We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$154
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$95
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$201
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$382
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$141
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$115
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$237
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna(Vienna)(Great Value!)
$72
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveler rating
471
593
172
34
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
593
172
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomcobbled alleywaynice hotelcity airport trainshort walkthird floorside streetnespresso machineearly checkclose to the hotelreception staffdouble bedstephen's cathedralrooms are smallbreakfast was includedpublic transportmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located, near airport train and city centre. Breakfast is very good. The hotel itself is quite OK but nothing extraordinary. The free guided tour was very good and the guide was unusually committed with a genuine interest in Vienna.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jan-Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Jan-Erik B,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am happy that you took the opportunity to take part in our free city walk.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently stayed 8 nights at this hotel while in Wien to perform at Stephansdom. I felt the hotel was conveniently located, only a couple of blocks from the downtown Wien U and had some wonderful restaurants and amenities close by. The room was very clean and pleasant however for most people from the U.S. who don't travel overseas a lot, you will find it very small. The breakfast offered every morning was exceptional and the staff was very willing to help when they could.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmckay0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Mr. McKay,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is an OK hotel in a very nice location, inside a quiet pedestrian passage on a main commercial street, close to a shopping mall and few minutes walking distance from the subway.

The hotel itself is nothing exceptional, rooms are clean and brekfast is ok... nothing remarkably good or bad about this hotel, but, as most hotels in Vienna: overpriced.

We stayed for 4 nights in a "Privileg" room, which was quite big, but quite tastelessly designed with a minusculous bathroom and a separate WC where the door could not be closed if a person inside... both very clean though...

There were only 4 hangers in the closet and the reception claimed they could not deliver an iron to the room, which for me is a key service in a business hotel. An iron and an ironnig board are standard hotel room equipment in the US and Asia, and they are delivered upon request in most Hotels in Europe. I consider it a pain to have to ask for it when I arrive tired to my room, and have no understading for hotels not offering this service at all, especially 4 star ones.

It seems there is a terrace with a small garden, which might be nice in the summer time.

There are much better hotels in Vienna for a similar price, but the location itlself is pretty nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bogabonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Manager at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As the Hotel is a listed building we have very strictive fire regulations from the local fire police, the iron is therefore not permitted in the room. We do provide an Ironing service with a member of staff ironing your cloth or you can use the ironing station provided in the public areas.

I am sorry that you did not appreciate the furnishings in the room. They are selected in keeping with the Biedermeier style which reflects the time when this builing was first constructed in 1837.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews