We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location of Vienna in a 266 years old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Ranked #16 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best location of Vienna in a 266 years old hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Usually we avoid the first class hotels because our preferences are the small, friendly hotels. But years ago, walking in center of Vienna we saw this beautiful place and decided to try it. We done it this spring.
However is a first-class hotel prices are still less as other big and standardized hotels. You'll find here something totally different as long corridors and expensive-furnished but soulless rooms... Rooms are accessible from a beautiful glass-covered inner courtyard. Classic rooms are extremely friendly, all different and give you a nice taste about old Vienna.
Location is excellent - the Stephansdom is really only few meters and all important places are closed to hotel.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and unobtrusive what is well appreciated by me.

Room Tip: Ask for Classic Vienna rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ifm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    135
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
150
219
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel has history. Mozart used to eat there. Despite being so old, everything at the hotel is new. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We stayed at the room 203. The bed was biiiigggggg and so the bathroom. Also there is a closet you can lock when going out, which is perfect. The restaurant at the hotel is very good with a room service - very good option after a whole walking day - and they don't have extra charge because of that. There is a winter garden, in the middle of the hotel, where you can relax and take your favorite drink (lots of options, including caipirinha). The location is superb - close to everything, either shopping or sightseeing. The hop on hop off bus is just a block from the hotel. The famous snitzchel is just a few steps from there. The breakfast (till 11:30) is very diversified including a possibility of brunch with hot plates that you can choose. I strongly recomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 203 is beautiful, silent and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reginaf693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a great place to stay. Close to St Stephansdom, and the main square. Right next door to Mozart's House. Staff were very helpful, friendly and the old part had nicely furnished rooms. Mine had a recenlty refurbished big bathroom (double handbasins). There was a lovely lobby area, with comfortable couches and small tables for having coffee. Breakfasts were good, and the restaurant was also very good, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideBabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Konig von Ungarn – the ideal boutique hotel in Vienna.
I hadn’t stayed here before, and chose it for two reasons – position, and Tripadvisor rating. It was a perfect choice.
What can I say, other than I’d want to stay here every time I came to this lovely city?
From the moment I arrived after the grueling flight from Australia, everything at this hotel was simply perfect.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was large and comfortable. Service was impeccable and helpful. And the breakfast?
About as good as it can possibly get.
There is also an inhouse restaurant that is good but not great, mainly because of a very limited menu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I must confess that when I was laying the foundations for our "retirement celebration" trip with a 3 day stay in Vienna, I had actually booked a room in a smaller, less expensive hotel in Vienna. About a month before we were to leave on the trip I started rethinking my decision to "save a little here and there". I started reading the reviews again for hotels and I kept coming back to the Hotel Konig von Ungarn ( the King of Hungary). In the long run it was not going to cost us that much more and the reviews just couldn't be beat. And boy am I glad we made the decision to go with Konig von Ungarn!
The hotel is on a side street a stones throw from St. Stephens Cathedral. It was actually once the home to the King of Hungary when he was in Vienna as well as adjacent to where Mozart stayed in Vienna ( but didn't Mozart seem to stay everywhere in Austria :) )
This hotel breathes old world charm. We were welcomed at the desk, checked in quite easily and were helped to our room with our luggage. Since there were 3 of us we were given a very nice large room---two floors actually with a main bedroom, large closet, bathroom and separate room for the toilet on one floor--then up a lovely little spiral stairway gave way to another room with two twin beds, television and window---which after traveling together for 2.5 weeks, it was certainly nice to spread out. The bathroom had a shower tub, double sink, hairdryer, plenty of fresh towels---I felt quite spoiled. The windows opened to the street below. We kept the windows open at night as the room would get a little stuffy but it was a bit loud with cars driving past or people walking down the sidewalk--- which all deterred a good night's sleep.
The lobby is beautiful with dark wood paneling with an open skyline allowing for wonderful light to filter down, a small bar, and lovely seating arrangements. We actually had tea each afternoon in the lobby. Several international papers were available for reading or one could just choose to sit, relax and soak in Vienna.
We arranged through the hotel to have a tour of the city with a private guide and car--which was very reasonable. The guide's name was Franz--a retired police officer. Franz was the highlight of our entire trip. He was gracious and kind. Stopping at major sites for us to get out and take pictures or to wander into a beautiful church, see the Lipizzaner stallions at the Spanish Riding School coming out of their stalls for exercise, a visit to Franz Schubert's birth home, a drive up into the Vienna woods, up the mountain to look out over the Danube and beautiful Vienna---finally ending up at the Schonbrunn Palace. An absolute perfect day and perfect introduction to Vienna by someone who knows and loves his home and his Austrian heritage.
The hotel has a wonderful breakfast which is included--scrambled eggs, bacon, fruits, cereals, pastries, breads, coffee, breads, juice. And also a wonderful restaurant for lunch or dinner that we were privileged to dine in two of our three evenings. The wait staff made our evenings so special. They were all so kind and gracious--offering suggestions and recommendations--they made us feel welcomed and special.
I absolutely hated to leave. Hotel Konig von Ungarn is very special--I hope I have the privilege to return not only to Vienna but to this most special of hotels.

Room Tip: The room for three was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trojans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful small hotel located steps from St Stephen's Cathedral with a storied past. The front desk was extremely helpful arranging for concert tickets and dinner reservations and their recommendations were perfect. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts were excellent and included in the room rate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVHBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala Capriasca / Ticino / Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In the old centre of Vienna, right behind the Stefansdom, a solid basis to explore the city, lovely cuisine, familiar service, lovely lounge and bar in the courtyard - a place to feel like a King! And closest to the place, where Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart lived for 3 years and where he wrote his Figaro ...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemySteinegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 360 in Vienna
2,062 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,068 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,412 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,662 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#32 of 360 in Vienna
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Konig Von Ungarn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Konig Von Ungarn

Property: Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Address: Schulerstrasse 10 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Family Hotel in Vienna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Konig Von Ungarn 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel König von Ungarn is a first class hotel that has welcomed crowned heads of state, artists and other prominent figures since 1746.Our hotel is in the heart of Vienna just behind St. Stephan's Cathedral and close to the Vienna State Opera and many other sights.Apart from the comfort of the generously appointed rooms, the glass-covered inner courtyard is an ideal place to relax and enjoy in a traditional atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Konig Von Ungarn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konig Von Ungarn Vienna
Konig Von Ungarn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing