We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #101 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Firstly, our apologies to TripAdvisor and the Hotel for not submitting our Review until now – we have been having internet connection problems.

This was our first ever visit to Vienna and we went for a week from 7th October 2013. We had selected this Hotel as we had previously stayed at a Mercure Hotel in Constance and the bulk of the TripAdvisor Reviews were favourable. We chose a Privilege Room primarily because of the extra space (which, in our opinion, is necessary when a couple - with appropriate luggage - are staying for as long as seven nights) and we were not disappointed. The picture shown on the Hotel's website is accurate and not exaggerated and we assume that all the Privilege Rooms look out onto an inner courtyard, as ours did – certainly, we were not troubled by any noise. Indeed, we think it must have been the quietest hotel room we have ever experienced (we are not sure but we believe that – unlike most countries – in Austria, the level of sound insulation is taken into account when the star ratings are given to hotels). Even the television set, when switched on, defaulted to minimum volume, preventing us being blasted by unexpected volume of sound. The bed was very comfortable; such judgements are obviously subjective, but we would say that the bed was firm but not, as some Reviewers have said, hard – with hotel beds, 'soft' can quite often mean 'worn out'!

As regards breakfast (included in the Privilege Room tariff), we would say that the selection was as is expected these days. However, in addition to the usual hot selection (scrambled egg, sausages, bacon), you can order fried eggs, omelettes etc. at the hot buffet; the bacon was far better than usual on the continent (we are English and naturally believe that bacon in England is best!), helped by the ingenious but simple solution of putting it out on a couple of slices of bread to prevent it swimming in a pool of grease. For those who can face alcohol at 8 o'clock in the morning (and/or for those like ourselves who feel that champagne is only correct for Vienna!), a couple of bottles of Sekt are available. For elder visitors (also like ourselves!) who feel that a teabag in a mug is not the way to make tea, teapots are available and you only have to ask - not all the waiters/waitresses understand German too well but may we take this opportunity to compliment, and thank, Erika (from Hungary) for her help and friendliness (after a couple of mornings, we didn't even have to request teapots – she brought them as soon as she saw us).

For dinners during our week's stay, our choice of restaurants varied. We had just the one dinner in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to sample different restaurants. We chose a special offer available at the time, a three course dinner for EUR 20-00 which was very good value. The usual A la Carte menu prices are probably about right (we found all prices in general in Vienna to be slightly on the high side), though the service was a bit slow, at least on that evening (we wondered if the delays were in the kitchen, which is also the kitchen for the hotel's Weissgerberstube on the other side of the alleyway). Being a Hotel Restaurant, the atmosphere was perhaps a bit formal and guests might prefer the Weissgerberstube restaurant which is where we also ate (as well as elsewhere in Vienna - see separate Reviews).

In our opinion, the situation of the Hotel is amazingly convenient. It is, at most, a ten minutes walk from Wien Mitte, the underground and S-bahn station which is the terminus of the City Airport Train (buy a return – it is cheaper than buying a single each way). The Hotel is situated between two underground stations, Landstrasse (turn left leaving the Hotel) and Rochusgasse (turn right when leaving the hotel) – the first one has two underground lines, the other is nearer but is only on one line. If you want a supermarket, we found Billa (turn right leaving the Hotel – only a couple of minutes) had a better selection than the other one mentioned by another Reviewer.

We arrived late on a Tuesday evening. Although the weekly season ticket (EUR 15-80) of Wiener Linien runs from Monday to Monday, we bought one each which, we felt, was better value than the 72 hours Visitors Ticket – we still had 5 days' use, equivalent to just over EUR 3-00 per day, on the entire Vienna Zone 1 network (though without the sometimes dubious benefit of restaurant and museum discounts). For just an odd day, and if you don't intend travelling around Vienna after 8pm, don't overlook the Shopping Ticket for EUR 5-70, valid from 8am till 8pm. (The basic single ticket is EUR 2-10)

We apologise for the length of this Review but it is so unusual to find a hotel which we could not really fault (my only disappointment was that there is so much to do in Vienna that I did not have time to drink the daily beer allowance in the minibar which was part of the Privilege Room tariff!). We found that all the staff were always friendly, polite and helpful (our particular thanks and greetings to Mrs Ruth Kubin), the public rooms were beautifully decorated and we cannot recommend it too highly. We do not know if we shall return to Vienna (it is a beautiful city but we both are getting older and our health has caused one or two problems this year) but we certainly hope so and, if so, we shall not hesitate to return to the Grand Hotel Biedemeier.

We cannot give it anything other than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Europhilecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

There are some quite large rooms for families, more space than I think we have ever had in a hotel. Staff was very nice, breakfast was excellent. Location is very good too, close to a food market, the Landstrasse area, the metro, etc. Also, we ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant -- entrance is in the sort of alleyway -- kind of a beer garden, and it was very good too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first time in Vienna and we were really pleased with the hotel. It was chosen for us as a pre-excursion prior to a Danube cruise, so I hadn't researched hotels in Vienna, We were very pleased with their choice. We could walk to the cathedral in 15 minutes. It was too far for our companion, and she didn't fancy the metro, but the hotel reception were happy to arrange a taxi and the journey to the Opera (for the open top bus) was roughly 40 euros. We had breakfast included and it was fine. We ate our evening meals in the pub on the opposite side of the alleyway, which was connected to the hotel. Food was good. We would definitely consider staying here again if ever in Vienna.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie3974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Close to Wien Mitte station and hence to the high speed train to the airport and to the U and S-bahn systems. Friendly service, clean, third floor room quite small for 2 of us, but not expensive. WiFi only works in the reception area. Wired internet in the rooms. Breakfast was not included, but cost 17 Euros each. There are plenty of coffee shops for a great breakfast within a few minutes' walk. The Mercure owned "kneipe" at the end of the passageway is friendly and offers better value than the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flitterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

I am delighted to inform you that Wi-Fi will soon be available throughout the Hotel free of charge. Also, we offer may special bed and breakfast deals on our website which bring down the cost below € 17,00 per person.


Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is situated not far away from Wien Mitte (5 minutes). We had booked a room but the beds there were twins (one big bed) when we entered. We wished separate beds. The reception man listened to our explanation and he changed the room although the hotel was nearly fullbooked. We were really delighted of this new room with its biederamaier style and its quiet location – on the top of this hotel.

The breakfast was fantastic. This is a must if you rent a room. Here we found everything where includes sparkling wine. The start of the day made us happy.

Room Tip: Choose a priviledge room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servtoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good location very close to U-bahn. Internet connection was free, with cable in the room.

I would not stay here again though. The hotel is old. I specifically don't like those dirty carpets on the floor. They are full of dirt and bacteria. Breakfast is not so nice either. Limited choice.

Minibar not restocked during the stay. I got a room with two tiny single beds which I didn't like at all.

My room was on the first floor, street side, and quite noisy since people are sitting on the terrace in the street and make a lot of noise.

It's too expensive for what is being offered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Wien Grand Hotel Biedermeier. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

How fortunate that our Globus tour booked us into this lovely hotel. It is located on a beautiful street (they say arcade). Cobblestones, beautiful flowers, within walking distance to so many sites. We chose to have diinner at the hotel restaurant and it was a good choice (some of us had salmon, goulash, and pork as entree, dessert? Vienna, dessert? Strudel of course!!! One of best (no, the best) breakfast buffets on our 16 day Alpine Tour - wow, to include sparkling wine (can't call it champagne, of course). Recommend? Resounding yes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheretonex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Front Office at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Benjamin Kuhn
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#42 of 359 in Vienna
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#116 of 359 in Vienna
1,516 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 359 in Vienna
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
#75 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $95 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing