We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)
Book In Advance
$64.42*
and up
Vienna Pass Including Vienna Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Ticket
Ranked #10 of 544 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highlights of this natural history museum include a significant collection of dinosaur skeletons and meteorites in addition to a large display of insects from around the world.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Closed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was closed every time we went past - no idea when it opens but you should be aware and look it up online before visiting. The art museum across the road always seemed to be open but that was not what we wanted.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,913
    670
    166
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great if you like that sort of thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Undoubtedly one of the world's great museums but vast and one whole floor of stuffed animals is not perhaps to everyone's taste. That's on the second floor, dinosaurs and early man on the first - one animatronic dinosaur plus the Willendorf Venus make it a must but don't omit seeing the geological collection - some real gems (literally) and a meteorite from Mars. The restaurant looked good but you clearly need to book in advance, particularly at weekends.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikehandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Historic museum in the centre of Vienna.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The museum is house in a large old palace building. The exhibit though perfectly fine were limited and an odd mix of new and old.
It cost ten euros to enter and for that it was worth it. I can quite happily spend all day in one of the big museums in London, and visit again after a month or so - after all there are quite a few museums in London. this however, was more of a visit once and that's it, type of place. I had an enjoyable few hours walking around looking at the exhibits and reading the descriptions; most of which were in German and English, which was a pleasant surprise. I think the cost of entry was reasonable, though I have to take away a guilty pleasure from the incident when a little girl ran into the dinosaur bones exhibit just as the robotic performance was starting up and who scared herself half to death. The robotic dinosaur (Allosaurus) was if not the best I have ever seen, certainly up there. It was very good.

So, would I recommend it to a friend? Yes. A stranger, Yes, though both would depend on their interests and whether they are museum people. Would I go again? Probably not, but ask me again in five years.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_KCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You could spend a week in there....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

and still not get to see anything. We visited on one of the long days when they were open until 9, but still did not manage to see everything we wanted. At some point our feet just gave up.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Magdaneagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific Museum - worth the time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

very old school-like displays. kids liked it. Animated dinosaurs kept their interest and they had a great display of the meteor that struck and killed the dinosaurs.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizardmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum) also viewed

 

Been to Natural History Museum (Naturhistorisches Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing