We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only for the Venus of Willendorf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)

Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Book In Advance
$67.50*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #10 of 516 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If only for the Venus of Willendorf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Everything else be damned, I wanted to see a 25,000 year old statuette... and I did. She is tiny and has her own little room... and I was not disappointed. Otherwise, the Museum is really beautiful and has the most extensive mineral collections i've seen. Some evenings too, they offer tours which include time spent up on the roof (i missed that).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank theBigBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,782
    628
    158
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun, so much to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Naturhistorisches Museum in Vienna is definitely worth a visit. For students it is only €5 entry and I spent the best part of 4 hours in there, and could have spent more. The displays were very focused, in a chronological order and alongside A LOT of stuffed animals, there were rocks, ancient artifacts, fossils and animal skeletons. Avoid the cafe as it is very overpriced, although the food is very good and be prepared for some of the information (especially around the dinosaurs) to be more tailored towards children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cj922012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The exhibits here have not been updated for a long time, so more recent discoveries about some of them are not mentioned (for example, for the Venus von Willendorf -- and ancient goddess figurine). A lot of information is out of date. Not much variety -- and the "dinosaur fossil" is only a reproduction. If you've been to the British Museum or the Natural History Museum in New York City, then this place will be a huge disappointment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaVienna4034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
109 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you like fossils, rocks, and ancient artifacts, this museum is well worth a visit. My granddaughter loved the video I made of the dinosaur roaring and flailing around. My wife loved the stately rooms where the exhibits were located. I liked the way the fossil exhibits were laid out in chronological order.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vindicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was closed every time we went past - no idea when it opens but you should be aware and look it up online before visiting. The art museum across the road always seemed to be open but that was not what we wanted.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing