We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Ranked #99 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent value for money and good location”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for four nights in a Privilege Double Room on a prepaid rate which gave us excellent value for money. There was a complementary bottle of water each day and free Internet access in the room as well as WiFi in the Lobby. Breakfast is extra at 17 Euros p.P., and we preferred to have brekfast in the many Vienna Kaffeehäuser. There is an excellent Bakery and Café just 50 metres across Landstrasser Hauptstrasse called Ölz. The location of the Hotel is not inside the city Ring, but the U-Bahn and particularly the train station Wien Mitte (CAT Airport Train or the cheaper S-Bahn to and from the Airport!) are very close and it is quite a nice 20-minute walk to the Stefansplatz in the very centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about our Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to see that you had a delightful stay with us and that you did enjoy the location of our Hotel in the "Landstrasse" neighborhood as well as the comfort of our Privelege rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stays in Vienna.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    523
    153
    27
    10
See reviews for
148
484
73
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location near the city center even by foot, and 100 meters from metro. Hotel rooms have a windows to the passage (separated from the street) so it is very quiet. Excellent and professional service. Try to book hotel directly from hotel page because they have some promotions and if you take such promotions you will get a good hotel for good price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazilisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien and for your positive remarks. We are pleased to hear that we could meet your expectations from the beginning to the end of your stay.

Your encouraging words highly motivate us to continue into the same direction and to carry on our daily services with enthusiasm and joy.

We would love to welcome you again in our Hotel on one of your next trips to Vienna.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a short stay for the night at my way home. The hote is located next to CAT in Vienna so it is quite good for a traveller who has a long change in Schwechat. 16 minutes from the Airport by CAT plus up to 10 minutes walk to the hotel. At the same time the hotel is quite close to the center - about 15-20 minutes walk to Opera, the same distance - to Prater...
The hotel has very friendly personnel, good rooms and nice view to the gallery.
So rooms are not very big but quite cosy and clean. Good bath, TV and minibar as well.
I can't tell anything about the breakfast quality as my flight was quite early on the morning and I didn't have a chance to taste it.
Free wired internet in rooms, many TV channels.
It was a pleasure to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the good location of our hotel.

I already shared your comments with our staff and it uses us as a great motivation. Our ambition is to give every guest an extraordinary Hotel experience and we are happy to see that we could accomplish this mission in your case.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rooms are a little bit small. Our shampoo was empty. Location is very near to City center but not in the inner ring. The hotel was elegant. Had a good restaurant. It ıs possible to find everything you want in one or two hundred metres.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsuphitoprak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your latest stay in Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien on tripadvisor.

We are happy to see that you could enjoy our restaurant and that you felt comfortable with the design of the Hotel

Thank you again for staying with us it would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien!

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

(First review ever) I stayed 4 nights and overall I can't say I quite enjoy the stay as much as other commentators. It was over $140 Euro per night so I had rather high expectations in terms of cleanliness and services. The hotel gave me an upgrade to the junior suite – unfortunately it was not well equipped and the maid never cleaned the rest of the suite besides making the bed and folding the towels in the bathroom. The shower gel was never replaced after it ran out. The coffee cups were always left dirty and I had to ask for coffee or tea bag replacement every morning. The ceiling right above the shower was very low – i hit my head every time i tried to stand straight (i am average height). There is wire-services for laptops but NO WIFI in the hotel room – even if you wanted to pay for it – it is just not provided in the room but one can only use it in the lobby. Although it is a non-smoking hotel, the hallway smells terrible and you know someone just smoked there. The hotel advertised it has a well-equipped fitness area, however it only has 3 run down cardio machines, 1 yoga mat and 1 stretch ball. It was rather small so just don't expect too much. The hotel is not within inner stadt. I wouldn't say it is far but if you are only spending a few days in Vienna and would like to go out at night – I would suggest stay within the central area so you can avoid spending 8-10 euros on cab rides since the underground shut down at 1230am during the week. I asked around the room rates around inner stadt and some 5-stars luxury hotels only charge about 10-20 Euros more for a room so do a thorough research before booking!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your remarks about your current stay with us. I'm truly sorry to see that our service did not meet your expectations completely.

We appreciate your comment, as these are constructive criticism that enables us to check ourselves and improve the level of service expected by our guests.
I wish to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us.
Should you wish to discuss this issues with me personally or if you have any other questions do not hesitate to contact me anytime under H5357-GR@accor.com.

If you are planning on returning to Vienna I hope you will give us another opportunity, so that we can restore your faith in us.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay at this hotel. I wanted to provide some gift extras for my parents who were staying at the hotel. I received exemplary service from the hotel management. The response and helpfulness could not have been better. (my parents gave a very good report of the hotel)

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pgslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review about your stay in Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

I am more than happy to here that your parents liked their stay and we could assist you to suprise them. If you or your parents plan to visit Vienna again we would be pleased to provide you the same high standard of service again.

Best regards

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I did not know anything about the hotel before i arrived. But it was a nice surprise. Very good service,nice rooms. The only problem is that there is no wireless internet in the rooms. The breakfast is also not the best one. But the food in the restaurant is exelent and there is a nice garden to sit outside in nice weather. I would like to come back to this hotel at my next stay in Vienna.

Room Tip: Go for the privelege rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank City2visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Biedermeier, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all I would like to thank you for your review about your recent stay at Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier.

Comments such yours are exremely important to us and allow us to continually monitor and improve our services. I was delghted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It will give me a great pleasure to communicate your very kind and positive remarks to our entire team. Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality and an outstanding service to every guest on ervery stay.

We all hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon and that your next stay will be just as enjoyable as your last.

Johannes Rudrof
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Landstraße
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Sofie Hotel Vienna
#49 of 360 in Vienna
488 reviews
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 360 in Vienna
967 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Mercure Wien Zentrum
#123 of 360 in Vienna
1,465 reviews
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#36 of 360 in Vienna
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Property: Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien
Address: Landstrasser Hauptstrasse 28, Vienna 1030, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#58 Family Hotel in Vienna
#67 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#74 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien is a superior 4 star hotel in typical Biedermeier style, offering 198 rooms and suites. 1500 M from the city centre and St Stephens cathedral, the hotel is located in a quiet, heritage style Biedermeier arcade. 300 M away, you will find the subway and train stations as well as bus and tram stops. 16 Km from the airport. The hotel offers a cafe restaurant, hotel bar and the rustic Weissgerberstube pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Biedermeier Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing