We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveler rating
489
158
13
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
489
158
13
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional room maisonette room mozart museum goulash perfect location stephen's cathedral oldest hotel charming hotel traditional hotel loved this hotel old world charm concert tickets quiet street eggs cooked to order sitting area hot dishes huge bathroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 672 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Arriving late, I was welcomed very kindly by the desk staff, and shown to my room in the newer section of the hotel - so I cannot comment upon the older, more historic rooms. My room was perfectly functional, well laid out, with a decent bathroom. And, notably, it was meticulously clean - I have never seen a hotel room cleaner! Impressive. The atrium with its bar is incredibly handsome, and atmospheric. The food was all very enjoyable; I ate there both at breakfast on two days, and for supper on one occasion. In all instances the service was polite and efficient. Good wine list too, for those wishing to explore some Austrian wines too!
Right in the centre of historic Vienna, you are a short walk from all the sights, and not more than a 20 minute ride from the Airport in quiet traffic.
I will back reasonably shortly, and look forward to it very much.

Room tip: The new rooms are perfectly functional but for the true historic experience of this hotel the old rooms might be worth the extra.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicolasUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoenigvonUngarnTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Thank you very much for your nice review. We appreciate very highly.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

we stayed three nights at this hotel.
based on reviews i selected this hotel but it was disappointing!
the only pros are the room space and the location, but comparing the 375 euros for each night you may find much better hotels, and as the transportation in Vienna is perfect so don't be worry about the location.
the breakfast is not like the 4 or 5 stars hotels, and it is like 3 star hotels, only they provide cold breakfast in one table , and for the eggs and tea/coffee you have to order it. at the first day it was walnuts in the table, but the second day they removed it !! and the third day they removed cottage cheese!! so instead of improving they reduced the items!!
there is no coffee and tea in the room, but you can request and they just provided a kettle without tea and coffee!! however the staff were cooperative.
Generally the service is 3 star, no gym, no SPA, small breakfast, no tea at room , rooms with old key! and not card keys!! . with this price I have stayed in 5 star hotels in Holland and Germany in excellent hotels.
I will not return again to this hotel, just it is recommended for people who like the location.
the location only is not the criteria to select the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farzad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoenigvonUngarnTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately you have not contacted us on the spot to deal with the inconvenience you have regrettably experienced. We are sorry to know that your son stumbled down though the connecting staircase between the upper and lower room is equipped with a handrail and the steps with carpet. For an insight of one our duplex rooms please have a look on our homepage or YouTube.

As for gym, spa etc. we do not claim to offer these facilities at all. As we are a traditional hotel with over more than 200 years of history we would like to keep our old traditional keys as part of our historical character. As for the breakfast please have a look on our homepage.
Once again we wished we were informed on the spot to clear these inconveniences and help as far as we can. We will take your feedback to consider improvements particularly concerning our offer for tea & coffee bags in the rooms.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Location, location location. And perhaps the quietest hotel room I’ve ever had. And the most comfortable mattress. We stayed in the old section, room was very large with lovely renovated bath and walk-in closet area. Lovely, sophisticated, friendly. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Midwesterner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoenigvonUngarnTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Thank you very much for your exceeingly nice feedback.
We appreciate it very much.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

An historic comfortable hotel with large en suite rooms , The Concierge staff were immensely helpful in all matters , The Breakfasts were somewhat disappointing and the only Dinner that we had was expensive compared to local restaurants.

Room tip: All floors have lifts and most rooms are very quiet
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoenigvonUngarnTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you very much. We gratefully appreciate your feedback.
Best regards
Hotel König von Ungarn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

The location is great, very close to every thing, just few meter from st. stephan. The is fine, clean and with a.c. Its was important in the hot summer, the stuff was helpfull, breakfast was a basic one, very quite area.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Reuven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoenigvonUngarnTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Konig Von Ungarn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Hotel König von Ungarn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews