We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand building, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Ranked #258 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Great location to explore Vienna from. The Radisson is situated in an apt old European building adding to the whole atmosphere. However the room conditions were less than grandeur. The decor doesn't fit the ambience and the furnitire quality was old and tired. Refurbishment in hotel corridors and rooms will do this property wonders!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear ZMR,

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly, and ask for the Guest Relations Manager.

Kind regards from Vienna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely old world elegance in former palais. Attentive staff, knowledgeable concierge, steps from fantastic restaurants. Faces Parkstadt on the Ring. Short walk to City Center and St@ephansdom
. Rooms are very comfortable. Nice piano bar, restaurant, and breakfast buffet in restaurant are quite nice options. The ring tram is steps from the front door. You can't beat the location, price, ammenities, and level of service in Vienna!-

Room Tip: Request room facing Stadtpark. Also consider upgrading to Royal Club level. They have packages that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brez00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear brez00,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel.

We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Kind regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Radisson Palais is in a classical building with tons of atmosphere. The rooms, probably made new with the hotel in 1983, keep an original atmosphere. Nothing to complain about on that point if the hotel had been an ordinary three star joint. Worst of all, no sign of upscale even on the on the points where it had been easily possible to make a difference. The duvets were of the kind of quality you would expect in a bahnhof viertel two star hotel. Truth is that we almost got that kind of rate for our stay, but if you’d come to this hotel for the full rate, expecting the five star quality that the building promises, you would have been totally outraged. Radisson, if it has any concern for its brand image, should either take its name or a few stars off this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for my husbands surprise birthday trip and went to the Johan Strauss ball. Wrote to the hotel in advance to say this was a very special trip and having read the reviews could they gurantee that it would be good. They replied to say they would. I booked a club room. The room itself was fine...but not well cleaned including leaving the previous guests coffee in the machine! Room service was the worst that we have had anywhere in the world. Spagetti with a blb of tomato puree, stone cold , small portion for 15 euros. Poorly presented. They have a one button call service which is rude and they avoid at all costs trying to help you. Just impossible to get anything done. Housekeeping not helpful.
Breakfast good, staff in the restaurant ranged from rude to helpful.
Must mention Anna marie in the bar...if only all the other staff were like her. She was exceptionally good.
Disapponited that the hotel couldnt pull out the stops to make our stay smooth and of the quality taht we would expect...even though I wrote in advance.
Cant recommend I am afraid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank watercombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding our room service performance. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our room service department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Old style, updated spot close to all the museums and good walks. Tasty breakfast included in reasonable room rate. Excellent service; helped with great seats at 2 operas. Also, there was a mistake on credit card charges we discovered after leaving and they fixed quickly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and your expectations were met. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location, lovely building, and helpful staff.
But the decor is a bit old. The "No Smoking" rooms were either previously "Smoking Allowed" or previous occupants have ignored the smoking ban: the room stank of stale cigarette smoke.
But then, cigarettes and smoking are big in Vienna.
So on the way into the hotel through the lobby, you have to confront the stale cigar smoke (or indeed current cigar smoke) which is a bit grim.
Cleaning was half-hearted. The drinking glasses we used for the juices in the (free) minibar were never changed in the 3 nights we stayed there and the bottle caps and used teabags not removed.
The gym is pitifully small although the roof terrace is kind of cool in the snow. The showers next to the sauna have green mould growing around the tiles so the poor cleaning theme seems to be continuing.

I've stayed in Radissons in a few different locations and I'm quite disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kew_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Kew_Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Radisson Blu Palais Hotel and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and kindly assure you, that we will review and re-evaluate the smoking policy at our bar as well as a deep cleaning of our gym.

Best regards from Vienna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After spending one night in Belgrade it wa a pleasure to get to this hotel. Staff were great upon entry, very professional, knowledgeable and polite. The room was very comfortable and over looked the park in front of the hotel.
The service from the waitress in the streetside coffee shop was perfect, even when dealing with a mixture of English, Indian, Scottish and Australian clients, who I must admit were asking a lot of questions. She was very helpful with all of our questions and provided drinks and nibbles with a smile.
Hoping to revisit this great hotel in July 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear DurhamPom,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay during the summer period with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#74 of 359 in Vienna
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#61 of 359 in Vienna
1,842 reviews
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $164 - $1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing