We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give yourself plenty of time for this Museum.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Book In Advance
$64.52*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #10 of 543 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time for this Museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to the museum to see the amazing display of the human body that opened on that day. However, the museum's permanent displays are really worth spending time to look around. This museum must be one of the best in the world - certainly compared to most off the others that I have visited in my lifetime. But even if you only have a couple of hours it will still be worth your while to go there just to see the building. And the coffee shop is really super as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,910
    670
    166
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Someone here has a sense of humor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great museum if you are at all interested in natural history. Our favorite part was the computer that takes your picture and then transforms it into a neanderthal! Loved those whiskers! Fabulous gem and mineral collection; don't miss it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytrailsTucsonAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a walk through nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have never seen so many different and striking stones! I have learned a lot of new interesting bird spieces! My only problem was that not all signs had a translation in english!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Largest collection of stones and dead animals I have ever seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The building of the Natural History Museum alone is worth the visit. It's amazing and huge,which beautiful ceilings. The first floor mainly consists of various stone and meteorite collections, which can be quite boring after the fifth room stacked up with little bricks of stone. However, the second floor has the largest collection of stuffed animals I have ever seen (larger than the one in London). Halls filled with birds, and even more halls filled with reptiles... And even a moving dinosaur. I can not think of an animal that I have not seen there. If you like this kind of stuff, it's definitely worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobby88472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth visiting, need more than a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited on our last day and wished we had more time, there are so many things to see in this museum. Loved the stuffed animals and dinosaurs, minerals too but don't spend too much time there, lots more to see further on.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes_Flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing