We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected... a real gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really surprised at some of the somewhat negative reviews here... this hotel is a real gem in a fantastic city. Great location: less than 15 minutes stroll from the main square and historic zone. They have done a magnificent job in restoring this historic building, located alone a quiet and quaint cobblestone alley off a major street, very close to the Airport train link at Wien Mitte station. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay, particularly breakfast. Although breakfast is very expensive (€22 per guest per morning if not booked as part of a package), it is well worth it. Extensive menu and lots of self-serve options, including copious amounts of sparkling wine! We particularly appreciated the availability of special options for guests on restricted diets. I haven't seen this in other hotels. Beautiful terrace and gardens and we loved the uniqueness of the setting. Staff were wonderful and bedrooms were spotlessly clean and were fully-equipped, including 4 English-language TV networks. We are Accor card holders and this is certainly one of the best Mercure properties we have had the pleasure of staying in. Truly wonderful hotel and very highly recommended for business or pleasure stays in one of Europe's best cities.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to one of the privilege rooms. Rooms overlooking the internal courtyard are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaxandar1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With all our best wishes and have a great time!

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I came back from the Mercure Grand Hotel 2 weeks ago and we really enjoyed it. I had requested a very quiet room on a high floor and that is exactly what we got, we didn't hear anything or anyone during our entire 3-day stay! Also, it was my birthday and I was pleasantly surprised to receive a nice note from the manager plus a gift...really kind of them.
The hôtel is located in a very charming, historic passageway, the "Sünnenhof", that we never got tired of photographing. The location is also very good, with two U-bahn stations a short walk away. The staff were all extremely kind and helpful. The bier stube at the entrance was also nice, even though we only went there once. I've read a couple other reviews complaining about "dated" furniture, but that is the Biedermeier style, so you either like it or not. We loved it! The only negative was that the key card kept getting demagnetized, but that did not ruin our experience in any way whatsoever. All in all, a very nice hotel which we would definitely return to on a future trip to Vienna.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the winter garden, blissfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabsJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have just returned from a four night stay in this hotel. Very pleased with everything. Excellent location. Room (211) very good. Clean. Breakfast v good choice. Reception staff very helpful. Very happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is not very easy to find - I lost some minutes finding the entrance, and finding the reception too. I also lost some time searching for the garage to park - but it deserved. We were 2 adults and a kid, and we got a really nice apartment, situated on the last floor. It was a penthouse style, although on the "base" floor it was only the entrance. On the upper level, we were surprised to find two big rooms, really nice. The price was surprising low, we got an offer from Accor with 40% off and it was about 70 euro pro night. The staff was very kind, the breakfast was great.It is also located in a central place, I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adymu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Irina C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Firstly, our apologies to TripAdvisor and the Hotel for not submitting our Review until now – we have been having internet connection problems.

This was our first ever visit to Vienna and we went for a week from 7th October 2013. We had selected this Hotel as we had previously stayed at a Mercure Hotel in Constance and the bulk of the TripAdvisor Reviews were favourable. We chose a Privilege Room primarily because of the extra space (which, in our opinion, is necessary when a couple - with appropriate luggage - are staying for as long as seven nights) and we were not disappointed. The picture shown on the Hotel's website is accurate and not exaggerated and we assume that all the Privilege Rooms look out onto an inner courtyard, as ours did – certainly, we were not troubled by any noise. Indeed, we think it must have been the quietest hotel room we have ever experienced (we are not sure but we believe that – unlike most countries – in Austria, the level of sound insulation is taken into account when the star ratings are given to hotels). Even the television set, when switched on, defaulted to minimum volume, preventing us being blasted by unexpected volume of sound. The bed was very comfortable; such judgements are obviously subjective, but we would say that the bed was firm but not, as some Reviewers have said, hard – with hotel beds, 'soft' can quite often mean 'worn out'!

As regards breakfast (included in the Privilege Room tariff), we would say that the selection was as is expected these days. However, in addition to the usual hot selection (scrambled egg, sausages, bacon), you can order fried eggs, omelettes etc. at the hot buffet; the bacon was far better than usual on the continent (we are English and naturally believe that bacon in England is best!), helped by the ingenious but simple solution of putting it out on a couple of slices of bread to prevent it swimming in a pool of grease. For those who can face alcohol at 8 o'clock in the morning (and/or for those like ourselves who feel that champagne is only correct for Vienna!), a couple of bottles of Sekt are available. For elder visitors (also like ourselves!) who feel that a teabag in a mug is not the way to make tea, teapots are available and you only have to ask - not all the waiters/waitresses understand German too well but may we take this opportunity to compliment, and thank, Erika (from Hungary) for her help and friendliness (after a couple of mornings, we didn't even have to request teapots – she brought them as soon as she saw us).

For dinners during our week's stay, our choice of restaurants varied. We had just the one dinner in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to sample different restaurants. We chose a special offer available at the time, a three course dinner for EUR 20-00 which was very good value. The usual A la Carte menu prices are probably about right (we found all prices in general in Vienna to be slightly on the high side), though the service was a bit slow, at least on that evening (we wondered if the delays were in the kitchen, which is also the kitchen for the hotel's Weissgerberstube on the other side of the alleyway). Being a Hotel Restaurant, the atmosphere was perhaps a bit formal and guests might prefer the Weissgerberstube restaurant which is where we also ate (as well as elsewhere in Vienna - see separate Reviews).

In our opinion, the situation of the Hotel is amazingly convenient. It is, at most, a ten minutes walk from Wien Mitte, the underground and S-bahn station which is the terminus of the City Airport Train (buy a return – it is cheaper than buying a single each way). The Hotel is situated between two underground stations, Landstrasse (turn left leaving the Hotel) and Rochusgasse (turn right when leaving the hotel) – the first one has two underground lines, the other is nearer but is only on one line. If you want a supermarket, we found Billa (turn right leaving the Hotel – only a couple of minutes) had a better selection than the other one mentioned by another Reviewer.

We arrived late on a Tuesday evening. Although the weekly season ticket (EUR 15-80) of Wiener Linien runs from Monday to Monday, we bought one each which, we felt, was better value than the 72 hours Visitors Ticket – we still had 5 days' use, equivalent to just over EUR 3-00 per day, on the entire Vienna Zone 1 network (though without the sometimes dubious benefit of restaurant and museum discounts). For just an odd day, and if you don't intend travelling around Vienna after 8pm, don't overlook the Shopping Ticket for EUR 5-70, valid from 8am till 8pm. (The basic single ticket is EUR 2-10)

We apologise for the length of this Review but it is so unusual to find a hotel which we could not really fault (my only disappointment was that there is so much to do in Vienna that I did not have time to drink the daily beer allowance in the minibar which was part of the Privilege Room tariff!). We found that all the staff were always friendly, polite and helpful (our particular thanks and greetings to Mrs Ruth Kubin), the public rooms were beautifully decorated and we cannot recommend it too highly. We do not know if we shall return to Vienna (it is a beautiful city but we both are getting older and our health has caused one or two problems this year) but we certainly hope so and, if so, we shall not hesitate to return to the Grand Hotel Biedemeier.

We cannot give it anything other than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Europhilecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are some quite large rooms for families, more space than I think we have ever had in a hotel. Staff was very nice, breakfast was excellent. Location is very good too, close to a food market, the Landstrasse area, the metro, etc. Also, we ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant -- entrance is in the sort of alleyway -- kind of a beer garden, and it was very good too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#115 of 358 in Vienna
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#46 of 358 in Vienna
776 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#98 of 358 in Vienna
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#57 Family Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $92 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing