unusually committed with a genuine interest in Vienna.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jan-Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Jan-Erik B,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am happy that you took the opportunity to take part in our free city walk.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently stayed 8 nights at this hotel while in Wien to perform at Stephansdom. I felt the hotel was conveniently located, only a couple of blocks from the downtown Wien U and had some wonderful restaurants and amenities close by. The room was very clean and pleasant however for most people from the U.S. who don't travel overseas a lot, you will find it very small. The breakfast offered every morning was exceptional and the staff was very willing to help when they could.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmckay0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Mr. McKay,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank DavidfLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an OK hotel in a very nice location, inside a quiet pedestrian passage on a main commercial street, close to a shopping mall and few minutes walking distance from the subway.

The hotel itself is nothing exceptional, rooms are clean and brekfast is ok... nothing remarkably good or bad about this hotel, but, as most hotels in Vienna: overpriced.

We stayed for 4 nights in a "Privileg" room, which was quite big, but quite tastelessly designed with a minusculous bathroom and a separate WC where the door could not be closed if a person inside... both very clean though...

There were only 4 hangers in the closet and the reception claimed they could not deliver an iron to the room, which for me is a key service in a business hotel. An iron and an ironnig board are standard hotel room equipment in the US and Asia, and they are delivered upon request in most Hotels in Europe. I consider it a pain to have to ask for it when I arrive tired to my room, and have no understading for hotels not offering this service at all, especially 4 star ones.

It seems there is a terrace with a small garden, which might be nice in the summer time.

There are much better hotels in Vienna for a similar price, but the location itlself is pretty nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bogabonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As the Hotel is a listed building we have very strictive fire regulations from the local fire police, the iron is therefore not permitted in the room. We do provide an Ironing service with a member of staff ironing your cloth or you can use the ironing station provided in the public areas.

I am sorry that you did not appreciate the furnishings in the room. They are selected in keeping with the Biedermeier style which reflects the time when this builing was first constructed in 1837.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#105 of 358 in Vienna
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#50 of 358 in Vienna
819 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#137 of 358 in Vienna
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#68 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $93 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing