We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badrobot25
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

A fast and hassle free check in set the tone for an enjoyable stay at the Mercure Grand Hotel. The lifts were efficient and throughout our stay they were always quickly available. Our room was probably the largest I have ever had in a European capital city, with a sittting area with a chair, sofa and table plus separate bathroom and toilet areas. The breakfast area is relatively small for the size of the hotel and would not operate effectively without the hard work of the hotel staff who both clear tables quickly and top up the small quantities of food which is displayed at any one time keeping it much fresher than one has come to accept at so many three and four star hotels.
It will be hard to persuade me not to use the Mercure Grand Hotel on any future visits to Vienna.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Guest ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Wien Grandhotel Biedermeier. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A bit old-fashioned (exactly what we hoped for), clean and nice, good location, friendly staff. Landstrasse area has few good restaurants but the U-Bahn is close by and the walk to the centre is not too long.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipsa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your impressions of your stay with us! We are very happy that you had a great time at the Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier and are looking forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to Vienna!

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This charming hotel is well placed for all the attractions that Vienna has to offer, just a 15 minute walk from the City Centre. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.

I stayed in a standard double room and attended a conference which took place within the hotel. The room was small and would have been very small for two people. Ask if you want a bath because my room only had a shower.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay in our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on TripAdvisor.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of services and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Thank you for staying with us, and I hope we may get another chance to welcoming you back to Vienna and to our Hotel.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Mercure Biedermeier welcomes guests into an entrance in the courtyard that links several renovated old houses that comprise the hotel. The lobby is warm, the reception staff fast and efficient, the concierge ever-helpful with suggestions and bookings. Our room was lovely with two single beds, plump duvets and pillows. The bath-room was large and well heated for chilly Fall mornings.
While its address is not in the centre of Vienna, there is a Metro stop - Landstrasser Hauptstrasse - that is a short walk away, and is on a direct line to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The restaurant, though good, tends to focus on Austrian specialties. Guests in search of a change might try the market near the Metro that has stalls featuring many different cuisines. There is a post office in that area too, for those who wish to mail cards home to family and friends. I found an old-fashioned shoe-repair man who reheeled my most comfortable walking boots while I waited. The public areas of the hotel are comfortable and beautifully furnished.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to Reception if you have a early get-away for a train or plane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all I would like to thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It will give me a great pleasure to communicate your very kind and positive remarks to our entire team.
Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality and an outstanding service to every guest on ervery stay.

We all hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon and that your next stay will be just as enjoyable as your last.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel was an excellent value. The little cobblestone street has lots of nice shops with an authentic Austrian restaurant on the corner and a nice variety of places nearby. A nice easy 15 minute walk to City Center. Rooms were very comfortable with high speed internet (although wired connection was on other side of room from desk). Front desk staff were friendly and knowledgeable. I'd recommend the rate that includes breakfast - great omelets made to order each morning and complimentary champagne. Very good rate compared to nearby hotels - excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your great review about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy to see that we could fulfill your expectations. I already shared your comments with our staff and your warm words encourage us to continue in our ambition to provide an extraordinary holiday experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel on one of your next Vienna trips.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for four nights in a Privilege Double Room on a prepaid rate which gave us excellent value for money. There was a complementary bottle of water each day and free Internet access in the room as well as WiFi in the Lobby. Breakfast is extra at 17 Euros p.P., and we preferred to have brekfast in the many Vienna Kaffeehäuser. There is an excellent Bakery and Café just 50 metres across Landstrasser Hauptstrasse called Ölz. The location of the Hotel is not inside the city Ring, but the U-Bahn and particularly the train station Wien Mitte (CAT Airport Train or the cheaper S-Bahn to and from the Airport!) are very close and it is quite a nice 20-minute walk to the Stefansplatz in the very centre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to see that you had a delightful stay with us and that you did enjoy the location of our Hotel in the "Landstrasse" neighborhood as well as the comfort of our Privelege rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stays in Vienna.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#115 of 358 in Vienna
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#46 of 358 in Vienna
776 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#98 of 358 in Vienna
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#57 Family Hotel in Vienna
#66 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $92 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing