We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lucky Viennese have easy access to this great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Book In Advance
$64.06*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #11 of 542 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lucky Viennese have easy access to this great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Locating the museum was not difficult .It is the one with a cute looking baby elephant sculpture in front. The museum building is imposing with the typical Viennese architecture.It has the most amazing collection of things on display, much of the explanations being in English as the staff are engaged in international level research conducted by NHM. We began at the topmost level,with the birds section followed by animals, fish etc. Secondary level students darted here and there obviously collecting material for their school projects. A primary school teacher had a group of young children excitedly chattering about the life size models.
The section on insects was immense and the development and use of microscopes was explained with models and films. There were a large number of living things kept under lenses for visitors to view with complete explanations on cards next to the instruments.
I think this museum is the best I have seen in many years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,905
    670
    166
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent! Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent 6 hours in this museum and I would have like to stay a little longer. Wear comfortable shoes because this place is just so awe-inspiring that one WANTS to see everything.
Housed in one of the buildings that is in the Hofburg complex, both the architecture and the contents of the building are impressive. This museum is well-maintained and has a huge collection. They also have a budget to buy artifacts of historical worth. The first floor is a geologist's, physical anthropologist's and paleontologist's dream come true. The second floor is sure to delight the botanist and zoologist in everyone. Dinosaur skeletons, prehistoric skulls, the Venus of Willendorf, Fanny (another Venus), a mammoth, preserved animals from the Schonbrunn zoo, precious stones, fossils...there was just so much to see!
Visit on a Wednesday when there are extended museum hours. Prepare to be impressed!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time for this Museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the museum to see the amazing display of the human body that opened on that day. However, the museum's permanent displays are really worth spending time to look around. This museum must be one of the best in the world - certainly compared to most off the others that I have visited in my lifetime. But even if you only have a couple of hours it will still be worth your while to go there just to see the building. And the coffee shop is really super as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Someone here has a sense of humor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great museum if you are at all interested in natural history. Our favorite part was the computer that takes your picture and then transforms it into a neanderthal! Loved those whiskers! Fabulous gem and mineral collection; don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a walk through nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never seen so many different and striking stones! I have learned a lot of new interesting bird spieces! My only problem was that not all signs had a translation in english!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing