We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrived at Vienna’s Westbahnhof from Salzburg, and after a quick U-Bahn trip and a short walk, found ourselves on the charming cobblestone side street entrance to Hotel Biedermeier. Our reception was warm and efficient. Our room on the third floor overlooked the side street and therefore the occasional noise from people sitting out in the evening with a drink, or arriving with luggage bumping along the cobblestones was not unexpected, but we also chose to keep our windows open. We were only marginally disappointed with the cleaning service (empty box of facial tissue not replaced, and regular coffee replaced with decaffeinated coffee) certainly did not spoil the stay. The prime attractions within the Innere Stadt were easily accessible by foot from the hotel and its location near the Landstraße and CAT service to the airport was a big bonus considering our flight home was at 7 am. My husband and I agree that the added bonus of staying at the Biedermeier was the free two-hour walking tour that started at its sister hotel Wien Mercure Zentrum Hotel. The tour guide was friendly and very knowledgeable, and fluent in German and English, and maybe more. The tour highlighted many areas that we would have otherwise missed, and provided a great insight into life in Vienna, past and present. We were very glad we took part in the tour.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elb_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

Your feedback is extremely important, as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide a memorable experience for our guests.
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the free city tour and thank you for complimenting our friendly staff as well.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

hotel biederer,we liked it!spent a few days here,on arrival,we felt it was on the wrong side of town,away from the museums etc,but soon got used to this restful hotel.the staff were very helpful and got you taxi,s etc and umbrellas when needed.bedrooms pleasantly comfy,would have prefared a bath but the shower was fine.
the hotel meanders along a long laneway,seems to occupy most (all?) of this area.breakfast fine,better then some other4 star hotels,eating " a la carte" one night,food good though we
were surprised that they did not have "white asapargus on menu,its in season inaustria.!
would we stay again?yes!though be prepared to pay up for taxis!

Room Tip: go high!most of rooms face towards the lane,there is a nice courtyard at the back to eat/drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice review, we appreciate you taking the time and giving us some input on your recent stay at our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

We strive to provide our guests with unforgettable experiences and it seems that you were able to take full advantages of our facilities and amenities and enjoyed them.
Again, we are delighted to know you had a great time and we look forward to your return.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was lucky and catched the hot deal in this hotel. Location is good - near u-bahn station Landstrasse/Wien Mitte (direct trains to the airport and also direct line from Westbahnhof). Walking distance to the Hundertwasser haus and Kunsthaus Wien. Also short walk to the Stefans Dom and old city area. Lots of places to eat near the hotel. Overpriced breakfast - 17 euro per person! Room: clean, nice furniture, comfortable bed, small fridge and coffee/tea kettle. Overall, good for citytrip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay in our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

It was particularly pleasing to see that your impression of our location and service was good and that you felt well taken care of during your stay. Feedback is always important, as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon again and wish you a warm spring.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Biedermeier is located in a charming historical building, on both sides of a narrow cobblestone alley. Although not really in the center of town its proximity to the Wien Mitte station (with direct access to the CAT for a less than 20 minutes airport shuttle) make it a perfect place to explore the city and its surroundings.

Rooms are traditionally decorated (green wallpaper, paintings, retro-furniture), clean and comfortable (especially the beds, which come with great pillows!). The bathroom is basic, but has all you need. TV is mostly in German, but the international news channels are well represented. Wireless is free.

There's a great variety at the breakfast buffet, and everywhere service with a smile. Staff at the reception is very helpful, and can help you booking opera tickets.
Unless you really want to be downtown Vienna, this place (reasonably priced as it is, true value for money) is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that we were able to fulfill nearly all of your expectations and thank you very much for mentioning our friendly Reception staff.

If you ever have the possiblitly to return to Vienna, we would look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it as a safe and quiet place. I walked everyday to various points in Vienna -- without problems.

The room was comfortable and the lighting was good at the little desk workspace. The bathroom was well-appointed. Their breakfast buffet had a nice selection of foods and I appreciated the service of the wait staff.

I had no problems with internet access at this location, so I was able to do my work in my room rather efficiently. When in Vienna again, I will stay at this location of the other Hotel Mercure at Josefhof which is also nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cote_style
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear guest,

What a pleasure to read your comment.

Thank you very much for staying at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien and for your positive remarks.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated your stay.
To satisfy our guests with a personal and decent service is our daily goal.
Therefore it was my pleasure to forward your positive review to our team members.

We truly hope to welcome you back at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier soon.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

V stayed thr for 5 nights as my hubby was in vienna for a conference. Though it wasnt close to the convention center it was very convenient for me n my 3yrs old daughtr to roam around. Train station on a walkin distance around 10 to 15 mins walk. Good comfortable safe area around to spend time as well as one halal food eatout very close to the hotel. Vienna is a very friendly n safe city good weather in these days n plus a good hotel made it an enjoyable stay. The room v took was a suite a large one very spacious n all but reachin thr was a tough job. Lift is till 3rd floor n thn v had to walk lots of corridors n stairs to reach our destinaton which was tiring but eventually worth it. Wish it was nt that long way! Room service was fine sumtimes quick sumtimes needed things recv aftr many reminders. Staff was overall helpful. Anothr point whch was improtant was that no brkfast buffet included so v did nt avail breakfast or any meal at the hotel. Internet was free but no wireless in rooms which was anothr point of concern. Hope this gets solved soon. Overall a good experience. Mercure is always a good credible name!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier with the Tripadvisor community. Feedback as yours is always important to us.

I am more than happy to hear that you felt comfortable in our Hotel and that you could enjoy the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff. I am sorry to hear that you had trouble with our internet connection and want to apologize for any inconvenience. Anyway I am very happy to tell you and the whole tripadvisor community, that we are working very hard to find a solution for this problem and we are confident to solve this issue in the near future.

If you come back to Vienna we would love to host you again and provide you an even better service in the future.

Best Regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am happy to recommend this hotel for a visit to Vienna and I also recommend Vienna as a wonderful city.
The building has been cleverly adapted to make the most of old property and is well maintained and clean. Liked the conservatory formed between 2 buildings and the 3 floors of reception area formed over the alley way. This compensates for the building being formed on 2 sides of an alley, not always connecting.
The staff were excellent without exception.
Our room was quite small but not bad for a major city.
Breakfast was very good and very well servised by staff. Particularly liked having omlettes freshly cooked to order. Also ate there for 1 dinner and was so much better than the meal in the pub at the end of the alleyway which ripped us off.
Nice touches such as umbrella in wardrobe. Internet access was free.Lots of good toiletries but large container in shower finished and was not refilled. Also missed creams for coffees 1 morning, requested at reception and was only delivered after we left for the day. These are my only negative comments.
Vienna itself was wonderful but very cold in mid March.
Would recommend visit to oldest restaurant in Vienna on the Fleisch Market and do not miss the signatures on the wall in 1 room - Bethoven, Straus, Pavarotti, Mozart, Johnny Cash, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Mercure Grandhotel Biedermeier. It was a pleasure for us, having you as our guest. We truly appreciate you are taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay.

Your feedback is extremely important, as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide a memorable experience for our guests.
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our perfect location; thank you for complimenting our friendly staff as well.

It makes us very proud that you had a nice stay with us and I hope we will be able to welcome you again another time.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#115 of 358 in Vienna
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#46 of 358 in Vienna
775 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#98 of 358 in Vienna
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#57 Family Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $92 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing