We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different in Vienna”

Pizzeria Osteria da Giovanni
Ranked #54 of 4,106 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Neubau
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something different in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are many restaurants in the Spittelberg district of Vienna but most serve very similar food so after a few days in Austria we were looking for something different. The Osteria da Giovanni is in a small side street off of Siebensterngasse which is on the 49 tram route which also passed near our hotel so we tried it. Antipasti misti for two was just what we wanted with a variety of tastes. It was a warm eving and a large plateful so a carafe of white wine disappeared and we switched to red to go with our splendidly spicy penne allarrabiata.
Dont let the slightly scruffy appearence of Sigmundsgasse and even some bits of the Osteria if you get taken through to the garden (courtyard) area at the back put you off. The service is friendly and the food delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inner-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    213
    64
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding - five minutes walk from the museum quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We went looking for this place for Lucy and found that it opens for dinner ( except on weekends for lunch too) and went back later that evening - well worth the trip !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicorei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italy in Vienna!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were in Vienna for four days and ate at this restaurant on day 1 and day 4! Doesn't that say it all! If you close your eyes you will think you are in Italy! The proprietor and cook extraordinaire (what a great guy!) is from Modena. He must have learned all his secret recipes by his mother's side. You know how fabulous the cooking must be if Luciano Pavorotti ate there while in Vienna. From pizzas to home made tagliatelle - everything melts in your mouth and leaves you craving for more! The prices are very reasonable. You wouldn't know it on the outside, but there is a lovely little garden in the back. Our waitress was very attentive and had great suggestions. We are still closing our eyes, thinking about Italy in Vienna, and can't wait to return. Don't miss this treat!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PassionateTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant as it was quite close to the hotel where we were staying. Although it was the end of June it was quite a cold evening so we opted for a table indoors which was quite a small area but not busy when we arrived. When the waitress realised that we could not really understand German she started to talk to us in English which is just as well as we could not really understand much of the menu. We decided to opt for the Antipasto for two which was one of the specials. It was quite a large plate of the usual suspects but nothing really outstanding. We had not finished this when our mains suddenly arrived which was a bit disconcerting. We both had pasta dishes which were really very ordinary and no better than I could do myself. I had a glass of Chianti which was not very good and my husband had a local beer. The bill came to 52.60 euros and I did not feel that what we had was worth that. One point to note for non-smokers - smoking is allowed from 9pm and sure enough at 9 on the dot several people lit up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Surprising little neighborhood gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Don't be put off by the street, which is not the most attractive. This little restaurant was unbelievable. I live in Vienna, and had visitors from the States who were dying for pizza, so decided to try Pizzeria Osteria di Giovanni. The friendly waitress led us to the rear "garden" which is really just the back of the building, but where they have erected a nice pergola and screened off the unsightly parts. Trust me . . it works. Especially after you have the deliciously (but not overly) garlicky tomato bruschetta appetizer, followed by fresh salads with shaved Grana Padano parmesan tossed in a light balsamic dressing. Four of us split all of this, accompanied by a glass pitcher litre of house Chardonnay and two had glasses of Chianti. The waitress was so accommodating and friendly! Two friends ordered the homemade tagliatelli, I savored the grilled moist sea bass accompanied by roasted rosemary potatoes and a tiny little urn of olive oil with fresh chopped garlic. Two had the Diavolo pizzas and another had the Prosciutto et Funghi pizza. Every dish was just out of this world! We couldn't believe our luck in finding this place!! It's within walking distance of my apartment in the 1st, so we will definitely be returning, even with no guests! Did I mention how accommodating the waitress was? Nothing fazed her -- more water? Extra ice? No problem and so friendly. We loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Starburst10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Osteria da Giovanni also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Pizzeria Osteria da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing