We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Nearby Hotels
$370
$333
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna(Vienna)
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$261
Hotel Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$228
$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$118
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$141
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveler rating
481
600
173
35
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
481
600
173
35
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roomcobbled alleywaynice hotelcity airport trainshort walkthird floorside streetnespresso machineearly checkclose to the hotelreception staffdouble bedstephen's cathedralrooms are smallbreakfast was includedpublic transportmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Though we'd booked this hotel on an inexpensive package and kind of expected to be given the cheapest room we were pleasantly surprised to have a very comfortable room with every comfort. We were very impressed with the breakfast buffet, which had everything you'd expect and more, even a table for special dietary items and bottles of sekt to make a "Buck's Fizz." The hotel is set well away from any noisy traffic by being on a narrow pedestrian street, but is within comfortable walking distance of many of the attractions the city has to offer. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salehurstkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This Accor hotel was recently taken over from another owner. Thus the experience is very atypical of Accor chain. No purple bedsheets and curtains, no asymmetric furniture, no cheap wood veneer, no pre-fabricated bathrooms. What a pleasant surprise!

Instead, this hotel is a quite charismatic with comfortable, non-standardized rooms. Almost all rooms face an alley and most face each other, so there is no view. However the rooms are quieter than expected; the windows offer great sound-proofing. Beds are good, and the rooms are in good shape with few signs of wear.

Breakfast is quite good for a hotel of this category, yet the breakfast room feels very busy.
The hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the center of town.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty similar
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time to enjoy this unique Hotel and our service.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good but they could serve it a little bit longer. We did not tried the restaurant. wifi was extra fast. One day they forget to change the towels, but the gentleman at the reception arranged it very quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexa1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really surprised at some of the somewhat negative reviews here... this hotel is a real gem in a fantastic city. Great location: less than 15 minutes stroll from the main square and historic zone. They have done a magnificent job in restoring this historic building, located alone a quiet and quaint cobblestone alley off a major street, very close to the Airport train link at Wien Mitte station. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay, particularly breakfast. Although breakfast is very expensive (€22 per guest per morning if not booked as part of a package), it is well worth it. Extensive menu and lots of self-serve options, including copious amounts of sparkling wine! We particularly appreciated the availability of special options for guests on restricted diets. I haven't seen this in other hotels. Beautiful terrace and gardens and we loved the uniqueness of the setting. Staff were wonderful and bedrooms were spotlessly clean and were fully-equipped, including 4 English-language TV networks. We are Accor card holders and this is certainly one of the best Mercure properties we have had the pleasure of staying in. Truly wonderful hotel and very highly recommended for business or pleasure stays in one of Europe's best cities.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to one of the privilege rooms. Rooms overlooking the internal courtyard are quieter than those overlooking the main street or entrance alley.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaxandar1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I came back from the Mercure Grand Hotel 2 weeks ago and we really enjoyed it. I had requested a very quiet room on a high floor and that is exactly what we got, we didn't hear anything or anyone during our entire 3-day stay! Also, it was my birthday and I was pleasantly surprised to receive a nice note from the manager plus a gift...really kind of them.
The hôtel is located in a very charming, historic passageway, the "Sünnenhof", that we never got tired of photographing. The location is also very good, with two U-bahn stations a short walk away. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful. The bier stube at the entrance was also nice, even though we only went there once. I've read a couple other reviews complaining about "dated" furniture, but that is the Biedermeier style, so you either like it or not. We loved it! The only negative was that the key card kept getting demagnetized, but that did not ruin our experience in any way whatsoever. All in all, a very nice hotel which we would definitely return to on a future trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the winter garden, blissfully quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabsJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews