We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribal hotel, what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Ranked #259 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tribal hotel, what a disappointment”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is by no means a 5 stars hotel. More like outdated 3 stars. Rooms are very small, renovated 30 years ago, very chabby but without chic. No hot water for shower during the day, tv's that are 30 years old, the restaurant is actually in an open space in front of the reception. Not the hotel we expected. Cheap bed linen and pillows. And do not forget escort ladies in the lobby. Really really one the the worst hotels I have been to. And for 250 euro a night...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    214
    149
    60
    41
See reviews for
95
209
57
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in Royal Club room in the hotel, which was very nice and clean. The location of the hotel was excellent. However, the service was not what I expected; the breakfast room tables were full of dirty dishes. The clients were asked to fetch their cups and spoons for themselves. The personnel told they were understuffed. The receptionist promised their concierge could help in the minute, this never happened. All in all the service did not at all meet the standard which one would expect of a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton Parslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Billed as old Vienna, the downstairs and function rooms are OK. But the rooms are small, dark, unwelcoming. Felt like a small version of a US interstate Quality Inn. Located close to high end hotels but this doesn't feel like one. Needs a refurb to come into 21st century

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure. The coffee shop on the street is the best place to sit and watch the world go by. You will find yourself having a coffee, then another, and then a beer ....time just eases by as you watch the world.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DurhamPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

brilliant location in the centre of vienna. Easy to find when driving as located on the Park Ring, even has a car park underneath.
The building is two former palaces knocked together and it still feels palacial. the red carpet, shiny marbles in the lobby and chandeliers would be fitting in any 5 star hotel around the world.
The atmosphere during our stay was a little quiet with everyone muttering like they were in an art gallery.
We got a great price on this hotel £83per night so were truly impressed.

Room Tip: ask not to be put on the top floor, these buildings were former palaces and the top floor was the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waters1world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Radisson are my preferred brand, great rooms and free wifi but this one smacks a little too much of faded elegance. Sure it is in a great location, sure the rooms are amply proportioned but I just felt it lacked that Radisson brand (chic, funky, etc).

My room smelt a little stale though was well fitted. There was one vacant AC plug and that was near the room door (come one we need at least 3), no network cable point (but wifi had excellent reception throughout the hotel).

I wouldn't "not recommend" the hotel, but just suggest to Radisson that a facelift is long overdue.

Room Tip: Use the back stairs to get to the 2nd floor breakfast room. It'll save you about 10 mins walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtoileBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear EtoileBrilliant,

thank you very much for commenting your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel.

Indeed, due to hertiage protection of several parts of the building, we are not allowed by law to adapt certain areas matching your Radisson experience. In fact, our property is not comparable to several "funky" hotel throughout the globe, like Frankfurt, Berlin, Zürich, Chicago or Dubai, just to name a few, but especially in Vienna, we are in the thankful position to protect history back to the 18th century in several buildings, hotels and museums.

Nevertheless, please be kindly informed, that the planning status of massive facelift in the parts of the hotel, which are not protected by law is in the finishing stage, some official authorizations are missing, but the start of the facelift is expected within the next 6-10 months.

Wishing you a wonderful 2013 & looking forward welcoming you "lifted" at the Palais we remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very good location, only 10-15 min walk to St Stephan, rooms are pretty standard, kind of oldish but clean and cozy. Wouldn't pay its price if I choose the place but it was a present from a friend, so got it almost for free, otherwise i'd choose smth less expensive for the same quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanittta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaisManagement, General Manager at Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Tanittta,

Thank you for your stay at the Radisson Blu Palais Hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very valuable to us and a great opportunity for improving our service and our product.

We hope to see you soon in Vienna.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Vienna Marriott Hotel
Vienna Marriott Hotel
#76 of 360 in Vienna
1,759 reviews
Inner City
Palais Coburg Hotel Residenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 360 in Vienna
700 reviews
Landstraße
InterContinental Wien
InterContinental Wien
#70 of 360 in Vienna
1,943 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna

Property: Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna
Address: Parkring 16, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel housed in former palace dating from 1872, located near St. Stephen's Cathedral, Opera & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Palais Hotel, Vienna Hotel Vienna
Radisson Vienna
Vienna Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing